We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room but it has charm!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arkad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Arkad
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Vasteras
Borlänge, Sverige
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small room but it has charm!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed one night in this well located hotel near the city center.
The room was small but it liked it anyway and it was easy to feel at home.
A very good breakfast was served in the morning and it was nice places to enjoy the breakfast in.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunhuken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    18
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
2
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

The hotel is at wakeble distance from central railway station. Some rooms are quite small but fortunately mine had kitchen attached so you can cook. A billiards room and small librabry at basement worth a visit ...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anuragrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Vasteras is such a lovely city in Sweden with a fantastic lake, a great marina, nice shops and good bars and restaurants - a nice place to chill.

The Arkad in Vasteras is a hotel with a traditional Swedish feel which is great fo visitors who want the Swedish experience

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welsh_Viking_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finspang, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed there over a weekend in November and were positively surprised. The hotel is worth the 3 stars it has. Approx 40 rooms, not fancy but in good shape..

The reception has opening hours (check before arrival), no 24/7 service!

The hotel and the room are clean and nothing at all to complain about, the service at the reception is helpful and very friendly.

The room we had (no 233 / family suite) was big with 2 sleeping rooms, furniture simple but in good shape, TV and a small kitchenette as well as a bedsofa in the living room. It was clean uppon arrival and has been cleaned daily. The Bathroom of oours was too small for a family room (3sqm max)) and has seen better days already but even there: clean

The breakfast is simple, with coffee and tea, bread, toast, cold meat and hering, nothing fancy there either but standard continental breakfast. The only thing I really got annoyed about is the instant coffee machine they have in use which really makes you become a tea-drinker. Better to take it away and replace with the good old filter-coffee, Or invest in a real fullautomated coffee machine.

Parking is available for 85kr/day in the backyard.

Wireless Internet without charge.

Overall a simple and clean place, 1 minute walk from the center. The price for the above mentioned room was 1000kr/night and therewith absolute fine for what you get.

Room Tip: We had room 233 (Family room) which is big, with two bedrooms and a living room with a bedsofa, TV a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

I found the room too small. It is ok if you need a room over a night just for sleeping. In my case i stayed around two weeks in a single room which is very small just to contain a bed. I would recommend if you are planning to stay more than a day better to take double room.

I would say breakfast not very good but okay. The same stuff every morning, nothing hot except boiled eggs. The good thing is there are a pool table in basement and at most of the time not crowded, so if you are alone you can pass time there.

Room Tip: Never go for single room if planing to stay more than a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajeevkJha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Helpful and friendly staff. Stayed in a room with a kitchenette. Breakfast buffet was good. They even packed a takeaway breakfast as I had to catch a very early flight on my way back. Had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I stayed in this Hotel for 3 nights, when the Best Western (just across the road) was full. Reception was friendly, and I was lucky enough to arrive just as another guest was buying his internet connection (30SEK/day) so didn't have to come back down the stairs to pay for mine. You get one code for your stay, and it worked effectively. The hotel is oddly laid out, with 3 front doors, so on the 2nd floor, where I was staying, there was a door right outside my room that went straight down to the street, plus another 2 stairwells further along the corridor, one of which led to the lobby and reception. Odd, because the stairs were only a few metres apart.... I saw no sign of an elevator by the way.
The bedroom was OK, with 2 comfortable single beds, antique desk and chair, with a more modern chair by the desk. Unfortunately this wasn't the correct height for the desk, so was uncomfortable to work. Lighting was good, and flexible, but the power sockets go off when you switch the light off, and you wake up to a flat battery on your laptop. Switch the light off at the desk, instead of the wall switch, and keep your PC alive.
There was a single French window and normal window, but the catches on these were very old, and they didn't shut very well. It was unseasonably warm so that wasn't a problem. The heating system is an old water-filled cast-iron radiator, but it did have a thermostatic valve fitted. Bathroom looked old fashioned, although the curved shower cubicle looked newer. Shower was powerful and plenty of hot water was available.
Breakfast was served from 6.30 and was a good selection of cold plates, with (pre-cooked) boiled eggs the only (slightly warm) option. Plenty of bread, cold meat, salad and pickled herrings, cereal and stuff.
I saw no sign of an evening meal being available, so suspect they don't do one. The bar consisted of a few bottles in a locked cabinet at reception. Given the Swedish prices, that's not surprising. Easy walk to the city centre, where there were more restaurants, and a pub (The Bishop's Arms) that sells real beer, hand pumped. Not cheap, but it's Sweden, and where else would you find 42 year old malt whisky at SEK 1,500 for a dram. No wonder they had a padlock on the door.
I would have slept well, but my room, like all the others I guess, had original wooden floors. My neighbours were not noisy, but when they arrived, just as I was getting to sleep, their continual clumping around, toilet flushing and taps running sounded like they were in my own room. Just as I was dozing off for a second time, another one arrived back. Same all 3 nights, and I'm no light sleeper. It's the price you pay for originality and history I suppose, but I was sleep deprived by the time I left.
I found the price high at SEK 1075, and I guess other reviewers must have had corporate rates from ABB/ Bombardier or similar.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear overlook the car park, so possibly quieter, but the street wasn't busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bancquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vasteras hotels
0.3 mi away
Elite Stadshotellet Vasteras
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Etage
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Esplanade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Plaza
0.7 mi away
Scandic Vasteras
Scandic Vasteras
#5 of 16 in Vasteras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hem till Garden
Hem till Garden
#6 of 16 in Vasteras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arkad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arkad

Property: Hotel Arkad
Address: 25 Oestermalmsgatan, Vasteras 722 14, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Vastmanland County > Vasteras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Vasteras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arkad 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arkad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing