We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel in a beautiful city”
Review of Hotel Villa Anna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Anna
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Uppsala
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Villa Anna is a really beautiful hotel. It is furnished with elegance in a very Scandinavian style. The colors are muted, all greys and whites, lots of chrome and modern furniture. I think we had the least expensive room in the hotel, a standard double, and it was just gorgeous. The linens are top quality. Breakfast was included, it was quite delicious. There were many yummy items served on a buffet table, and you could also have a hot breakfast cooked to order. Everything was elegantly served.

The location of Villa Anna is just where you want to be. It is literally a 2 minute walk to the Cathedral or the absoluterly AMAZING Gustavarium Museum. The center of town is a 10 minute walk.

It's a small hotel, we did not have many interactions with staff. But I do want to commend Kim, who seemed to be doing lots of jobs at same time. She was helpful to us in many different ways. She handled the check-in process, ordered us a cab to the airport and served our breakfast! Thank you Kim for all your assistance to us.

This is a rather pricey hotel, and I was surprised that when our room was serviced our towels were not changed. Or even hung up again. We left the towels on the rim of the bathtub and that's where they remained. Our bed was sort of re-made, but not carefully enough to look sharp and pristine again. It's such a lovely hotel, I suppose that these were some minor glitches.

Uppsala is a wonderful city with lots to see and do. The Hotel Villa Anna is a great place from which to enjoy this marvelous city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CenterMtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

A really fine hotel, and for us the location could not be better. Directly across from the Holy Trinity Church (which we think is the most picturesque one in Uppsala), half a block down from the Cathedral (second most picturesque) and Gustavianum, it's also less than a 10-minute walk to the center of downtown, or to the castle, or to the Linneaus Gardens, or to the Botanical Gardens, or... you get the picture. Spacious rooms (even by US standards) that are exceptionally well-appointed. Good breakfast included, and the kitichen is clearly angling for a Michelin star. Not sure what else we can laud - everything was just really fine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

What do we look for in a hotel? Quite, relaxation, luxury, comfort, functionality, coziness, and so on. All these and more you can find in this hotel. I was in a business trip at the university in Uppsala and I chose to stay at Villa Anna. The hotel was absolutely the best I've ever stayed at.

It is very cozy, quite, and luxurious. The room was very spacious (a really spacious room with seating area). A central remote to control lights, TV, and even the bed! The bathroom had a shower and a bathtub equipped with a box filled with all what you need in a bathroom. There is also a speaker in the bathroom which I like very much! It is of course very clean and tidy. The bed was huge with many pillows that make you feel so comfortable. The location is right in the front of the huge Uppsala church which at the heart of the city so you will be close to everything. Wifi was also included and available everywhere. Everything was simply perfect.

To be a bit picky I did not like that the check in time is at 15. The hotel should revise the time. I also thought at the beginning that the breakfast was limited, which might be that way. But you get this elegantly organized plated with butter and cheese and I was happy with it.

The bottom line: do no go to any hotel in Uppsala other than Villa Anna. I would love to go there again just to relax!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel is a gem, tucked away behind the cathedral in a beautiful leafy part of the city. Our (standard) room was large and comfortable, and the bed one of the best we'd ever slept in. The room was immaculately furnished and included a sitting area with a sofa and armchair. Our only (minor) complain is the quality of most of the paintings in the hotel (apart from the trompe l'oeuil ones in the entrance hall) - we can't understand why hotels, in general, do not support better artists, whose work need not cost any more and often much less.

The touch-screen-operated TV and lights were cool. We had some problems connecting to the Internet - you have use the code within an hour of it being issued, after which it becomes invalid, which we didn't realize to begin with. We had to go downstairs to get new codes a couple of times, as there wasn't always someone on reception to answer the phone. Some guests may not like this, but for us it was just a minor niggle. It's a small hotel, and the staff kept everything low-key and at just the right level of formality.

The food was good if expensive (dinner works out at a more reasonable price if you pre-book it with the room). Breakfast was excellent, made with very good quality ingredients: great bacon and croissants, and we enjoyed the home-made sea buckthorn jam.

It's not a cheap hotel, but a good choice for a special occasion, and you do get what you pay for.

Thank you to the staff for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asdfjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The best hotel I ever stayed at. I have stayed at so many hotels and just want to say that this hotel is a great secret to a very good price and with a service you can not imagine. The food is beyond excellent and you will have very good wines to a very good price. The location is lovely, it's situated in the old part of town, 50 meters from the cathedral and the hotel is in a great old building that has been beautifully restored.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bjarne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed in suite at Villa Anna, which is absolutely amazing. The design of the interior is in a way discreet, but posch. They provde you with all you need.
Leaving room is big enough, the bedroom is great. The bed is one of the most comfortable I even tried.
There is a sauna inside the bathroom.
The pleasant touch is the toilettery by Thierry Mugler. There is a bath tube and a shower cabine inside the bathroom.
It's also important to mention the great restaurant of Villa Anna and its great location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flower53_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed over for the night and enjoyed a package including afternoon tea and dinner. The location is lovely, it's situated in the old part of town a stone's throw from the cathedral and the hotel is in a great old building that has been beautifully restored.

The rooms are in excellent condition, with every creature comfort you could wish for and beds were extremely comfortable. The only thing lacking was some form of component to allow you to play your own music from an MP3 player or tablet, which would have been a nice addition to the mix.

The food was wonderful and highly recommended, great combination of local ingredients lovingly prepared and presented. The only down side was the service, which would best be described as frosty. Whilst the service at dinner was excellent, with very knowledgeable wine and food presentations done in a friendly manner, the front desk was quite the opposite. Upon check out we had to ring the bell several times and barely managed to squeeze a 'hej' from the receptionist, and it felt totally at odds with the rest of the experience.

For a small, cosy and well laid out hotel it was surprising to be given the cold shoulder on leaving. It would have taken no effort at all to personalize the experience and really show that we would be welcome back again but instead it left a bitter after taste on what was otherwise an enjoyable overnight stay. Perhaps winning several nation-wide awards has taken the edge off the enthusiasm and led to some staff resting on their laurels?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amcalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#7 of 17 in Uppsala
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elite Hotel Academia
Elite Hotel Academia
#3 of 17 in Uppsala
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Clarion Hotel Gillet
#2 of 17 in Uppsala
919 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
0.1 mi away
Akademihotellet
Akademihotellet
#10 of 17 in Uppsala
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Anna

Address: 3 Odinslund, Uppsala 753 10, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Uppsala
Price Range: £185 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Anna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Anna is a hotel on a small and personal scale where the visitor can expect a warm welcome, a carefully created ”at home” feeling and memorable dining experiences. Our award-winning master chefs, Rafael Löfstedt and Markus E Arkevid, have previously worked at a number of establishments that are beacons of Swedish culinary excellence, such as Edsbacka Krog and Oaxen Skärgårdskrog. Here at Villa Anna they are continuing to develop their creativity and joy in the culinary art.The hotel also enjoys a highly desirable and unique location, set amidst such historical gems as the Cathedral, Uppsala University and Museum Gustavianum. Stepping into the world of Villa Anna for the first time is often an almost magical experience. Here you will find an atmosphere that is best described as simply beautiful – an atmosphere that will make you slow right down and enjoy your surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing