We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grythyttans Gastgivaregard
Ranked #1 of 2 Grythyttan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

we dropped by on our way through sweden at got a great room
it was worth the experience just walking through the corridors to the room
had a nice bottle of riesling in their beautiful parlours
will definitely come back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MZSAdeCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

PROS: Not only can you bring your dog to this hotel to stay the night, which is possible in some hotels, but the whole hotel is open for you and your dog. We had a lovely stay here and it was so nice to be able to take our dogs with us to the restaurant and when having breakfast.

Dogs are treated to a chewie in the room and if you want you can order dinner from a separate dog menu in the restaurant.

The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

The food was delicious! A lot of local produce and even local beer. There was a very nice menu with a vegetarian dish included. Lots of great wine to choose from and they made a good gin and tonic!

The rooms where clean and comfortable and the whole place very cute and quirky.

CONS: Because the building was very old the ceilings where low, so standing in the shower was not for everyone. But who cares?!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBAG1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

A friend and I visited on midsommer nights eve and enjoyed a sumptuous lunch, went to a local festival complete with Maypole, and then returned for an outstanding dinner. The facilities are lovely with lots of room to relax and enjoy in a charming atmosphere. I highly recommend this lovely place, though I would stay for two nights instead of one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RangerAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

An average experience at a premium price. Small town staff and service levels, poor to average wine with the food, waiter mixed up orders, waited 20 minutes for an aperitif Champagne. Food was good but not master class. Will not revisit and will not recommend to friends unless they happen to drive past.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MEM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareOf H, Front Office Manager at Grythyttans Gastgivaregard, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

I am so sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. It appears that we definitely failed when it comes to the restaurant and the service. We always reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue in the restaurant; in addition, we are re-evaluating our inspections processes to ensure these types of issues do not occur in the future. Again, we are terribly sorry that your first experience with c/o Grythyttans Gästgivaregård was not a good one, but I like to invite you to give us another try. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience.

Stefan A. Sköldmo
c/o Grythyttans Gästgivaregård

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I was here with my best friend. It was lots of other couples in their 50's and above.The hotel itself is just lovely and has a very pretty interior. Sit in the salon for hours, enjoy some afternoon tea and play board games with friends. Our room was placed in another building just across the hotel. The room was quite small, but nicely decorated. The bathroom was claustrophobic though! But I would definitely come back again, this place is so romantic and made me feel so relaxed, next time I'll bring my hubby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareOf H, Front Office Manager at Grythyttans Gastgivaregard, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012
Google Translation

Tack för ditt fina omdöme efter din vistelse hos oss!

Vad trevligt att du uppskattade vårt afternoon tea i våra vackra salonger och att ni trivdes på ert rum. Alla våra 58 hotellrum har en egen stil och design, och varierar i storlek och form men alla är som du skriver personligt inredda och mysiga.

Du är varmt välkommen åter med din gubbe för att slappna av!

Stefan A. Sköldmo
c/o Grythyttans Gästgivaregård

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Grythyttans Gästgivaregård is smack in the middle of the older part of the town of Grythyttan and has that wonderful old Swedish charm with its wooden red-and-white houses, and just feels very picturesque. Grythyttan has had more experience at fine dining and hoteliery than most places you'll find in the Swedish countryside, and the food at the hotel was both _extremely tasty_ and inventive, and the staff were well-trained in fine-dining service, and had no trouble at all switching out a dish when I mentioned my shellfish allergy.

The room was in the old Swedish style, but the bathroom was modern, and though small, it was well designed for the space, and well appointed. No bathtub, but a lovely fully tiled shower with large rain-shower head. All in all, very comfortable.

The bar was a bit understaffed (though very helpful when the bartender WAS there) but we weren't as impressed with the live piano player/singer. Still, the atmosphere was good, and it was nice to sit among the other guests and sip an after-dinner drink and coffee.

This place is definitely worth a detour! Take a stroll around Grythyttan also, because it's adorable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jes6ica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CareOf H, Front Office Manager at Grythyttans Gastgivaregard, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review!

We are so glad you found us to be above average and recommendation worthy. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Stefan A. Sköldmo
c/o Grythyttans Gästgivaregård

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We were expecting exceptional quality, and when we look at the total experience of a three course dinner and one nights acommodation, we were not disappointed. The standard size room was nice and romantic, but the space for the bathroom was minimal, with a shower crammed into the corner close to the WC. Neither was there a shelf for our personal toilet gear. The dinner was well prepared and accompanied by good wine suggestions, and we were served by experienced and observant staff. One of the few times it feels like a tip is warranted.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grythyttan
21.8 mi away
Lilla Hotellet
Lilla Hotellet
#1 of 3 in Nora
44 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hennickehammars Herrgard
Hennickehammars Herrgard
#1 of 1 in Filipstad
87 reviews
7.3 mi away
Loka Brunn
Loka Brunn
#1 of 1 in Grythyttan
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Herrgarden i Grythyttan
Herrgarden i Grythyttan
#2 of 2 in Grythyttan
2 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sikfors Herrgard
Sikfors Herrgard
#1 of 1 in Hallefors
13 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hallefors Hostel & Canoecenter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grythyttans Gastgivaregard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grythyttans Gastgivaregard

Address: 2 Praestgatan, Grythyttan 712 60, Sweden (Formerly Grythyttans Gastgivaregard)
Region: Sweden > Orebro County > Grythyttan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grythyttan
Price Range: £255 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grythyttans Gastgivaregard 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grythyttan Country Inn has a heritage and exciting history from times past. But in the midst of all this, you as our guest are met with both present and future - in the food that our chefs create, in our highly personalized guest rooms and in the bar where the drinks you enjoy will challenge your taste buds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Grythyttans Gastgivaregard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing