We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Uppsala
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our two rooms were great and there are absolutely no complaints about them. It's just that the hotel feels a little in need of updating - the lift, the ceilings, for instance. The breakfast was fine although, again, we have had better breakfast in the Svava Hotel which is also more conveniently situated for the station and bus station. The breakfast area is also huge and feels 'uncozy'.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Hotel Uplandia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hi Renate,

Thank you for your feedback!
We are pleased that you seems happy with your stay here at Scandic Uplandia and we will look in to your criticism.
Looking forward to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Anki Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

You know what you get when you book a couple of nights with Scandic. They have friendly and helpful staff, a great breakfast and an OK or better room. Scandic in Uppsala delivers the expected quality; the room we got was clean and well kept. The hotel is quiet and located in the center of the city, you can park in the Garage one floor down (for an extra fee – but that is OK).
We did for sure get value for money

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBxGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Hotel Uplandia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback!
We are pleased that you seems to enjoy your stay with us.
Looking forward to see you again soon!

Best regars,
Anki Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The staff in this hotel were excellent, whether reception, restaurant or housekeeping. All very friendly and professional. The hotel is in a good location in Uppsala, a short walk from the train station and main attractions. Also close to a variety of restaurants.
The room was clean but basic and lacking in personality but other than that this was a great stay and the room was comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_dutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Hotel Uplandia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Scandic Uplandia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The room was nice and cozy, it could get kinda cold, but it's comfortable. The bed was good, so were the sheets. The bathroom was clean and well lit, the shower was good. For the rather low price, the breakfast was actually great. The TV program was enjoyable and the staff were nice. The hotel itself isn't too far from the central station, and it's in the same street as several shops, fast food chains and banks.

Room Tip: The double rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordPein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Hotel Uplandia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback!
/ Anki Andersson - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent one relaxing night at the Scandic hotel. Check-in was
fast, the reception is friendly and professional. Even though
we had booked a double room, an email was enough to tell them
that we needed an extra bed.
Wi-fi worked well, room was spacious, breakfast was rich.
Only possible flaw: upon check-in, the reception told
us that our room had already been charged on the credit card
that I had given upon booking the room. Since we wanted to
pay separately, it was a bit of a nuisance.
Nothing else to complain about, as hotel is located close
to the train/bus station and is therefore handy for going to
Arlanda airport.
Overall, we're very satisfied and would return here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Hotel Uplandia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback!
Best regards
Anki Andersson - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Exceptionally nice and helpful staff and the free use of the hotel's 2 bicycles are the pluses here. The hotel is standard issue Scandic chain. We were disappointed that there were no drink making facilities in the rooms nor any drawers for our clothes. There were only a few loose hangers on a rail. The bedroom was clean but the bathroom had seen better days.The shower, as they always are in Sweden, was powerful.
The 'bar' was a drawer of drinks - no gin and no port! More disappointing though was the breakfast which was geared towards Swedes' preferences for cold meat, buns and breads. The bacon and sausage that were available tasted very strange and we found the few cereals on offer were of the "natural organic" variety and extremely bland in taste.
Saddest of all though, was the inability to get a cup of tea! Hot water is available 'on tap' all day but is only about 90° so the sugar doesn't dissolve but forms a kind of scum on the top and the tea-bags were those disgusting Liptons ones! We did find a bag of PG tips in the shop opposite but the water was never hot enough from the machine to make a proper cup. Coffee was not an alternative as the Swedes prefer much stronger coffee than we do and we found it undrinkable and spent a small fortune on lattes in Wayne's Cafe opposite.
I believe that the Scandic hotels are very popular with Swedes en route to their summer houses etc but a Brit who was thinking this would be a Holiday Inn style stay would be disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't expect to be able to get a good cup of tea in Sweden! (Or anything resembling an English b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika G, Front Office Manager at Scandic Hotel Uplandia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback!
/ Anki Andersson - Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Scandic hotels are my first choice as I know what I get - clean hotel and rooms and good service and usually good value for money.
This was my first stay at Uplandia. Outside and inside looks are nothing special. Rooms are the usual light Scandinavian color scheme. Good room and bed. Attentive service.
I had a meal in the restaurant and was very satisfied with quality and service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika G, Manager at Scandic Hotel Uplandia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Clarion Hotel Gillet
#2 of 17 in Uppsala
949 reviews
1.1 mi away
Scandic Uppsala North
Scandic Uppsala North
#6 of 17 in Uppsala
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Svava
0.4 mi away
Akademihotellet
Akademihotellet
#11 of 17 in Uppsala
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elite Hotel Academia
Elite Hotel Academia
#4 of 17 in Uppsala
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Uplandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Uplandia

Address: Dragarbrunnsgatan 32, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Uppsala
Price Range: £83 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hotel Uplandia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Six-story Hotel located in town center, 500 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Hotel Uplandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Uppsala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing