We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“250:- extra and no dinner past 9pm...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Stora Hotellet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Scandic Stora Hotellet
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Nykoping
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“250:- extra and no dinner past 9pm...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

REALLY small room for a big guy, sink small as a head, good relax but that don´t make me smile as the rooms are 250:- extra besides a bonuscheck. And the restaurant is not open after 9pm...REALLY POOR!
This hotel should be outside the scandic range as they are good, this is poor!!

Room Tip: Maybe you can find a first choice or something?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KillerwhaleTRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tell M, Ägare at Scandic Stora Hotellet, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thanks for your feedback. Our hotel rooms have different sizes, something has obviously gone terribly wrong when you had to pay 250 SEK extra for a smaller room. Please contact me personally so we can adjust this error.
Our a la carte restaurant closes at 21.00 pm during low season, from March and onwards, the kitchen is open until 22.00 pm. However our guests has always the opportunity to get something to eat from our Scandic shop and café which is open 24 hrs, where you can find a selection of salads and sandwiches.
We hope you will choose Scandic Nyköping City next time you are visiting the city.
Warmest regards,
Tell Mellander
tell.mellander@scandichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    137
    42
    18
    7
See reviews for
90
84
26
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

It was not the first time in Scandic hotel, but the first one in this one.
We were looking for hotel for one night stay, our lovely Clarion was fully booked and the receptionist adviced us to go to Scandic.
We were waiting more than 30 minutes for they register us, cause they have a new computer program of registration customers.
We were so tired, so we fell asleep. Beds in twin rooms are narrow!
Next morning we noticed that we had less number of towels and even this ones were dirty. I asked about it on the reception desk,they've just brought few towels and no apologies.
The breakfast was so Swedish and very nice.
Such accommodation is not worth 200€ per room per night.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Almost_like_real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tell M, Ägare at Scandic Stora Hotellet, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guests
I would personally like to thank you for your review, and I am very sorry to hear that you were not happy about your stay with us. However I do understand your frustration with the issue whilst checking in and missing towels in the room, this should of course never happen.
According to previous reviews and the feedback I usually get from our guests is very positive. I sincerely hope you will return, and if so, please contact me in person tell.mellander@scandichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
159 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Perhaps I am being a little harsh as this hotel is perfectly fine but it is missing something. Check-in was painful - slow and the receptionist was in no hurry despite the fact there were several of us in line all tired and hungry!! There were also another couple of staff hanging about but there did not seem to be any sense of urgency. The location is excellent - right in the middle of Nykoping with parking across the street (and very limited parking at the hotel if you are very lucky) The rooms have large murals which some may find appealing - I was not a fan. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast however must be mentioned - it is excellent (although this is quite a common feature of Swedish hotels in my experience). Again just to mention - if I had never stayed in another hotel in Nykoping I probably would have been very happy with the Scandic but I have and both were better....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molndal, Sweden
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is a pleasant small hotel, just off the main street. in an area with a lot of charm, 10 minutes walk from the railway station.

As most Scandic hotels, clean, comfortable beds and good service. Very good breakfast. Value for money dinner buffet. For some reason this hotel does not offer the standard Scandic menu. Unique assortment of single malt whiskies. Speedy internet. Good and spacious gym and training facilities. Absurdly this small hotel offers more gym space than much larger hotels in Scandic.

Interior decorations such as carpeting and paint work shows slight wear. Not tatty yet, but will be in a few years.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We took a budget flight to Skavska airport and decided to stay in Nyköping for the night. We're glad we did. Our hotel was quite central, and a straight walk down the street (less than 10 mins) to Nyköping castle, well worth the visit.

Our room was on the small side, but stylishly fitted out and ample for two people. The cost of the hotel was very good value for money.

We arrived later in the evening when the restaurant was closing, but the staff, who were very helpful, offered sandwiches and recommended a nearby pub with good food. When we returned later we were told the bar, which was pleasant and comfortable, was open until 1.30am. The hotel breakfast was probably the best we sampled in Sweden, what a feast. The hotel also provided reliable free wifi for guests.

Nyköping isn't what I'd consider a city but it's a very nice town with beautiful architecture, interesting places to visit and lovely riverside walks. I'd recommend both Nyköping and the Scandic hotel for anyone travelling in that part of Sweden, and would happily spend more time there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DizzyFishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Very good hotel with a great location right in the center of the town. The room was very clean and big and the bathroom has a lot of space. They have a good choice of wiskeys in the bar. I would recommend this hotel to everybody...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marooned2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, clean central with friendly staff. Stay was a Monday night so was quiet in the evening but packed at lunchtime with locals, a good sign. I would use again if in town . local restaurants are all within easy reach of the town center.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cracklehillhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nykoping
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Kompaniet
0.4 mi away
Sunlight Hotel Conference & SPA
1.0 mi away
Good Morning+ Nykoping
Good Morning+ Nykoping
#5 of 7 in Nykoping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Connect Hotel Skavsta
Connect Hotel Skavsta
#3 of 7 in Nykoping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blommenhof Hotell
Blommenhof Hotell
#6 of 7 in Nykoping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stjarnholms Slott
Stjarnholms Slott
#1 of 2 in Oxelosund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Stora Hotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Stora Hotellet

Property: Scandic Stora Hotellet
Address: 31 Brunnsgatan, Nykoping 611 32, Sweden (Formerly Scandic Nyköping City)
Region: Sweden > Sodermanland County > Nykoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Nykoping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Stora Hotellet 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Scandic Stora Hotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Nykoping Nyköping
Scandic Nykoping Hotel Nyköping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing