We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place for families”
Review of Scandic Klaralven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Klaralven
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Karlstad
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This hotel is functional and clean. We enjoyed being along the beautiful river.
The food was very good, with a huge selection! We loved having our breakfast on the patio with the beautiful view of the river. 15 minutes was not a bad walk into the center of town. There are bicycles at the hotel if you wish to use them. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They were very kid friendly with meals especially. There is a nice play area right in the dining area, for children. I would recommend staying here if you are travelling with family. It is not a posh hotel, but it is comfortable. We enjoyed the wireless in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2010

This hotel is perfectly placed for all who just passing by Karlstad - just few meters from E18 motorway. You do not need to go into the city and try to find Your already booked hotel.
Good location outside the city. But if You want to spend some time in the city, then choose the different one.
Hotel is placed in bungalow building, but no worry, there is not a cheap bungalow. Rooms are really comfortable, designed in modern Nordic design. Big wide beds gives You enough space to sleep. TV, desk, round table with armchair, this makes stay there really comfortable. In hotel is wireless internet, You do not need a cable to surf.
Bathroom - clean and comfortable. I really enjoyed hotel cosmetics. If You want, there is a pool inside, but I do not try.
Really good breakfasts. Big choice. Really big chice. Enough to be in the hotel for week and every morning try something else.
Great choice to stay. 100% recomendation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jak1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2007

The Scandic Klaralven is a standard functional business hotel. The hotel is bordered on one side with a river and the E18 motorway on the other side.

The location is a 15 minutes walk from the centre of Karlstad, where there are plenty of good bars and restaruants.

I was there for a football match and the hotel is a perfect location for the stadium.

As I stated the hotel is a good functional hotel. The rooms are neat and tidy, in a Scandinavian way. And all the staff was extremely helpful, the food was good. I can’t really find fault with the hotel, the only down side was the walk to and from town.

Enjoy your stay, just do not expect anything exciting.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lee1pen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2006

Having stayed in Karlstad a number of times I stayed in this hotel for 4 days when I was on a business trip. The location is very convenient if you are driving as it is along the highway. The only complaint I had with this hotel was the restaurant. There was nothing wrong with the food but it was more like something you would get in a road side cafe. The service was almost non existent in the restaurant on the night I was there. The staff were more interested in the conversation they were having in the corner. In my opinion the one in the center of Karlstad is a much better hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Thank christer_flodfalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Thank peterrosendahl67
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Thank lasse_ahlberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
0.6 mi away
Scandic Winn
Scandic Winn
#5 of 17 in Karlstad
383 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Gustaf Froding Hotel & Konferens
0.7 mi away
First Hotel River C
First Hotel River C
#8 of 17 in Karlstad
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan
0.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Drott
0.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Klaralven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Klaralven

Address: 6 Sandbaecksgatan, Karlstad 653 40, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Karlstad
Price Range: £81 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Klaralven 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motor Hotel located on Highway E18, on River Klaralven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Klaralven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Klaralven Karlstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing