We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great hotel... Perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Uppsala
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great hotel... Perfect.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I spent a week in Uppsala for business. The hotel is quite expensive by my standards, but there was no place else available and our event was taking place at this hotel. So we decided to stay, but 3 to a room. It was not crowded at all. The large room was comfortable, great furnishings, great bedding. Lighting was a little too dim, but other than that the room was perfect without being luxurious.

The structure of the hotel is great. The people are FANTASTIC. So nice; So helpful; So open and laid back. In general, Sweden reminded me of Northern California, but even better (and I'm from the East coast). We were there for a conference. The conference facilities are fine. There are conference rooms, large meeting rooms and even a small lecture hall.

One of the best things about Clarion Gillet is the food. There is an ample breakfast buffet with all the wonderful things they serve in Sweden: smoked lox, gravlax, various types of herring, pickles, Swedish pancakes, ligonberry and various others jams, homemade applesauce, incredible cheeses, various types of fresh breads, eggs, various types of yogurts, too many things to mention. The a la carte restaurant is also brilliant.

It is located in Central Uppsala which is a pretty small town. You can walk to most of the attractions (University, Train station, offices).

The only thing which struck me as a little dissonant was the bathroom. Old fashioned (but new) free standing tub, explosed plumbing (which I later learned is code in Sweden). Genrally it was comfortable and fine, but not as "pretty" as the rest of the hotel and there were no cute ammenity soaps and creams. In fact the soap and shampoo are in a dispenser on the wall which is not "homey".

I must say, I absolutely LOVED this hotel. I never stayed at a Clarion hotel before (I always associate Clarion with Choice, and Choice with Days Inn) but after this experience, I am certainly looking forward to experiencing other Clarion hotels. This is a big brand in Sweden, so whever you go in Sweden, especially in Uppsala, you will be served well. If you can stay at Clarion Gillet in Uppsala, do it.

Room Tip: They have different sizes. We were in a large room, which was the size of a regular room in the U.S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulrica L, Informationsansvarig at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for all kind words of our beautiful hotel Clarion Hotel Gillet! Our breakfast buffet is certainly a good start of the day - glad you enjoyed it so much! We hope you will have the opportunity to visit Uppsala and Gillet again. Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    288
    122
    41
    13
See reviews for
116
258
32
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Uppsala's landmark hotel is a very comfortable spot. Friendly staff, good rooms, great breakfast. Restaurant has had a cool makeover. Bar nice too. As a regular visitor, I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Pooch471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulrica L, Informationsansvarig at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you fina Gillet to be your second home away from home. We love to welcome you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for an anniversary. The spa was small but clean and relaxing. The restaurant "Kitchen and Table" was very price worthy. A great meal! Combining Sweden with Manhattan and the US south creating bountiful, homely, soothing food.

The staff is knowledgeable and friendly, the location in the centre of town, with walking distance to everything, very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulrica L, Informationsansvarig at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Gillet. We are also pleased that you enjoyed a terrific meal at out Award winning restaurant Kitchen and Table by chef Marcus Samuelsson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is my second visit to Clarion Hotel Gillet in Uppsala. I find the people friendly, the service professional and, probably one of the most appealing aspects of this hotel is the decor. It's warm and contemporary. The location is perfect for me. As such, Hotel Clarion Gillet has become my hotel of choice when visiting Uppsala. This time I travelled with my family. The Hotel was accommodating and we had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulrica L, Informationsansvarig at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We are so happy to hear that you have found you second home here in Uppsala. Our warm and friendly staff love our customers and love to welcome you back again. With or without your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

A good quality hotel close to the center of Uppsala. Bit of a walk from the train station though. Rooms were good and breakfast was great. Quite pricey. My stay was paid by employer, if paying myself I would probably stay in a much cheaper place, but that's just my preference.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank posi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulrica L, Informationsansvarig at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for giving us your thoughts about our centrally located hotel in Uppsala. We are pleased that you had a good stay and we wish to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Really good hotel and we slept ok although beds were a bit hard, but the real treat is the weekend brunches. I tell you - there is nothing missing on that buffet table!
Be sure to book in advance or to be there ahead of opening if you have not booked.
Well worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulrica L, Informationsansvarig at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Great to hear you did enjoy our delicious brunch so much! It is one of the most popular ones in Uppsala - we are thrilled to offer this buffet. If you like our brunch do not miss our afternoon tea which is served weekdays at 14-17 and Saturdays at 15-17.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The hotel is conveniently located in the center of the city within walking distance of many restaurants, stores and sites (e.g. you can get to the cathedral in under ten minutes by foot). A breakfast buffet was included with the hotel stay, and it was quite good (a variety of eggs, potatoes, vegetables, cheese, fruit, cereal, juices, pastries, and so on). The room was clean and large enough to have a small work desk and a lounge chair. In general the facility is well kept, though it could use a face lift--it is just starting to look a bit worn once you get up off the ground floor. I was not a fan of the shower--it worked fine, but there was no way to keep water from getting onto the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulrica L, Informationsansvarig at Clarion Hotel Gillet, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Sounds like you have had a great stay in Uppsala and that you got to start the day with our wonderful breakfast buffet. It will keep you going all day long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#5 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Svava
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
0.1 mi away
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
#7 of 18 in Uppsala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akademihotellet
Akademihotellet
#11 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Gillet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Gillet

Property: Clarion Hotel Gillet
Address: 23 Dragarbrunnsgatan, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Uppsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Gillet 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Gillet is a modern, full-service hotel with a focus on personal service and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Right in central Uppsala. This is the place for you, whether you're travelling for business, pleasure, or live in Uppsala. Now we also can offer a fully renovated Selma City Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Gillet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Uppsala
Clarion Uppsala
Uppsala Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing