We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor blackout curtains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Profilhotels Hotel Uppsala
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Uppsala
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hotel Uppsala met my needs of an affordable hotel near the train station. I appreciated the kitchen in the room. My only suggestion for improvement would be to have better blackout curtains. The red curtains couldn't block the sunrise which occurs at 3am this time of year. By 5:30 I couldn't sleep anymore and got up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Rooms are very spacious. Decent-sized desk for working and plenty of space to sit and move around. The light wood used in the furniture adds to the airiness. This is a place were one could stay several days and not feel cramped in.

Here and there small signs of age, wear and tear. Things have been moved on the walls in the room leaving unplugged screw holes, marring the impression of the room. Spots of worn-out carpeting in the corridor.

Well-assorted breakfast.

I ventured into the Scottish-themed bar and restaurant for a beer. There were wafts of stale frying fat already in the reception and at a most unappetizing level in the bar itself. Had my beer as fast as possible and left. More scruffy than your average British pub. If it all is inspired by any Scottish pub it would be in the worse parts of Glasgow. The Scottishness is probably based on having a few more Scottish beers than the average Swedish bar.

I would stay in the hotel again and studiously avoid the bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

So far the internet connection is essentially unusable, I had to try to load this page 10 times before I was successful. Had trouble with the room key the second time I tried to use it. There are only two clothes irons for the entire hotel and they cannot be removed from the laundry room. The room is large and clean, the breakfast is typical for hotels in Uppsala

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank SteveF7641MZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel is located perfectly in city center, a walking distance from everything one need. It was my second stay here, and I'm happy to recommend Hotel Uppsala for a night or two. Big room and bathroom, no noise from traffic. The madrass could have been better though [and I'm quite picky]. Really enjoyed the breakfast. Receieved discount cupons with a smile and went to the relaxed bar downstairs, where you can also grab a bite to eat. Made me ehappy after a long day of work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BodhiFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as we wanted to spend a day in Uppsala. The location is fairly close to Uppsala Central, walkable if you don't want to pay for transportation. The hotel is also walking distance to most of Uppssla's attractions. Our room a no-frill, yet comfortable space. The room we had also had a small kitchen like area with a few dishes and small sink. The included breakfast was very enjoyable containing your typical Swedish offerings and some extras. I would stay here again for the good location and breakfast.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DrZ0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I had a really large comfortable room in this hotel which was much appreciated after a run of hotels with extremely small rooms. Enjoyed everything about my stay here. The hotel is located within walking distance of the train station although if it's raining you might try a taxi. You can walk to everything in town from the hotel and the bus to Gamla Uppsala is just nearby.

There is a breakfast with plenty of choice and the staff were all extremely helpful. I couldn't recommend this hotel more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Central location. Walking distance to all the sights.
Clean, quiet and decent breakfast at a reasonable price.
All in all a good place for a stop over in this beautoful town.

Avoid the next door parking garage - it is really expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredrikWBU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uppsala hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Svava
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Uppsala
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Gillet
Clarion Hotel Gillet
#2 of 17 in Uppsala
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Uppsala
0.4 mi away
Akademihotellet
Akademihotellet
#10 of 17 in Uppsala
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotell Hornan
Grand Hotell Hornan
#7 of 17 in Uppsala
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Profilhotels Hotel Uppsala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Profilhotels Hotel Uppsala

Address: 27 Kungsgatan, Uppsala 753 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Uppsala County > Uppsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Uppsala
Hotel Class:3 star — Profilhotels Hotel Uppsala 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Uppsala is centrally located and offers a modern setting with all communications within convenient distance. Good standard, modern technology and highly personable service are our offer to you looking for a comfortable stay with an international touch. With its exceptional location; Hotel Uppsala offers an ideal sanctuary - whether for business or pleasure. As a guest you get free WiFi and access to our Scottish pub Pipes of Scotland. Hotel Uppsala also rents centrally located apartments, consisting of three rooms and a kitchen. Each is fully equipped for a long-term stay for one person or an entire family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Profilhotels Hotel Uppsala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing