We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night sleep.”
Review of Hotel Fars Hatt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fars Hatt
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kungalv
GreenLeadersSilver level
ark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good night sleep.”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Nice suroundings. free Internet and free parking. Room ok. Good food. I chose the hotel on coincidence.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    43
    46
    18
    6
See reviews for
13
44
4
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I'm pretty sure prison cells are bigger then the room I was in. Little sliver of a bed on the wall with some type of pads rather then a mattress and the room smelled so bad of bleach (or worse) that it made me sick. shower and toilette are crammed in a 3x8 area wich was just a joke. Breakfast typical euro lunch meat, some breads and the eggs were white and mushy, kind of looked like oatmeal. Had a jack and coke that night, was only $16! Parking, good luck, theres about ten spaces out back. Nothing really to walk to from here other then the 200 year old crumbling church across the street. I'd never go back. Does the lil "really happy" guy at the counter always need to have his finger or napkin shoved up his nose when there are people in front of him? nasty

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HUSA4342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kungalv hotels

Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We really stayed here in july 2010, but that option wasnt available here. We stayed as a couple and had a friend with us this time, we stayed here before and were then several friends, and we all liked it very much. This hotel has a descent price for being about 15 minutes or so from Gothenburg. The restaurant and bar has really good quality on its food and drinks, but is a bit pricey. They have a really nice area outside, where you could eat, and later in the night drink, along with its live music, and we had great fun with both staff and visitors. The rooms have been quite nice each time, we had a view facing the riverside which I can recommend. The room was clean and well kept and the beds were comfortable, which I think is importent for a good stay. The staff was friendly and breakfast was very good. You should also visit the castle that lies straight across the river from the hotel, its worth the while. We have been coming back and will continue to do so :-)

Room Tip: Facing the river. 3rd floor or up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viccy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarsHatt, Manager at Hotel Fars Hatt, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback. The location as you say, is very appreciated by many guests. Kungalv is a cosy city and if you like to visit Gothenburg is it only 15 minutes away by car or expressbus that stop outside the hotel.
We put a lot effort to offer a wide range of options at breakfast, serving both hot and cold dishes. We are trying offer a menue in the restaurant that fit all guest.
Welcome back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaxjo, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

I do NOT recomend this hotel. We got a non-smoking room but the room was stinking really bad. In the bathroom it was creeps in the shower. The room was not tidy and clean, just the opposite. The breakfast buffet was a big disappointment. Frozen bread and untasty food. Don't go there!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landala71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2008

Stayed one night whilst traveling north through Sweden on business, arrived at 21.35, and requested a table for dinner, web site stated restaurant closed at 23-00, reception informed that the restaurant was closed, when I questioned this, they repeated that the restaurant was closed and it says on the website restaurant closes at 22-00hr!
Confused I was, and still am.
Requested room service or bar snack - unavailable.
Only possibility was McD's.

Single room was small and basic, but adequate for one night.

With the exception of the reception, staff very friendly
Nice breakfast

Overall 4/10.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank AMSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2005

Just 10 kilometers from Gothenburg (so you can enjoy the nightlife there if you want), on a very quiet spot in the small town of Kungälv, you will find this very friendly hotel. The rooms are somewhat different from eachother, but all amply furnished and with good beds. Just the bathrooms can be a bit small. If you want a quiet night, ask so at the reception; in weekends there can be large groups staying at the hotel, but there are enough rooms where you won't hear a sound of that.
The staff is extremely helpfull so do not hesitate to ask everything you want. And the food is excellent, so enjoy breakfast ánd dinner at the hotel. No need to go to Gothenburg! If the weather is okay you can enjoy your meal on the terrace, adjacing the river with all its peace and quiet. No better way to start your holiday!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kungalv
3.2 mi away
Hotel Surte
Hotel Surte
#1 of 1 in Surte
25 reviews
24.4 mi away
Nosunds Vardshus
Nosunds Vardshus
#1 of 1 in Nosund
42 reviews
8.0 mi away
Scandic Backadal
Scandic Backadal
#33 of 67 in Gothenburg
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Stenungsbaden Yacht Club
Stenungsbaden Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in Stenungsund
382 reviews
10.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
2,981 reviews
11.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fars Hatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fars Hatt

Property: Hotel Fars Hatt
Address: 2 Gamla Torget, Kungalv 442 31, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Kungalv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kungalv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fars Hatt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotell Fars Hatt is situated in Kungälv, on the banks of the river Nordre Älv and next to the medieval Bohus fortress, only 15 minutes drive from Göteborg. The hotel is a perfect choice for business- and tourist travellers as well for conference guests.The hotel has a genuine heritage feeling and have long traditions. The rooms are bright feature wooden floors and a flat-screen TV. Free WIFI and free parking. Guests have access 25-metre outdoor pool, two outdoor jacuzzi, sauna and gym.The hotels restaurant has great views of the river and has a very good reputation for its food and service. During summer, guests can try the generous breakfast buffet on the terrace, while free tea and coffee is always on offer.Hotel Rooms: 120. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fars Hatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing