We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but disappointed with a no bar on a Sunday night and location very quiet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Uppsala
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice but disappointed with a no bar on a Sunday night and location very quiet.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed for one night, which was a Sunday. Colleague chose this hotel as told they did have a bar and we were keen to meet to discuss work. Turned up to very friendly staff and a cool looking lobby. The local area is dead on a Sunday evening and so the funky music from the Bose speakers was the life we needed. Sadly however the bar doesn't open on a Sunday. The staff did accommodate us though with drinks from reception but we all attacked our minibars as couldn't get any food.

Rooms are nicer than most other hotels I've stayed at in Sweden, however I seriously fell out with the telly and when I did win the battle with it the channels were minimal and not worth the effort. Breakfast was nice and wide ranging.

All in all it was ok and the staff are very attentive.

Room Tip: I was by the lift which I normally hate but surprisingly it wasn't noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fioj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    273
    116
    37
    13
See reviews for
111
252
32
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I had a decent room on the top floor. The room has a comfortable bed, modern furniture, good curtains. However, the bathroom appliances desperately need a renewal. They are shabby and a bit disgusting. The TV remote control could not start the TV. So, dear hotel manager, pay a bit more attention to the rooms. The lobby and breakfast area is lovely, good design, good choice of food-very comfortable!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrköping Sweden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel. Comfortable room with nice decor. The bathroom felt a bit dated though.
Very friendly staff, both in reception and in breakfast area.
Breakfast lounge was really nicely decorated and everything looked tasted good. Could definitely stay here again.
Booking via the hotel's own website was expensive though so I booked through a hotel website and payed almost half the original price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer_and_Erik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel is for sleeping, right? The beds were bit soot soft for me, but rest of family was to bothered.
Restaurant was being renovated so no dinner this summer (we're offered discount to eat in restaurant access the street). Breakfast was fine with lots of choice.
Fitness room also under reconstruction: again discount offered to go to gym down the road.
Staff very friendly.
Pool was good for kids to play in, not for swimming: too small. Good facilities with seating and sauna close by.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank djcbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena B, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear djcbi, thank you for sharing your feedback re your stay at Clarion Hotel Gillet! A warm welcome back, from mid-august you can again enjoy a nice meal at our popular restaurant "Kitchen & Table Uppsala" and excerise in our hotel gym. Hope to see you soon / Helena, Clarion Hotel Gillet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hotel is right downtown, close to the river, making it easy to walk to most of Uppsala's attractions. Additionally, the hotel offers one of the best breakfasts we have had during our European travels. And we found staff to be friendly and cooperative.

Room Tip: Some rooms are close to busy bars that are open until 3 a.m. or so. Ask for a room on a quieter sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena B, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Hi Sharon! Thank you for your excellent feedback re the hotel and especially our breakfast. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome back whenever in Uppsala!
/ Helena, Clarion Hotel Gillet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Tis was a very good hotel with comfortable facilities. I was here for a business meeting and was impressed by the rooms and more importantly by the wide range of facilities available at the hotel. The lobby area is nicely designed and the restaurant is very good, especially the breakfast selection

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena B, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Hi Rickard,
Wow, it is fantastic to read you review! This is just how we want our guest to feel when coming to the hotel, during your stay with us and when you leave! A warm welcome back, hope to see you soon! / Helena, Clarion Hotel Gillet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tranas, Sweden
Level Contributor
134 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Probably the most friendly hotel staff I ever met in a Swedish hotel. Very, very good! Felt like home from check-in, during the stay and breakfast, and even when picking up my bag many hours after checking out. A central located hotel with nice rooms and style! This is really THE choice in Uppsala!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena B, Public Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Wow Rickard, you are spot on! This is how we wish all our guest to feel after a visit to our hotel! Welcome back - hope to see you in Uppsala again sometime soon! / Helena, Clarion Hotel Gillet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#3 of 19 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Svava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
0.1 mi away
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
#8 of 19 in Uppsala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akademihotellet
Akademihotellet
#11 of 19 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Gillet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Gillet

Property: Clarion Hotel Gillet
Address: 23 Dragarbrunnsgatan, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Uppsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Gillet 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Gillet is a modern, full-service hotel with a focus on personal service and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Right in central Uppsala. This is the place for you, whether you're travelling for business, pleasure, or live in Uppsala. Now we also can offer a fully renovated Selma City Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Gillet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Uppsala
Clarion Uppsala
Uppsala Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing