We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay in Karlstad, Sweden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Karlstad, Sweden”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We chose this nicely situated hotel to stay at during our motorcycle trip. It was affordable, had breakfast and dinner included in the price, and had a lot of parking space. Situated just a few minutes walk from the city of Karlstad. Nice rooms and friendly staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    156
    33
    7
    5
See reviews for
70
247
10
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I will absolutely book a room at Bilan on my next trip to Karlstad. Nice and clean room, beautiful shower bath, the food was good, breakfast, afternoon coffee, a free evening meal with a warm chicken dish, vegetables, salads, cheese and dessert, that was a treat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Vesle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orje, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Lovely staff. Especially Eva. Very good food, both breakfast and the included evening bufe. The sallad and the dessert is excepional. Nice room. Missed radio/music though. Interresting history and museum.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Torbjorn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Interesting hotel in that it used to be a prison so there's loads of prison memorabilia and a museum within the hotel. Rates include buffet breakfast and dinner so a great way to save money. Rooms were clean and tidy, no complaints at all! The only thing to be aware of is they only supply shower gel so no other toiletries. Reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night on the way to Norway. The hotel is in a very quiet area (near the river), near the center. The rooms are quite spacious, the staff is friendly. However, the hotel itself is a parking fee (76 SEK per day), as it became known only on arrival(in response to a preliminary letter at the parking payment was not a single word). By the way, monotonous breakfasts. Breakfast turned out to be monotonous and poor.

Room Tip: recommend selecting Superior Double or Twin Room, the rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A nice hotel close to Karlstad center. I was a little bit shocked with its history as a prison, but it appeared to feel very comfortable there. Personnel there is lovely and helpful, which made me feel like at home. Free sauna, gym, wifi; breakfasts and dinners included. Food is great! In the cellar you can find a museum and older cells. It is very close to the train and bus stations, thereby location was splendid for me. I can highly recommend it for everybody!

Room Tip: On the upper floor windows are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairyteller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at this hotel on our way from Norway to Stockholm. There are nice places to visit around and you can get all the information you need from the hotel reception. The rooms are quite spacious, free wifi, free parking, dinner and breakfast included. Good facilities such as sauna and most interesting the museum which you can visit for free. Laundry service for a fair price. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We recommend this hotel especially for couples, we had to book two rooms for a family, there were no family rooms available. Other than that very nice experience.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank seby621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Drott
0.3 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Plaza
Clarion Hotel Plaza
#3 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
First Hotel River C
First Hotel River C
#7 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Winn
Scandic Winn
#6 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Karlstad City
Scandic Karlstad City
#5 of 18 in Karlstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan
Address: 3 Karlbergsgatan, Karlstad 652 24, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Karlstad
#1 Business Hotel in Karlstad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Karlstad
Karlstad Clarion
Clarion Collection Karlstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing