We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Stora Hotellet
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nykoping
Certificate of Excellence
Balsta, Sweden
1 review
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Not the biggest hotel, but a nice, kind and cosy atmosphear
Nice staff, fresh rooms
Good food and drinks
The hotel is located in the very center of lovely Nyköping
I have stayed in Nyköping for many, many times. Mi first choice of hotel is Scandic

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Håkan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    159
    52
    19
    7
See reviews for
108
94
28
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nykoping, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

really impressed..it is not often you get to see waitresses and waiters (young ones) that actually not only serve the tables but before they run off to the kitchen with the ordwers actually look around and see what else / who else wants something....

very impressed by them ...the food was good as well but I woyuld always rate service as at least as important....good team and obviously well trained..

thanks

Room Tip: maybe not the best hotel...but the restaurant was well worth visiting.......for the service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The hotel's location is great, right in the centre of Nyköping and a 10 minute walk to the bus and train station with connection to Skavsta Airport.

The breakfast buffet was excellent, the restaurant's atmosphere is nice and there is also a nice small cafe for coffee and cakes.

The room was modern, but small for 3 persons, as was the bath room. This made our stay in the room not so pleasant, but I would still rate the hotel as very good, also taking into account the rate which includes breakfast.

Room Tip: The room we had was nice and modern (family superior room), but when the sofa on which our daughter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mama-Sascha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

REALLY small room for a big guy, sink small as a head, good relax but that don´t make me smile as the rooms are 250:- extra besides a bonuscheck. And the restaurant is not open after 9pm...REALLY POOR!
This hotel should be outside the scandic range as they are good, this is poor!!

Room Tip: Maybe you can find a first choice or something?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KillerwhaleTRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tell M, Ägare at Scandic Stora Hotellet, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thanks for your feedback. Our hotel rooms have different sizes, something has obviously gone terribly wrong when you had to pay 250 SEK extra for a smaller room. Please contact me personally so we can adjust this error.
Our a la carte restaurant closes at 21.00 pm during low season, from March and onwards, the kitchen is open until 22.00 pm. However our guests has always the opportunity to get something to eat from our Scandic shop and café which is open 24 hrs, where you can find a selection of salads and sandwiches.
We hope you will choose Scandic Nyköping City next time you are visiting the city.
Warmest regards,
Tell Mellander
tell.mellander@scandichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

It was not the first time in Scandic hotel, but the first one in this one.
We were looking for hotel for one night stay, our lovely Clarion was fully booked and the receptionist adviced us to go to Scandic.
We were waiting more than 30 minutes for they register us, cause they have a new computer program of registration customers.
We were so tired, so we fell asleep. Beds in twin rooms are narrow!
Next morning we noticed that we had less number of towels and even this ones were dirty. I asked about it on the reception desk,they've just brought few towels and no apologies.
The breakfast was so Swedish and very nice.
Such accommodation is not worth 200€ per room per night.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Almost_like_real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tell M, Ägare at Scandic Stora Hotellet, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guests
I would personally like to thank you for your review, and I am very sorry to hear that you were not happy about your stay with us. However I do understand your frustration with the issue whilst checking in and missing towels in the room, this should of course never happen.
According to previous reviews and the feedback I usually get from our guests is very positive. I sincerely hope you will return, and if so, please contact me in person tell.mellander@scandichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Perhaps I am being a little harsh as this hotel is perfectly fine but it is missing something. Check-in was painful - slow and the receptionist was in no hurry despite the fact there were several of us in line all tired and hungry!! There were also another couple of staff hanging about but there did not seem to be any sense of urgency. The location is excellent - right in the middle of Nykoping with parking across the street (and very limited parking at the hotel if you are very lucky) The rooms have large murals which some may find appealing - I was not a fan. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast however must be mentioned - it is excellent (although this is quite a common feature of Swedish hotels in my experience). Again just to mention - if I had never stayed in another hotel in Nykoping I probably would have been very happy with the Scandic but I have and both were better....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molndal, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is a pleasant small hotel, just off the main street. in an area with a lot of charm, 10 minutes walk from the railway station.

As most Scandic hotels, clean, comfortable beds and good service. Very good breakfast. Value for money dinner buffet. For some reason this hotel does not offer the standard Scandic menu. Unique assortment of single malt whiskies. Speedy internet. Good and spacious gym and training facilities. Absurdly this small hotel offers more gym space than much larger hotels in Scandic.

Interior decorations such as carpeting and paint work shows slight wear. Not tatty yet, but will be in a few years.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nykoping
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Kompaniet
0.4 mi away
Sunlight Hotel Conference & SPA
1.0 mi away
Good Morning+ Nykoping
Good Morning+ Nykoping
#5 of 6 in Nykoping
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Connect Hotel Skavsta
Connect Hotel Skavsta
#3 of 6 in Nykoping
835 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blommenhof Hotell
Blommenhof Hotell
#6 of 6 in Nykoping
98 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stjarnholms Slott
Stjarnholms Slott
#1 of 2 in Oxelosund
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Stora Hotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Stora Hotellet

Property: Scandic Stora Hotellet
Address: 31 Brunnsgatan, Nykoping 611 32, Sweden (Formerly Scandic Nyköping City)
Region: Sweden > Sodermanland County > Nykoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nykoping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Stora Hotellet 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Stora Hotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Nykoping Nyköping
Scandic Nykoping Hotel Nyköping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing