We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT BUY DRINKS WITHOUT CHECKING THE PRICE.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Uppsala North
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Uppsala
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Wine has a mark up of around 600%, and staff will open the bottle before telling you the price. Unfortunately we made this mistake and ended up paying £37 for a very poor quality bottle of wine. In fact, all of the food and drink in the hotel is very overpriced- go to the garage across the street!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet S, Manager at Scandic Uppsala North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Rebecca,
Thank you for staying with us and your review on TripAdvisor. Its very important for us to receive feedback from our guests to improve our service.
Our prices is quite clear on our food & drink menu. I admit that its higher than a garage but not higher than similar hotels in Uppsala.
I can recommend all to contact us when you need pricelist in advance. We will be happy to share it!

Thanks again for staying with us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Uppsala North
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed here for one night. Ignore the negative reviews. The check in was fast and efficient and the room was splendid quite contemporary and clean. They will replace the old fat TV and they must have upgraded quite a few rooms since last year. The restaurant was OK. I had the buffet but ignored the fish which looked a bit dried up and not very appetizing. The bar staff were very friendly. Overall for Scandic I thought this was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silverfox54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet S, Manager at Scandic Uppsala North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Silverfox54_12,
Thank you for your stay and review. I would like to apologize for for the buffet (Fish which look a bit dried upp). I will share your review with our chef to avoid it in the future.
As you noticed we are renovating most of our rooms and Its already done with 50 rooms. About 100 rooms (including bathrooms) will be in top shape at the end of this summer! Even lobby and restaurant.
We are looking forward to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Have been staying at this hotel on an irregular basis for several years and feel that the standard is declining in a general sort of way. The room furnishings are in need of an update and the old TV could be changed to a larger flat screen on one of the walls. The breakfast is still good - but could improve enormously if the chef could learn to make scrambled eggs. The flower beds outside and the stone terrace to the right of the entrance are covered in weeds and, thus, add to the general impression.of carelessness.
However - the service is still good and the hotel(motel?) is still situated in an excellent location with easy access from the new roundabout and with frequent buses to the city centre. The hotel chain name of 'Scandic' used to be a guarantee of good quality and something is beginning to go awry here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryanSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Recently stayed here for 4 nights. Service is always great. Restaurant has a great menu and serves good quality meals.
Hotel is located not to far from the centrum so it's a good location.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sightseers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Just very basic Scandic hotel outside of the city center. If you need to stay over night and continue your trip, this could be an option. Hotel needs some renovation, in my opinion, in all corners. It is used and you can see it. Room was very standard with normal equipments. There was not anything special. Hotel was groudy but still all services worked very smoothly. Breakfast nice Scandic standard which many other West-South European hotels should learn more. Easy to find the hotel and quick access to E4 highway. Most propably I will stay again due to frequent visits in Uppsala.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ville M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This hotel has a very strong prison feeling about it. Long corridors with lots of doors, views towards other hotel sections where you can "feel" the same corridors running up and down, and to top it all, a high fence around 3/4 of the of the hotel...The rooms are basic and a bit run down and the hotel is placed outside everything in Uppsala, only close to the highway and a mosque. Breakfast is above average when it comes to hotel breakfasts in Sweden, but a little bellow Scandic Hotels normal standard. Try to get a room on the second level or above to get away from ground level. A small gym, Internet computer in the lobby and friendly staff. Free and large parking just outside.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

From my room on the ground floor there is a splendid view of the Statoil petrol station. Passers-by also have a good view of the room. Security will be an issue if the window is left opened (no air conditioning). The hotel itself is situated by a main road at the outskirt of the city. This is the kind of hotels that cost-cutting companies will send travelling staff to make sure that they will not get any comfort beyond what is absolutely necessary. While the breakfast is OK when it is just a matter of laying out food on the table, meals at the restaurant are really terrible. The reception staff are efficient, knowledgeable and freindly, so on the whole I give this hotel a 3 instaed of a 2.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strakur74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Svava
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Clarion Hotel Gillet
#2 of 17 in Uppsala
859 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
#8 of 17 in Uppsala
306 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotell Fyrislund
Hotell Fyrislund
#17 of 17 in Uppsala
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Uppsala North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Uppsala North

Address: 50 Gamla Uppsalagatan, Uppsala 754 25, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Uppsala
Price Range: £98 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Uppsala North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a 5-minute drive from Uppsala Central Train Station to the contemporary Scandic Uppsala Nord hotel.Explore nearby Uppsala attractions like Uppsala Castle and Fyrishov Water Park. Facility Plunge into, unwind in the sauna or work-out in the gym at the Scandic Uppsala Nord hotel's relaxation centre. Try our resrestaurant and enjoy a drink at the bar. 25 minutes' drive from the airport, the hotel offers onsite parking free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Uppsala North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Uppsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing