We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

Kvarterskrogen Asken
Ranked #2 of 187 Restaurants in Norrkoping
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Swedish
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stumbled over this place by chance when visiting Norrköping, and we were very pleased. Both of us had the plaice, which was cooked to perfection. Service was fast and attentive, and our waiter was very helpful selecting the wine. The coffee was good too and the bill surprisingly modest.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BLA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    99
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norrkoping, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tasteful and friendly”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Lovely place, housed in an old tobaccofactory and its former outhouses. The food is locally produced, well chosen and quite creative! A bit pricey, but worth the money!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hampm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent dining place in Norrköping”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Serving excellent food; fish, hamburger, chicken or whatever you select, you know that the food will be tasty and superb. The presentation is nice and something extra. At a sunny day it's nice to enjoy the lunch in the courtyard with the atmosphere of the old parts of Norrköping.
Today we had this weeks lunch which was fish and it was excellent. Together with a starter from the "sallads-buffén" and a cup of coffee with a small biscuit we were more than satisfied. A restaurant we really can recommend both for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food and nice setting”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

After reading the previous review we set out to visit, given that we are picky eaters. The menu is set up so that carbs can easily be avoided without fuss and the food was pleasant and quite good value. Even though it was raining we could still sit outside where it was warm and lovely. Enjoyed our visit, both to the town and this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver19952011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrköping
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tasty and tasteful”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

At Asken you can chose whether you wish to splurge and spend a lot of money on nice food or get away with around 25 EUR/USD for your meal. Either way, the food will be excellent. Have so far tried the fish, the hamburger and the chicken... all tasting great! I particularly like the way the menu is composed, where you chose a meat within a wide price range and in that price you can select two side dishes. Then it's easy for those who follow diets, like LCHF, to get their money's worth. Also you can easily adjust your fat intake by skipping a sauce and instead adding a salad and so on. All this without the usual hassle when you try to change the composition of a dish... There are also some menu items which are complete dishes, like the hamburger.

The restaurant is located in Knäppingsborg, a charming part of Norrköping's old industrial quarters that was transformed to a hip "place to be" about ten years ago. There are several other restaurants and shops in Knäppingsborg, and in the summer time, Asken's terrace is great for people spotting.

The only negative I can come up with is the Asken is not open Sundays. But it's a great restaurant which I really recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sniplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kvarterskrogen Asken also viewed

Norrkoping, Ostergotland County
Norrkoping, Ostergotland County
 
Norrkoping, Ostergotland County
Norrkoping, Ostergotland County
 
Norrkoping, Ostergotland County
Norrkoping, Ostergotland County
 

Been to Kvarterskrogen Asken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing