We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old standard, Nicke staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Hotel Billingehus
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Skovde
Karlstad, Sweden
1 review
“Old standard, Nicke staff”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nice view from the resturant and certain rooms, nice staff but old standard on rooms and corridors etc. Old uggly carpets in the corridors. Breakfast was good and the staff was excellent. In line for à renevation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Hotellrecensenten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FH_Billingehus, Hotellchef at First Hotel Billingehus, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Google Translation
Hej Hotellrecensenten,

Tack för din tid att delge oss dina kommentarer, vi tar till oss av positiv och negativ feedback.
Extra trevligt att läsa att ni var nöjda med vår frukost som ska ge en bra start på dagen samt vår härliga personal på hotellet.

Varmt välkomna tillbaka och en skön sommar önskar jag dig!

Med vänlig hälsning / Best regards,
Katrin Kangas
Hotellchef/Hotel Manager
FIRST HOTEL BILLINGEHUS
___________________
Alphyddevägen
Box 13
541 21 SKÖVDE
Sweden
T: +46 500 44 57 14
F: +46 500 48 38 80
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    110
    158
    113
    66
See reviews for
196
104
14
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Considering you are in Sweden, this resort is OK for the price. I got a 2 bed (twins) room, which was equipped with an 80's era, 15" or so TV hung from the ceiling, a small study, a trouser press (right at the entrance). The bathroom was ok. Had a soap & shampoo, towels and a shower stall. Nothing more. Basic accommodation with nothing to write much about. Because I was there for only one night, I didnt mind it. Bed was decent enough to get some sleep and the study big enough for my laptop. No coffee in the room. You have to walk to the reception and buy one. My only complaint was the hotel was empty and I was given a room that was at one end of the building. You had to walk for all the way to the reception (5-8 min) just for a cup of coffee. I don't mind the walk, but it would have made sense to just give a room close by when the entire place is empty. The restaurant was decent. Had a beer and the dinner special - which was a mushroom lasagna. No complaints about food quantity or quality. The service was also decent as there was only one person serving the restaurant (only 2 other parties along with mine that night). Breakfast was decent as well. Good spread of breads, cold cuts, eggs, fruits and cereals. Would recommend this for a short stay and if you are looking for something economical in Skovde. The hotels in town otherwise are expensive (and no better).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vm101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Hi, I stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights recently. The hotel is quite nice, very clean with a nice breakfast. The more basic rooms are very simple - a little surprising, but very comfortable and practical - just not luxurious. But the view from the restaurant is great - it looks down a gentle ski slope, and you get to watch the children trying out their moves. Very good.

Room Tip: Sit by the window in the restaurant for a meal - what a view. Also, the "reindeer" steak i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

The hotel is at the top of the hill overlooking the town. I have stayed several times. It has a lovely view of the town from the restaurant which is a great way to start the day. The downside is the restaurant is not as good as others in the town or other hotels. However they do very good summer barbecues! One of my main gripes is the fact that all the extra facilities like the indoor pool are closed when I return from work. I imagine they are good for people using it as a Spa getaway, but it is a shame they are not open long enough for the business traveller. The rooms are also in need of modernisation.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerardWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

This is an old hotel in serious need of restauration. My room did not have a functioning hair dryer or trousers press. Also the bathroom walls had visible black mold. This place is way overpriced and everything including the food and the service is stuck in the 80's.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flajjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012 via mobile

Hotel room clean but too hot ( not possible to set the temperature in the room) and far from reception.
Good breastfast however not so many sweets.
Bit far from the city - car needed.
No opinion on the spa- not been there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottdegnomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varkala, India
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We had a department conference at Billingehus and I booked it. The pictures on the homepage looked nice but the reality was not at all like that. The house is old and it shows.. But the service and food was ok.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancinggirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Skovde hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skovde
1.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Majoren
1.4 mi away
Scandic Billingen Skovde
4.7 mi away
Knistad Hotell & Konferens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Karstorps Konferenscenter
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Prisma
Quality Hotel Prisma
#2 of 7 in Skovde
247 reviews
13.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Jula Hotell & Konferens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Billingehus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Billingehus

Property: First Hotel Billingehus
Address: Alphyddevagen | Box 13, Skovde 541 21, Sweden (Formerly First Resort Billingehus)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Skovde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Skovde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Billingehus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Billingehus in Skovde boasts sweeping panoramic views across the verdant plains of Vastergotland from its hillside vantage point of Billingen. The town Skovde, situated at the foot of Billingen Mountain, carries a rich 600-year history and cultural heritage. The hotel in companion with the surrounding area have much to offer the visitor. Our outdoor swimming pool, a 12-hole golf course nearby and the facilities to handle large conferences, First Hotel Billingehus is a perfect place for your next event or family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Billingehus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing