We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant, except....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Norre Park
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Halmstad
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Brilliant, except....”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel and have almost only praise to give. The staff are all super friendly, good breakfast, brilliant location and the rooms are really nice but here comes the only negative and it's the bathroom. It was a bit dated which can be ok but unfortunately the shower cabin walls were not very cleand and there was some mould in the corner between the cabin and the wall and this is the reason I can't give mote than a 3. A shame really.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAD035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    81
    43
    15
    3
See reviews for
37
105
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

When the fancy took us to go on a spontaeous weekend excursion to Halmstad (in winter not exactly a hive of activity), we decided to visit this hotel for one night. Previously under other ownership, this slightly aged place is now part of the Clarion Collection, which positively affects the price, and has the advantage (for those who do not fancy trying their luck with the local restaurant scene at negative 10 degrees with ferocious winds) of including a decent dinner buffet for no aditional cost. Easy 10 min walk from the train station. Interesting clientele from all corners of the world, including some weirdo speed weightlifter chaps on steroids who were passing through for a championship (?). The room out to the back was fine, and the lack of a bathtub was corrected by access to the sauna (out the front door, a few steps to the right, and in through a code-locked door). If for some bizarre reason we ever had to go back to Halmstad, we would go to Norre Park again.

Room Tip: out to the back is preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_J71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one night, for a meeting with my colleagues. It was a very nice experience. Service was excellent, everyone was friendly and welcoming. Also had a few words with the owner Petra. Very friendly! The hotel has a decent relax/gym/sauna, but it´s located across the courtyard so we had a hard time finding it... Ok, the rooms might be a bit old fashioned, and it might be time to redecorate the bathroom, but on the other hand, the rooms (at least mine) are big and clean, and they are a bit more personal than most other hotel rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taximannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassleholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed for a long weekend and looked forward to coming back every evening. The location is excellent, just outside the city wall and overlooking a park. Close to the main pedestrian street with many restaurants, cinema, theatre etc. but without the accompanying noise. Good w/e rate.

Car park felt secure (albeit with narrow access) and the buffet breakfast was good. Especially appreciated was the afternoon tea/coffee/cakes at 3pm and the free evening buffet from 6pm to 9pm. Food was simple, but adequate with a choice of two main dishes and dessert. free tea and coffee available 24/7

The whole atmosphere was relaxed and homely. Comfortable leather chairs and sofa, an out door area with chairs and tables in the summer.

Room was comfortable and well appointed. No sign of any worn or shabby fittings and bathroom/bedroom clean.

Working outdoors, just down the road, I looked forward every afternoon to popping in for a reviving tea/cake and was only 3 minutes from the cinema in the evening. Staff happy to fill a thermos with boiling water everyday.

Look forward to returning the next time I work in Halmstad.

Room Tip: Room 507 on the top floor was quiet (facing west, away from the road with warming evening sun) and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomebamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We rented a junior suite for 1.690 kr per night. All the way from the reception up to the room you can clearly see that this hotel is old and worn. The room was nothing else than a double room, absolutely not a junior suite.

The bathroom was the weakest point with some plastic floor from the beginning of the eighties. The bed was ok but the rest of the furniture were old and ugly. No A/C.

A dirty towel from a previous guest was still lying in the drawer.

The location is very good, close to the city centre and restaurants.

The managing director handled our comments in a professional way afterwards and told us that the hotel was going to be renovated during December 2011.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S-Tobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
194 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

My first stay in Sweden. The hotel room I had was very large and bed comfortable. The unique aspect of the hotel was the self service buffet breakfast and dinner. It felt very relaxed and informal. Bathroom was clean, although the sauna feature in the shower was out of use this didn't affect my enjoyment. 'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronneby, Sweden
Level Contributor
711 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

This hotel is a hidden gem! Positioned just outside Norre Port (the north gate) it is very good positioned just 100 m from the main entertainment street of Halmstad. The hotel have a few parking spots on its inner court but don't try to bring a wide or some other big car since the entrance are very narrow.

The rooms are quite good and some of them very spacious. The check-in desk is not maned 24H but there is personal available one the phone between 23-05 (or something like that).

The hotel has a very small gym with basic equipment. The hotel also provides studio flats for rent which is excellent for a longer stay.

They also provides a free evening buffet which is quite good (soup or some other light hot food and bread, sallads and more). The breakfast is rather good aswell. The hotel does not have a restaurant.

Free internet account comes with the room.

the hotel sometimes also provides evening arrangment such as beer, wine or whiskey testing - a small fee and booking is needed.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halmstad hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
First Hotel Martenson
First Hotel Martenson
#4 of 12 in Halmstad
373 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Tylosand
Hotel Tylosand
#3 of 12 in Halmstad
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SX Hotel Amadeus
SX Hotel Amadeus
#8 of 12 in Halmstad
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sweden Hotels / Hotel Continental
0.4 mi away
Scandic Hallandia
Scandic Hallandia
#5 of 12 in Halmstad
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Norre Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Norre Park

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Norre Park
Address: 7 Norra Vaegen, Halmstad 302 32, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Halmstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Halmstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Norre Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Norre Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing