We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at your grandparents house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Karlstad
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Like staying at your grandparents house”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed here two nights in 2010, when Holland beat Uruguay in the semi final of the World Cup. We did not like the first room we were given. It was in front of the busy road, and furthermore there was still a spare bed folded up in the room. The room we moved to was at the end of the corridor overlooking the breakfast area/inner court on. In the bathromm there was a window looking out at the space at the side of the hotel. It was a quiet room so we could have a good nights sleep. That always is the bottom line for me, being able to sleep without disturbances. The room was big, the sort of room you find with people that have too many rooms in their house. Old, but still with a feeling of comfort that goes back some time. Hotel was okay all in all. Breakfast adequate, staff helpful and friendly. Park house just over the road. Good enough for a night or two.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hebbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    213
    95
    29
    18
See reviews for
75
211
22
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed in room 210 for two nights. The room is right above the hotel's entrance and facing the intersection Hamngatan/Västra Torggatan. My friend is a heavy sleeper and slept well. Me, on the other hand, was bothered by traffic noise on Sunday morning. (It was a rainy day, which made the noise worse.)

The bathroom was fine, except from the ventilation valve up on the wall. Obviously, it hadn't been cleaned for at least a couple of years, and made a quite disgusting detail. I expect more from a plaza hotel. We only payed SEK1275,- for two nights, breakfast included, so I guess we got value for money overall.

The room was fine enough and the beds comfortable.
The hotel's reception area was quite nice and the breakfast too.
Parking house (not free) right outside the hotel's entrance.
Location (except from traffic) is good, right in the middle of town centre and right across the street from the train station.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, make sure you book a more quiet room than 210/rooms facing Hamngatan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tannpirker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollabrunn, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We planned to stay 5 nights and have ordered well in advance - we received two rooms with no day light with the view to dirty breakfest tables.
After intervention we could change one of the rooms - not even better. As the buses stop there with people just stying overnight they start their airconditioning about 6 am infront of your window....The rooms were not cleaned, when arriving the toilett was completely dirty and we had to call for service which finally arrived 30 minutes later. Breakfest was a disaster - when the bus tourists took everything for their tour - nothing remainded for guests coming later. Service Staff was not able to keep the breakfest tables clean. Asking for napkins - service did not what to understand or did not understand what they have to do, etc. etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 47Wolfgang47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2011

At first I want to thank the director Martin Samuelsson and his staff for the hospitality, shown during our stay in the Clarion Hotel Plaza in Karlstad.
Tonight my wife and myself enjoyed a fantastic diner during the last evening we stay in Sweden: this was a perfect example of a very positive memory.
The room we stay in at this moment, the dinner, the service of the staff, every detail will contribute to the recommendation I'll give to everybody who plans to visit Karlstad in Sweden, the beautiful country we have spent three weeks travelling in!
Verien Slippens & Donald Uhrlep

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uhrlep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I stayed twice in to different rooms: the first room was very modern but small, with a view to the lobby, the second one was in the old part of the hotel, very large and with a balcony, but a bit oldfashioned (old carpets etc.). I enjoyed both. Very interesting modern lobby. Friendly staff, good breakfast and a sauna with a spectacular view. The hotel is just across the street from the trainstation.

Room Tip: If you prefer it modern, go for the new part, if you need more space choose the new part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anid11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2010

They must absolutely update the hotel. Old and dirty carpet and a very bad smell in the room.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Pepse123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, FL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The lobby looked totally renovated; nice furniture and modern décor; unfortunately the room we stayed was old and the bathroom was clean but smelling bad and in desperate need of renovation.
Breakfast was very good. Friendly staff.
Parking across the street for $110,00 SEK per night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafernandes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karlstad hotels
0.2 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Karlstad
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bilan
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Drott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Winn
Scandic Winn
#6 of 18 in Karlstad
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
First Hotel River C
First Hotel River C
#7 of 18 in Karlstad
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Karlstad City
Scandic Karlstad City
#5 of 18 in Karlstad
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza
Address: Vastra Torggatan 2, Karlstad 652 25, Sweden (Formerly Radisson SAS Plaza)
Region: Sweden > Varmland County > Karlstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Karlstad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Karlstad
#3 Business Hotel in Karlstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Plaza is a full service hotel in the heart of Karlstad. The hotel has been under renovation 2013-14 and today it's the most modern hotel in the city with a brand new look. We offer 131 rooms and suites, 11 conference rooms, relax area with gym, jazuzzi and sauna and our popular restaurant - Kitchen & Table. Our fantastic staff dare to be different and will greet you with passion. It won't take long before you feel like home when staying with us. We wish you a warm welcome to Karlstad and to Clarion Hotel Plaza! Clarion Hotel(R) - Service with Passion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Karlstad
Karlstad Radisson
Clarion Hotel Karlstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing