We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Svava
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Uppsala
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
239 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Room for improvements”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Good location in the centre of Uppsala and next to the railway station. Friendly staff.The rooms are small but good. Some improvements are however required. When taking a shower water is getting all over the bathroom floor. At breakfast a grapefruit juice was served containing 99 % water, The scrambled eggs looked artificíal and far from tasty. Besides that a decent breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms toward the inner yard are to recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    88
    47
    7
    2
See reviews for
18
43
35
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
Level Contributor
261 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed for a week in the hotel, the room very tiny but good sleep anyway. Amazing breakfast buffet, they even offer a dinner buffet also with some varieties. the best thing about this hotel is its location, just in the city center its also facing the central station.
Practical for a short stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HARBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orebro, Sweden
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I recently spent three nights in Hotel Sava.
In the reception I was friendly greeted and the check in process was efficient. The room, I had not booked it myself was a single room, I have never understood the concept of the single room. Was, as could be expected small and functional. The light system in the room simple enough even for an experienced traveller. The closet sufficient, the bathroom good. The bed was confortable. The breakfast served fresh bread and had a reasonable choice of cheeses, marmalades, hot and cold.
The checking out was easy and efficient.
This is a fairly simple hotel, but if you are in Uppsala in business, need a place to sleep, shower and have breakfast, it is a place to go to. Not a place were you meet buisnesspartners or friends, or have a drink in the bar (only a reception run “bar”)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOLSWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagliari
Level Contributor
365 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I travelled to Uppsala for a conference and was placed in this hotel by the organisers. There are some good not so good and plain strange things about it, but it is an overall good place to stay.

On the good side, the hotel is very clean, the bed really comfortable and the overall quality of sleep is very good. The breakfast is varied, and there is an excellent choice. The personnel is all very helpful, available and friendly.

The not so good side: the single room really is a single room, so narrow that if you open the main door you can’t open the bathroom door. The shower does not have a door or a curtain, and is directly on the floor – which results in the entire bathroom getting wet after showering.

The strange thing is the view, which is “interesting” I would say, above a supermarket with a glass ceiling, so you get to see people on a food court shopping for groceries.

I guess the fact that the bed is so comfortable and the personnel so kind makes it up for the tiny room and the wet bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The location is unbeatable if you arrive to Uppsala by train - only cross the street from the station and you are there. Friendly and welcoming service, single rooms rather on the small side but comfortable, we had a large double, which was very adequate. Nice and varied breakfast. Nothing extraordinary (this is a Best Western chain hotel!), but for a short stay this might be the best option in town, close also to most main sights. Do not miss the lovely Linné garden if visiting during the green season, it is some 10 minutes walk away. Stroll the riverside, pop in to the renovated Market Hall for a drink or snack, or enjoy coffee and signature cakes in the legendaric Ofvandal's café, established in 1870s.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_My
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This was a very accessible hotel. It is right across the street from the train station. The town is not big so it is easy to see the highlights - castle, botanical gardens, old town, etc. - are easy to get to by walking or bus or bike (the hotel has a couple it will loan you). The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast has a pretty wide choice of food which is common in Sweden. Overall, the hotel was a good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gator-Fan-from-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Lovely hotel. Quiet, comfortable single room. No problems commuting to Stockholm daily if you have a Eurail pass, just 40 minutes on a quick train. Very good breakfast. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Very clean.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and they certainly provided such, so much so that I could sleep with the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flica3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#5 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Clarion Hotel Gillet
#2 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akademihotellet
Akademihotellet
#11 of 18 in Uppsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
Scandic Hotel Uplandia
#7 of 18 in Uppsala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Svava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Svava

Property: Best Western Hotel Svava
Address: Bangardsgatan 24, Uppsala 753 20, Sweden (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Svava)
Region: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Uppsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Svava 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Svava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing