We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“recommended”
Review of Akademihotellet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Akademihotellet
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Uppsala
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“recommended”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This is a real bargain. We are satisfied with the rooms, the cleaning and the breakfast. The rooms are not big but it is ok. The rooms are quiet and the beds are comfortable. The breakfast was not luxurios but there were fresh bread and fruits, eggs and platelets. You can´t get more for your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    61
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
17
36
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Don`t expect top flight hotel facilities here; but absolutely great for the cost compared with other hotels - this area is not cheap!
It is primarily for visiting lecturers and academics, perfecly clean, very central, and cheap.

Helpful staff, good rooms and self cooking facilities if you want. Breakfasts are typical continental self service. Free coffee all day. Free parking just outside.

Couldn`f fault for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham_r_fowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I found this hotel very charming and can highly recommend a stay. It's some way from the train station, but close enough to everything and situated in nice quarters. The room was a bit larger than I expected and contained a good sized couch. I was also charmed by the old-style electronic alarm clock-radio, which made the stay feel more like home. The bed was comfortable enough but the room was a bit chilly. However, the temperature outside had just dropped to -20 Celcius, so I'll excuse that. My room had a great view of the Cathedral, very nice. The breakfast was very good, with a varied assortment of well tasting foodstuffs. All in all, the hotel felt very personal and I felt right at home.

Room Tip: The rooms on the uppermost floor facing the Uppsala Cathedral provides a spectacular and unique view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
166 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

I spent one night there with my daughter. Our room was in the eves in the top floor.

Small, but space for a sofa and desk as well as two beds, so not cramped. Clean and nothing broken or scratched. Smart decor.

There was a shared shower at each end of the corridor. My daughter felt it was was a bit odd going out the room in a dressing gown (they supply) to shower, but it was fine and noone else was around.

Breakfast is self service in a light smart room.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Great central location.

I would stay there again if I went to Uppsala.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I stayed in a double room with my wife when I went to Uppsala for a conference, The staff was very polite (as was all Swedish people). the room was very neat and clean. The breakfast was more than enough. Its close location to the cathedral, city center and the university makes it a good destination. Also the free coffee, cookies, fruits etc make you feel like you're at home. It was an easy stay and I will definitely choose them if I go to Uppsala again.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the street but there was not too much noise from the street. There are other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Can H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

I liked everything about this hotel. It's located in a peaceful park like setting, near the cathedral and university, yet more action is a short walk down the hill to Storatorget. My single room overlooking the cathedral (ask for a room in the back) was quite spacious with good storage (I'm a great fan of hooks, and there were plenty, plus a good sized closet). The breakfast buffet was above average compared to other hotels I've stayed in in Sweden. All in all a good experience and good value for money.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank brunetto42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed in a double-room, first by myself, then as part of a couple. The room was smaller than I had expected, and the bathroom was tiny, but everything was clean and fresh. Definitely nothing luxurious, but perfectly sufficient for my purposes. The breakfast was somewhat limited but satisfactory, the wifi was fast, the key card system worked well when the reception was closed (22-07). I could easily hear events in the hallway, but was never disturbed by the neighboring rooms - not sure if the sound proofing is better there, or if I just had good luck with neighbors. It's reasonably priced for Sweden, particularly for such a convenient location - it's a 7-minute walk from Stora Torget and 15 minutes from the central train station.

Room Tip: My room was on the cathedral side, with no traffic disturbances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnese A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Svava
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#5 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Clarion Hotel Gillet
#2 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#9 of 18 in Uppsala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademihotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademihotellet

Property: Akademihotellet
Address: 5 Oevre Slottsgatan, Uppsala 753 10, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Uppsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Akademihotellet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Akademihotellet. Centrally located hotel between castle and cathedral. Parks and historical buildings in the surroundings. Some of the atmosphere from 1930 when the house was built has been preserved in the rooms. Many rooms have a fantastic view over the Cathedral and the historical surroundings in central Uppsala. Near the hotel are also many parks and the city centre is only five minutes´ walk away. The rooms have been continuously renovated and are now very comfortable hotel rooms. All rooms have rustic furnishing with comfortable 90 cm beds and oak or beech furniture. Floors have parquet in traditional style. Most rooms have high windows and ceilings except on the fourth floor. Breakfast buffet is of course included and we are proud to say that our guests enjoy our new baked bread, eggs, cereals, sausages etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akademihotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing