We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Spa and Rooms, comfy beds but food dissapointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varbergs Kusthotell

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Varbergs Kusthotell
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice Spa and Rooms, comfy beds but food dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Went here for a weekend of Spa and Christmas Food (Christmas smorgasbord) The Hotel is beautifully situated by the sea outside Varberg, the spa facilities were great and the rooms were modern, tastefully decorated and featuring one of the comfiest beds i encountered in a hotel for some time, the spa area albeit not huge was more than adequate with many different saunas and a big salt water pool. The staff were helpful and friendly, The bad side of the stay was the food, the smorgasbord was not very good except for a few dishes, the meatballs and Janson where one of the poorest i have ever tasted, also the breakfast was not great, tasteless bake-off bread and not that many options. The preheats had clearly been around for awhile. Also annoying that you could not put charges to the room bill and they operated cash free so you had to take your creditcard with you everywhere if you liked to have a beer or coffe in the lobby or in the spa.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hahnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    120
    84
    30
    14
See reviews for
47
176
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had booked new year, nice arrangement!
Good place to relax and spend time with frends.
A very nice hotel, with beautifull surroundings.
Not so impessed with the new year meny, little more
festivity....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The proximity to the beach was the best thing about the hotel. Just steps from the sea. Very beautiful surroundings. The room was nothing special, a bit worn. Got the room cleaned one day but not the next, although it unfortunately had withdrawn some sand. In the end, the staff came and swept up the sand when I had asked for a broom to do it myself. Good breakfast with many choices. Fine tuning of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarina56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Very nice hotel, really nothing to complain about. Beautifull surroundings and view over the sea.
Friendly staff, wishing all hotels would be like this. Good place to relax, go for a nice walk in the evening and you 'll be amazed from the surrounding nature.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballerup, Denmark
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Had booked one nights stay with dinner buffet and breakfast buffet. I get the point about this hotel trying to serve healthy dishes and so forth, BUT I was extremely disappointed with the selections on the dinner buffet. There were only 1 fish dish (although Sweden offers some great fishes) and 1 type of meat. The meat was lamb, which I like but my travel companion did not and I know some people have issues with this "wool"-meat. The meat though, was cold, not cold as in not warm but cold as is fridge cold, as was many if the other dishes (which I believe would be best served hot). This gave the result that you really couldn't taste anything and the dishes became very uninteresting. When you get in from a windy semi-cold October day, all you really want is a great hot meal, but this we did not get. The breakfast buffet didn't have some of the classics, such as bacon, sausages, pancakes/pastry which I think was sad. If it's against the hotel concept then might want to offer some healthier options but in the same style, e.g. turkey bacon, sausages with many vegetables, etc.
The hotel itself is very nice and the staff is very kind. There is a spa which I think was really nice, we went there around 8pm and had it almost to ourselves. I really don't have anything bad to say about the rooms, surroundings and so on, but personally the food is a deal breaker for me and unfortunately I don't see myself returning any time soon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Me and my spouse were there around midsommer 2013. We had a 2 nights stay with full board. So we ate at the restaurant in total. 2xdinner 2xbreakfast 1xlunch.

Location: its directly at the beach with a lovely view to the sand and the sea. Theres a walking path/biking lane running past the hotel and into Varberg. Its a very nice walk. Just beware of the crazy bikers/rollerskaters.

Parking: Lots of parking options at the hotel. We stayed at a bungalow. Villa Apelviken and apparently you have to have a parking permit given to you by the hotel. Noone told us that upon check in. So we just parked there not paying attention to the sign which was placed a bit away from the parking lots. Fortunately some of the other guests warned us. They just got a 600 SEK parking fine!!

Spa: We went there for the Spa ....and the sea ofcourse. Unfortunately it was real scandinavian summer meaning cold and rainy and around 16 degrees. The spa area had a lot of outdoor seatings so you could go and sunbathe outside....if it wasnt so cold. There were a large warm water pool. Swedish sauna, steambath. A cold bath and whirlpool. It wasnt so crowded which was good because the area was a bit small. We didnt try the spa treatment.

Restaurant: the food was good. Buffet at all servings. They also had a menu but that wasnt included in the full board. Breakfast buffet was good, the dinner buffet could have been better. They somehow missed a bit out on the salads. Salad of the day was a green salad which consisted of only green leaves and a bit of olive oil. The vegetables were oily and a bit overcooked. Lunch buffet was better than the dinner.

Rooms: the rooms at villa apelviken were nice and spacious. Nothing luxiorous though and looked like any chain hotel room. The big disadvantage was that our room was somehow internet resistant meaning that we had whatsoever no connection to the wifi. As soon as we went outside the room we had full signal. I adressed this to the reception but they just shrugged and said that I had to go to the lobby. We didnt miss the wifi connection as we werent there to surf the internet but I just think they should state that they have wifi connection all over the hotel when that isnt true.

Service: Service throughout the hotel was fine nothing special. The staff was professional though somehow not really that serviceminded. But I think its normal scandinavian standard

Positive:
- location
- The Spa
- The breakfast

Negative
-The dinner
- lack of Wifi connection
- parking restrictions which arent informed upon arrival

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Came all the way from South Africa and have never experienced a hotel as beautiful, peaceful, or accommodating as this one. The staff were incredibly friendly and the food was heavenly! The breads and the deserts hit the spot, however, they never made us feel guilty. The salad buffet was exceptional, with tremendous variety! The restaurant staff were prompt, dedicated, and downright lovely. An overall picture perfect experience. We will definitely recommend Sweden, Varberg, Kurort to our friends and family in South Africa!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 86ems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varberg
1.2 mi away
Varberg Stadshotell & Asia Spa
1.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten
16.8 mi away
Falkenberg Strandbad
Falkenberg Strandbad
#1 of 3 in Falkenberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotell Havanna
Hotell Havanna
#3 of 6 in Varberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotell Gastis
Hotell Gastis
#4 of 6 in Varberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apelvikens Camping
Apelvikens Camping
#6 of 6 in Varberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varbergs Kusthotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varbergs Kusthotell

Property: Varbergs Kusthotell
Address: 5 Nils Kreugers Vaeg | Box 152, Varberg, Varberg Municipality 432 53, Sweden (Formerly Comwell Varbergs Kurort)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Varberg Municipality > Varberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Varbergs Kusthotell 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Varbergs Kusthotel. Nowhere is the spa tradition more important than at Varbergs Kusthotell on Sweden's west coast. There has been spa activity here for more than 200 years and the guests continue to pour in as much for the experience as for the innovative ideas. We believe that is one of the reasons we have received awards such as Europe's Best Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Varbergs Kusthotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing