We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple And Clean”
Review of Hotel Arkad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Arkad
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Vasteras
Finspang, Sweden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simple And Clean”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed there over a weekend in November and were positively surprised. The hotel is worth the 3 stars it has. Approx 40 rooms, not fancy but in good shape..

The reception has opening hours (check before arrival), no 24/7 service!

The hotel and the room are clean and nothing at all to complain about, the service at the reception is helpful and very friendly.

The room we had (no 233 / family suite) was big with 2 sleeping rooms, furniture simple but in good shape, TV and a small kitchenette as well as a bedsofa in the living room. It was clean uppon arrival and has been cleaned daily. The Bathroom of oours was too small for a family room (3sqm max)) and has seen better days already but even there: clean

The breakfast is simple, with coffee and tea, bread, toast, cold meat and hering, nothing fancy there either but standard continental breakfast. The only thing I really got annoyed about is the instant coffee machine they have in use which really makes you become a tea-drinker. Better to take it away and replace with the good old filter-coffee, Or invest in a real fullautomated coffee machine.

Parking is available for 85kr/day in the backyard.

Wireless Internet without charge.

Overall a simple and clean place, 1 minute walk from the center. The price for the above mentioned room was 1000kr/night and therewith absolute fine for what you get.

Room Tip: We had room 233 (Family room) which is big, with two bedrooms and a living room with a bedsofa, TV a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    22
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
3
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I found the room too small. It is ok if you need a room over a night just for sleeping. In my case i stayed around two weeks in a single room which is very small just to contain a bed. I would recommend if you are planning to stay more than a day better to take double room.

I would say breakfast not very good but okay. The same stuff every morning, nothing hot except boiled eggs. The good thing is there are a pool table in basement and at most of the time not crowded, so if you are alone you can pass time there.

Room Tip: Never go for single room if planing to stay more than a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajeevkJha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Helpful and friendly staff. Stayed in a room with a kitchenette. Breakfast buffet was good. They even packed a takeaway breakfast as I had to catch a very early flight on my way back. Had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I stayed in this Hotel for 3 nights, when the Best Western (just across the road) was full. Reception was friendly, and I was lucky enough to arrive just as another guest was buying his internet connection (30SEK/day) so didn't have to come back down the stairs to pay for mine. You get one code for your stay, and it worked effectively. The hotel is oddly laid out, with 3 front doors, so on the 2nd floor, where I was staying, there was a door right outside my room that went straight down to the street, plus another 2 stairwells further along the corridor, one of which led to the lobby and reception. Odd, because the stairs were only a few metres apart.... I saw no sign of an elevator by the way.
The bedroom was OK, with 2 comfortable single beds, antique desk and chair, with a more modern chair by the desk. Unfortunately this wasn't the correct height for the desk, so was uncomfortable to work. Lighting was good, and flexible, but the power sockets go off when you switch the light off, and you wake up to a flat battery on your laptop. Switch the light off at the desk, instead of the wall switch, and keep your PC alive.
There was a single French window and normal window, but the catches on these were very old, and they didn't shut very well. It was unseasonably warm so that wasn't a problem. The heating system is an old water-filled cast-iron radiator, but it did have a thermostatic valve fitted. Bathroom looked old fashioned, although the curved shower cubicle looked newer. Shower was powerful and plenty of hot water was available.
Breakfast was served from 6.30 and was a good selection of cold plates, with (pre-cooked) boiled eggs the only (slightly warm) option. Plenty of bread, cold meat, salad and pickled herrings, cereal and stuff.
I saw no sign of an evening meal being available, so suspect they don't do one. The bar consisted of a few bottles in a locked cabinet at reception. Given the Swedish prices, that's not surprising. Easy walk to the city centre, where there were more restaurants, and a pub (The Bishop's Arms) that sells real beer, hand pumped. Not cheap, but it's Sweden, and where else would you find 42 year old malt whisky at SEK 1,500 for a dram. No wonder they had a padlock on the door.
I would have slept well, but my room, like all the others I guess, had original wooden floors. My neighbours were not noisy, but when they arrived, just as I was getting to sleep, their continual clumping around, toilet flushing and taps running sounded like they were in my own room. Just as I was dozing off for a second time, another one arrived back. Same all 3 nights, and I'm no light sleeper. It's the price you pay for originality and history I suppose, but I was sleep deprived by the time I left.
I found the price high at SEK 1075, and I guess other reviewers must have had corporate rates from ABB/ Bombardier or similar.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear overlook the car park, so possibly quieter, but the street wasn't busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bancquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Having stayed in numreous hotels when doing business I know what i require: Comfortable bed, quiet, clean and dark room. Wireless connection and show is of course mandatory.

This hotel offers all this, maybe not the latest furniture or a bathroom from this century but it was clean. The price 850kr ($120) is also great!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeypore, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

The hotel is situated in the heart of the city, very nearer to ABB and Babardian. All rooms are very nicely and cleanly arranged with nice furniture. High Speed internet facility is available in all rooms. Hot water circulating system is arranged to make the room at controlling temperature. The rooms are equipped with Small kitchen also.
They offered complimentary Breakfast for all. The food is very good and tasty.
The service is excellent with quick time response.
The security system is good as no one can enter inside the hotel in the odd hours without taking the room in the hotel.
I definitely recomend this hotel to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eswarsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Nice hotel located in the city centre of Vasteras. Close proximity to rail and the central bus terminal.
Reasonably spacious rooms with climate control and large screen LCD TV.
Good facility of wireless internet from all rooms which is a boon when you need to spend times in the room especially during the dark winters !
Nice selection of dishes at the complementary buffet breakfast and coffee/tea and cookies in the evenings.
They also have a facility to rustle up some light snacks and beer or soft drinks in case you are not in the mood of going out.
Very polite and helpful front office staff.
Considering the rates at other hotels this is competitively priced at approx. 600 SEK/night.
Very close proximity to the ICA dept store and other bars and restaurants.

One drawback is that teh hotel reception is closes at 2PM on Sundays and in case you plan to arrive after this time you need to contact the hotel in advance to get the entry key code and your room keys !

  • Liked — Warm and homely atmosphere with a wide choice of items for breakfast
  • Disliked — Front desk not open after 2PM on Sundays could be an inconvenience if any assistance is required during these times
  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RBNBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vasteras hotels
0.2 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Vasteras
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Etage
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Plaza
1.7 mi away
Hem till Garden
Hem till Garden
#6 of 16 in Vasteras
16 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scandic Vasteras
Scandic Vasteras
#7 of 16 in Vasteras
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arkad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arkad

Property: Hotel Arkad
Address: 25 Oestermalmsgatan, Vasteras 722 14, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Vastmanland County > Vasteras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Vasteras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arkad 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arkad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing