We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not living up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falkenberg Strandbad
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Falkenberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The breakfast was cold,when it should have been warm. Our rooms weren't cleaned on our second day and it was impossible to get in touch with anyone at the front desk to help us. We stay in Falkenberg twice a year,we won't be staying at strandbaden again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredrikJanson, General Manager at Falkenberg Strandbad, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hello and thank you for your review. I was sad when I read about your feeling with our hotel. We work a lot with our employees to be service minded and be there for our guests. Please feel free to contact me so that I can ensure that procedures for cleaning works. We get huge possitvi feedback for our breakfast, and is therefore a little surprised at your experience. I hope you come back so I get the opportunity to showcase our hotel from his right side.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 2,971 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is located at a fantastic sandy beach. The lobby is very nice, with many seating areas. The room had sea view, the decor was very nice (colonial/New England) - the few disadvantages would be that the bathroom needed some updating - especially the shower, and the balcony was small and the plastic chairs on it needed replacement. The view was fantastic! We had booked the "ivory experience" at the spa and it was great. Very well organized and we really enjoyed it! I had also booked a massage which was simply fantastic. We had dinner in the restaurant in the evening and the food was good. Long waiting times, but they did have a wedding the same night as well as a full restaurant and most likely some new staff for the summer season. All in all it was a great experience and I hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room on floor 3 and 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessieno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredrikJanson, General Manager at Falkenberg Strandbad, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hello and thank you for your review. It is important for us to know what our guests think so we can constantly evolve.
How wonderful that you enjoyed with us. We are currently in the process of renovating the bathroom facilities
It has also bought new furniture for the balconies. You are very welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The spa hotel is located in a beautiful location, just a few meters from the sandy beach. The hotel has been renovated in a lovely way a few years ago. From the first minute we entered the lobby, we felt like we were in an old historic luxury hotel with modern charm. The spa area was really nice and clean with comfortable personnell taking good care of you. The lobby was beautiful with the majestic stairs leading to the restaurant. The restaurant was also renovated in a charming and luxurious way with beautiful beach view. This hotel has 4 stars and yes, it could really be a 4 star ++ hotel WHEN they have finished the renovations that is....there is a BUT.

We paid extra to get a sea-view room, and it's definitely worth the money! When entering the room I could just feel the calm atmosphere coming all over me. Such a beautifully renovated room! Small room - but big enough for me and my husband. However, when that is said, it looks like they have NOT renovated the bathrooms since like the 80's.... such a disapointment to enter an old, dirty bathroom with a shower with the tiniest showerhead you can imagine, and with a terrible water pressure! The towels were small, the toilet paper so thin it must have been the cheapest one they could buy, and the shower cabin had mold stains, in addition there was no heating on the floor. From feeling like being in a luxury hotel, we suddenly felt like staying in a dirty motel when being in the bathroom. I asked the reception if any rooms had new bathrooms but got the reply that they only had one room with new bathroom, the others were to come, but when I don't know.
The rooms also have a plastic plant, the one in our room hadn't been cleaned for a while, it was full of dust, so were the paintings as well, so a good cleaning of the room wouldn't hurt.

All in all, this is a beautiful hotel with a very very nice luxury spa department with excellent access to Skrea beach, it's definitely worth a visit, but hope they will prioritise the cleaning and bathrooms sooner than later! Then we will be back again :-)

Room Tip: Sea view room! check their website for great spa/dinner packages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mihanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredrikJanson, General Manager at Falkenberg Strandbad, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014
Google Translation

Hej och tack för ditt omdöme. När det gäller städning blir jag förvånad. vi har en otrolig fokus på detta eftersom det och mat upplevelse är dom 2 viktigaste sakerna som alltid skall var på topp. detta skall jag undersöka asap. Gällande rummen är det så att vi befinner oss i en renoverings period, där vi renovera rum och badrum. Så ni är hjärtligt välkomna tillbaka. Hör av er så skall jag personligen se till att ni får ett renoverat rum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Fantastic location by the sandy beach. Try to get a room with sea-view and a balcony for the sunset relax and something nice to drink. Or for the after beach or the after spa before dinner. Very relaxing and soothing spa. Good and tasty food at the main restaurant. Maybe somewhat small portions if you are hungry. And don't be in a hurry, we had to wait quite a bit for the the starter, the main dish and the dessert. But we had all evening, so it wasn't a major problem, even if the wite wine got a bit luke warm when waiting for the starter. The only dissappointment was that there wasn't any dancing even if there was an announced dance-band playing.

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl-Henrik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredrikJanson, General Manager at Falkenberg Strandbad, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hello and thank you for your review. This is important for us and our improvement work to find out what our guests think of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were stunned when entering the lobby. I was so much better than we expected. The dinner and breakfast buffe was really good. Never before have we ween such a happy and helful staff at any hotel in Sweden. Are they internally trained?
Try the package: lodging, Falkenberg revy, dinner, transportation and breakfast. You get very good value for your money.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea! Take a drink in the lobby bar after dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ulrik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredrikJanson, General Manager at Falkenberg Strandbad, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Hello and thank you for your review. We have fantastic staff who are constantly trying to "see" our guests. We are working very internally with this.I will warm the heart that you feel the staff's attitude. Welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I was charmed by the pictures on the hotel´s website together with the 4* rating, regrettably however, it all turned out to be deceiving. This hotel is outdated and in dire need of massive renovations to properly fall into the 4* category.

I am sure it was once an "elite" hotel as it is popularly known, but those times are long gone. The rooms are extremely small, the beds are the most uncomfortable beds my body has ever laid on, in a so called 4* star hotel, the sanitary ware are stained, the soap dispenser kept falling off with the slightest touch, the windows were dusty and full of cobwebs, the list goes on…The breakfast was largely spread and ok, nothing exceptional. The dinner service was slow, it took an hour to get our food. The staff, on the other hand, were very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: There are two sets of room: with sea view and parking lot view. Make your choice! The sea view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nyenyezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights and were charmed by its calmness. This is a perfect place for SPA in Sweden. It has a good complex of sauna, massage, pool. The hotel has a great beach and most of the rooms have a great view from balconies or verandas. The restaurant is good in the hotel; rooms are clean, but I really did not like service a lot. I would recommend this place for SPA or business trips/conferences.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor with a beach view have verandas allowing to walk out any moment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairyteller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredrikJanson, General Manager at Falkenberg Strandbad, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thanks for your feedback. We are constantly working to improve our service level. Welcome back to see us again. Frederick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falkenberg
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Falkenberg
Grand Hotel Falkenberg
#2 of 3 in Falkenberg
105 reviews
17.6 mi away
Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa
16.8 mi away
Varbergs Kusthotell
Varbergs Kusthotell
#5 of 6 in Varberg
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Vardshuset Hwitan
18.9 mi away
Hotel Tylosand
Hotel Tylosand
#3 of 12 in Halmstad
481 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nya Pallas Hotel
Nya Pallas Hotel
#3 of 13 in Falkenberg
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkenberg Strandbad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkenberg Strandbad

Address: 2A Havsbadsallen | Box 31, Falkenberg 311 42, Sweden (Formerly Elite Hotel Strandbaden)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Falkenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Falkenberg
Price Range: £254 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falkenberg Strandbad 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Falkenberg Strandbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkenberg Strandbaden Hotel Falkenberg
Elite Hotel Falkenberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing