We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable with a good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Uppsala North
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Uppsala
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Reasonable with a good breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I visit Uppsala regularly and last week stayed in the Scandic Nord hotel with my teenage daughter. Firstly, it is a 25 min walk from the central station which does not come across on-line. So it takes a bit of finding. It is basic but clean and there is a bit of life in the lobby if you arrive in the evening. The staff was welcoming. The room was reasonable but rather warm and sleep was challenging in the Swedish summer evening with light streaming through-although there were blackout blinds. Breakfast which was included was very good and served until 10:30.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet S, Chef at Scandic Uppsala North, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Mark,
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your comments about your stay. I aggre with you that we have extra warm summer this year in Sweden. Most of us are very happy about that but it cause some sleeping problems at night!

I am very happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay! Thank you for your stay and we are looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    125
    63
    22
    7
See reviews for
101
56
16
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Due to a misbooking of the booking agent, we ended up in this hotel. At first sight it looked terrible, and it got worse once inside. The building loks like a military camp building and pretends to be a green hotel. Well, euh, i t was: Green, in terms of scandic, means that the walls are made of paper so you hear everything of all rooms. The bathroom is lighted with an old fashioned coldwhite TL-lamp, you are standing in an army shower. no comfort nothing cosy. Beds are of poor quality. breakfastis very poor, just like in a student dorm. Staff at receptionis partially friendly. The solarium, sauna and anything else was closed without any reason given. housekeepers came in 4 (!) times although the fact that i put the 'not disturb' card outside because i was working.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pieter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet S, Chef at Scandic Uppsala North, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Mr. Pieter
Thanky you for your review after staying with us. We are happy to hear feedback from our guest, even if it is negative, It is necessary for improving our service.
I apoligize for that housekeepers didnt respect your " Do not disturb" sign, it is not acceptable.
I can admit that we do not have a fancy building and luxury at Scandic Uppsala Nord. The best Scandic hotel for fancy building is Scandic Viktoria Tower, located in Kista.
We are proud of calling us "Green Hotel" because Scandic has been voted to be the most sustainable chain for the fourth year in a row.

Thanks for staying with us and do not hesitate to contact us if you have further questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here aftera long flight from asia. Checking in was a breeze , front desk staff was really helpful and friendly.
Room. Updated, clean, pretty good size.
Wifi connection was pretty good.
Breakfast was really good, from cold cuts, meatballs, cereals and all

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArvinLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet S, Chef at Scandic Uppsala North, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear ArvinLee,
Thank you for staying with us! I am very happy to read your review. It´s very important for us to get all kind of feedback from our guest to improve our service.

I hope you enjoyed being in Sweden and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for one night in April 2014 when driving up from Gothenburg to Umeå. Located a few mins from the E4, next to a Statoil service station, in a residential area on the outskirts of Uppsala. (3km to town centre). Looked like they had bicyles to hire. Free parking & Wifi (use name and telefone nr to register). Room & bathroom clean, beds comfy though pillows quite low (no spares in room). Only one set of towels (one hand towel, one bath towel) in our twin room, no bath mat. We made do for one night, would have otherwise asked for another set + bath mat. Waste paper bin combi model for recyling with small "pots" for plastic etc, good idea but awkward to use, would have been better with 3 equal sized bins side by side. No noise from other rooms, good water pressure in shower. Soap/shower gel/shampoo provided. Didn't try TV. Breakfast v good, wide selection, only negative was slightly dried out cheese slices. Would consider staying here again if returning to the area.

Room Tip: We had room 226 which was 1 floor up and round the back, no problems with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polymoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet S, Chef at Scandic Uppsala North, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Polymoog,
Thank you for staying with us and your nice review!
I am happy to read that you were mostly satisfied with your stay. We do have 3 bicyles to lend out, free of charge, as parking and WI-Fi.
We have spare pillows and towels in all room, but keep only one set in bathroom. We keep them in wardrobe.Its possible that we missed that with your stay.
I agree with you that it would be better if we had some larger bins for recyling. I apologize for dried out cheese slices on brekfast buffet.
We are looking forward to see you again with your next visit to Uppsala!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Since my last visit, this hotel has gone through renovation, at least my room was updated and looked good. Nicely upgraded to meet 21st century requirements. Easy access from E4 and close to Uppsala city center. Quiet room, easy sleep, good breakfast. This is place to stay overnight but not for holidays.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ville M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet S, Chef at Scandic Uppsala North, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your comments Ville!
You are definitely right! Renovation is done och we are very happy with the result. We have updated over 100 rooms, restaurant and lobby area.

We look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Classical motorhotel along the road (former E4) through Uppsala.
Good value for the money. Silent, nice rooms. OK breakfast. Good beds. Free wifi and free parking. Renovation going on and soon finished.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOE026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet S, Manager at Scandic Uppsala North, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to rating us!
We have now renovated 100 rooms, lobby, reception and restaurant. We have even new TV in all room with HD quality. You can now connect your own devices to TV. HDMI cables can be barrowed from reception.
We are looking forward your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavle, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

+ New renovated rooms (strange design though)
+ Free parking and free wellworking WIFI
+ Great breakfast (always on Scandic Hotels)

- Strange smell of sewer in the bathroom
- Boring location in the outskirts of Uppsala

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanInSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet S, Manager at Scandic Uppsala North, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review!
Some of our new renovetad rooms had a problem with sewerage odor but we have found reason and problem is solved by construction company.
We are looking forward to see you with your next stay in Uppsala!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
1.0 mi away
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
#8 of 19 in Uppsala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Svava
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#3 of 19 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Clarion Hotel Gillet
#2 of 19 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Uppsala North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Uppsala North

Property: Scandic Uppsala North
Address: 50 Gamla Uppsalagatan, Uppsala 754 25, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Uppsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Uppsala North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a 5-minute drive from Uppsala Central Train Station to the contemporary Scandic Uppsala Nord hotel.Explore nearby Uppsala attractions like Uppsala Castle and Fyrishov Water Park. Facility Plunge into, unwind in the sauna or work-out in the gym at the Scandic Uppsala Nord hotel's relaxation centre. Try our resrestaurant and enjoy a drink at the bar. 25 minutes' drive from the airport, the hotel offers onsite parking free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Uppsala North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Uppsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing