We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Uppsala, Sweden”
Review of Hotel Kvarntorget

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kvarntorget
Ranked #7 of 10 Uppsala B&B and Inns
Toulouse, France
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place in Uppsala, Sweden”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Clean and confortable rooms (even if most of them don't have windows on the outside), good breakfast. Good value for monney.

Restaurants and shops very close.

Really nice and helpfull manager and staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joëlle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

The room and bathroom were clean. But for what we paid, it was disappointing to have no bath or hand towels, a broken shower that squirted water on you and the bathroom fan buzzing away all day and night.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chameleon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 March 2012

the price-performance ratio does not match. The staff is sometimes rude, not helpful. There were no bathrobes, as promised. The dirty mugs and glasses were not
exchanged or replaced. Tea and coffee were not filled the room. Currently being built in and around the hotel. It's noisy. Outside the hotel are very many cigarette butts. The hotel is more of a hostel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Uppsala hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Quite the worst, filthiest youth hostel i have ever stayed in. It was shockingly expensive, full of winos in the corridor and unbelievably dirty. I spent an hour cleaning the floor of our room as my wife was so upset by how like a doss house it seemed. My boys found it laughably bad but were a bit unnerved by all the strange, glazed eyed men roaming around.
It should be shut down. I have stayed in some grimy places in New York City in the 1980's but this was worse than any of them...and yet we paid the equivalent of a luxury B & B here in the UK. Uppsala Vandrahem....you're having a laugh....at our expense.

Room Tip: Choose another youth hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This property contains both a hostel and a hotel. This review is about the hostel. The two parts of the property share a large sun garden/atrium with tables of various kinds, chairs, easy chairs and places to socialize.

I stayed in a private room in the hostel for 8 nights. It was quiet. The bed was comfortable. The hostel room was clean (cleaning staff are at work every morning). Bathrooms and showers--shared but private--are cleaned daily and reasonably clean.

The common kitchen is large and adequately stocked with pots, plates, silvrware. There are two refrigerators, three sinks, two stoves, three large round tables.

I would stay in the hostel again; this is a well managed property and quite secure.

My age: 49.

My average ratings indicate this is not a first class hotel, or a hotel at all, just that it was neither exceptional nor in any way bad.

Hostel private room nightly runs well under $100. Sweden is an expensive destination.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttraveler072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2008

Check in is only possible from 8 to 10 am and 4 to 6 pm. We happened to come by in between and had to come back later on as there is no constant receptionist.
The heating does not work properly. Fortunately the bed sheat are warm.
The bunk beds are a bit noisy, the matresses worn and you can always listen to each and every word of the people in the surrounding rooms.
Overall I consider it overpriced.

  • Liked — Internet working nice and fast!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank globaldancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.8 mi away
CityStay Uppsala
CityStay Uppsala
#1 of 10 in Uppsala
72 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotell Stella
Hotell Stella
#6 of 10 in Uppsala
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Uppsala Vandrarhem
Uppsala Vandrarhem
#8 of 13 in Uppsala
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Svava
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
0.5 mi away
Uppsala City Hostel
Uppsala City Hostel
#3 of 13 in Uppsala
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kvarntorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kvarntorget

Property: Hotel Kvarntorget
Address: 3 Kvarntorget, Uppsala 754 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Uppsala
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kvarntorget 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kvarntorget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing