We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Uppsala North
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Uppsala
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 September 2013

+ New renovated rooms (strange design though)
+ Free parking and free wellworking WIFI
+ Great breakfast (always on Scandic Hotels)

- Strange smell of sewer in the bathroom
- Boring location in the outskirts of Uppsala

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanInSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet S, Manager at Scandic Uppsala North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your review!
Some of our new renovetad rooms had a problem with sewerage odor but we have found reason and problem is solved by construction company.
We are looking forward to see you with your next stay in Uppsala!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Basic Scandic hotel. Roms on the small side, but comfy be lack of hangers and space to hang clothes. Breakfast is good (as expected) and reception area is nice. All in all, nothing fancy but goodcfor a nights stay if you have business in the neighbourhood.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank Jonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our last visit to Sweden. The rooms were small, but not bad for the price. The restaurant was much too overpriced for a family of 5, and we opted to not eat at the Hotel. We had the breakfast buffet included for both nights, but since we had to leave for the airport so early the 2nd day we were not able to enjoy the breakfast.

The Hotel staff was superior and there were some good options to entertain the kids during our stay. I wish they had kept their pool, although it may have been very small, it would have been nice to soak in after a long day in Uppsala.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicks60610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I've stayed here approx 70 nights/year for the last 5 years. Staff i XLNT, rooms are small but nice. Restaurant serves good food but a bit overpriced as all Scandic hotels. Why i stay there all the time instead of downtown is because of easy parking and no fees. Downtown is only 10 min away with free bikes from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose anyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocke437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet S, Manager at Scandic Uppsala North, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Jocke,
Thank you for your review!
You are definitely right; why pay parking-fee? Spend your money for our delicious meals or drinks instead :-)
Try our hotel Scandic Uplandia in downtime when you need to stay in City Centrum. You will not regret!

We are looking forward to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was included in the price and was substantial. The rooms were small but perfectly clean and comfortable. There was no extra charge for car parking. For a budget hotel they got everything right.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOM_inUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet S, Manager at Scandic Uppsala North, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Tom,
Thank you for your review! I am glad to read that you are satisfied with your stay with us, I can assure you that our hotel getting much better! We will be ready with refurbishment of 30 more rooms 29 th April. All of our rooms will be in top condition at the end of June 2013.

We are looking forward to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Wine has a mark up of around 600%, and staff will open the bottle before telling you the price. Unfortunately we made this mistake and ended up paying £37 for a very poor quality bottle of wine. In fact, all of the food and drink in the hotel is very overpriced- go to the garage across the street!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet S, Manager at Scandic Uppsala North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Rebecca,
Thank you for staying with us and your review on TripAdvisor. Its very important for us to receive feedback from our guests to improve our service.
Our prices is quite clear on our food & drink menu. I admit that its higher than a garage but not higher than similar hotels in Uppsala.
I can recommend all to contact us when you need pricelist in advance. We will be happy to share it!

Thanks again for staying with us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed here for one night. Ignore the negative reviews. The check in was fast and efficient and the room was splendid quite contemporary and clean. They will replace the old fat TV and they must have upgraded quite a few rooms since last year. The restaurant was OK. I had the buffet but ignored the fish which looked a bit dried up and not very appetizing. The bar staff were very friendly. Overall for Scandic I thought this was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silverfox54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet S, Manager at Scandic Uppsala North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Silverfox54_12,
Thank you for your stay and review. I would like to apologize for for the buffet (Fish which look a bit dried upp). I will share your review with our chef to avoid it in the future.
As you noticed we are renovating most of our rooms and Its already done with 50 rooms. About 100 rooms (including bathrooms) will be in top shape at the end of this summer! Even lobby and restaurant.
We are looking forward to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Svava
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Clarion Hotel Gillet
#2 of 17 in Uppsala
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotell Fyrislund
Hotell Fyrislund
#17 of 17 in Uppsala
42 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
#8 of 17 in Uppsala
313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elite Hotel Academia
Elite Hotel Academia
#5 of 17 in Uppsala
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Uppsala North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Uppsala North

Address: 50 Gamla Uppsalagatan, Uppsala 754 25, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Uppsala
Price Range: £87 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Uppsala North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a 5-minute drive from Uppsala Central Train Station to the contemporary Scandic Uppsala Nord hotel.Explore nearby Uppsala attractions like Uppsala Castle and Fyrishov Water Park. Facility Plunge into, unwind in the sauna or work-out in the gym at the Scandic Uppsala Nord hotel's relaxation centre. Try our resrestaurant and enjoy a drink at the bar. 25 minutes' drive from the airport, the hotel offers onsite parking free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Uppsala North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Uppsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing