We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and well located”
Review of Akademihotellet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Akademihotellet
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Uppsala
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I would recommend this for singles, couples and business travelers. A friendly and welcoming athmosphere, well located in the centre of Uppsala. Great breakfast, clean rooms and comfortable beds. I have stayed here three times when visiting the Uppsala University, located within a walking distance. The traffic outside is heavy so if possible ask for a room facing the church (back side).
A somewhat picturesque old building with elevator and very helpful staff. Nothing fancy but serves its pupose well. Nice restaurants (many of them!) just around the corner. Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the back side to avoid noice from traffic in the street.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarikaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for Akademihotellet
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Akademihotellet before, when visiting family and friends in Uppsala, we found it (a double room) average but it was at a good location, so we chose to return there again in our recent trip in August. I booked it one month in advance through booking.com, which the only rooms available were Economy Twin rooms, thinking it would be at a similar standard as the double room we stayed before, so we booked it.

I can be very picky about their dated decoration, not very friendly reception, noisy roads... but I know this is not a five star hotel so I would keep my judgement practical. But there's one thing that really made me furious:-

On our arrival, I was shocked to discover that a "Twin" room actually meant a normal single bed, plus a made up SOFA BED. The entire fitting in the room was only suitable for single occupancy, they even only left one hanger, one dressing gown and one pair of slippers!

Seriously, the sofa bed was very old, short and narrow, which means that an average built man would never be able to fit! Still not quite able to believe booking a hotel ending up on a sofa, I was lying there on the sofa bed with a sore back couldn't really move, I was thinking maybe I could have got myself a nicer sofa to crash on from crouch-surfing.com!

I know this hotel is part of the university, but it doesn't mean that it should treat their guests like a student. If this is being advertised as what it says in the tin (i.e. hostal?!), I would have given it a bit more credit.

The hotel was being very cheeky for advertising it as a TWIN bed room, when obviously they just want to make more money by forcing their guests to compromise, maybe they do not want returning customers, well I think by doing so they've done an outstanding job!

Room Tip: Avoid the Ecomomy Twin rooms, unless you actually like sleep on an old manky sofa bed!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chez_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Definitely recommended.

Comfortable room (despite traffic noise), friendly helpful reception, great location. Although there was neither fridge nor kettle in our room, there was a fridge available along the corridor and 24-hour coffee and biscuits in the breakfast room.

Walking distance from most of the interesting places, eg cathedral, museums, riverside, etc.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road - quieter and a great view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Havebuspasswiltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed at the Akademihotellet for a conference recently and was pleased with my experience. My room had a couch as well as two twin beds and was very clean. The hotel was full, but very quiet. Breakfast was included in the price and offered a variety of options. I stayed 3 nights and the price came out to around 80 SEK/ £80 per night, which seems reasonable given the cost of living in Sweden.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here one night as a stop over when driving back to North.
We couldn't find any reasonable priced hotel in Uppsala or near by so we ended up here.
We payed 87 euros and I found it a bit expensive as the hotel is a bit worn out.

The place itself is very central and remember to ask for a room towards the inner yard (not towards the street as it can be noisy and the room is rather hot without no air conditioning).

We arrived late and as the reception closes at 22 hours, they send us the door code and instructions by email in advance.

You can park you car free of charge with the parking permit in the inner yard but there is a limited amount of places. So you may have problems to find a longer parking place if the hotel's parking place is full.

The Akademiehotellet seems to be made for the visiting students and doctors of the Uppsala university and the atmosphere is a bit "academic" with silent atmosphere and book cases in each floor. Which is actually good, as we did enjoy the silence to sleep :)

WLAN is included in the price ans worked out really well.

The room is okay in its size, also the bed linens and towels were very good. There was hand soap and shower gel ready. The room and especially the bath room (shower!) should be cleaned definitely better. Now it was a bit dusty in the room and especially the shower and it's walls were in looking like they could really need so washing liquid and a brush!

The service was very friendly and the breakfast was good. Not a business hotel type of luxurious breakfast but very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room towards the back/inner yard, not towards the street!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hmek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Rooms are not huge but functional with privative bathrooms. Breakfast is absolutely varied and ok! Staff very kind and cooperative, gave us useful advise. Located in Uppsala city centre. Suggested for couples visiting the city

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbuau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed here with family (2 adults and a 3 year old) and we were very satisfied. This is not a luxury hotel, but very clean and nice. The location is in very nice area, quiet but also close to everything. Breakfast was good, staff was nice. Would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Olazabali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Svava
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Clarion Hotel Gillet
#2 of 17 in Uppsala
859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#7 of 17 in Uppsala
161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elite Hotel Academia
Elite Hotel Academia
#5 of 17 in Uppsala
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akademihotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akademihotellet

Address: 5 Oevre Slottsgatan, Uppsala 753 10, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Uppsala
Price Range: £63 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Akademihotellet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Akademihotellet, centrally located in Uppsala between the Castle and the Cathedral with the University, the Botanical garden and other historical buildings in the surroundings. The city center is only five minutes´ walk away. The hotel is in a building from 1930 and some of the time-specific décor and style is still preserved in the hotel rooms. The hotel offers 37 hotel rooms and two apartments for long stay. Many rooms have a fantastic view facing the cathedral. Akademihotellet is now converting the old guest kitchens into two new hotel rooms facing the courtyard with style and décor inspired by the 30's, bookable autumn 2017. A third new room will be added in 2018. Breakfast buffet is included and guests are welcome to use the microwave in the breakfast area where also coffee, tea, chocolate, fresh fruit and cookies are available free of charge. The hotel offers free WiFi, a relax area with sauna and a small workout area and laundry facilities. Welcome to Uppsala! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Akademihotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing