We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great staff, wonderful spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great staff, wonderful spa”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I have stayed in this hotel many times and I really, really love it! The rooms are lovely, very comfortable and nicely decorated and the new Boutique rooms are fab. A wonderful touch to receive fruit and chocolate when you arrive!

The staff could not be more helpful! Always very friendly and highly professional. You have a feeling that they will go out of their way to make your stay a good one.

The spa on the top floor is out of this world with all its wonderful facilities. So, so relaxing and with beautiful sea views. You feel immediately that much thought and care has gone into designing the spa for an ultimate experience. There are candles and little Buddha statues everywhere and plenty of areas full of sumptouos cushions for total relaxation and meditation. This is a place for ultimate relaxation!

The location is also fantastic, in the centre of Varberg and very close to the beach and fortress. Easy access from Gothenburg or Copenhagen.

So all in all - brilliant! And can't wait to get back there!

Room Tip: Try the new Boutiqe Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie5606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    141
    40
    12
    1
See reviews for
59
195
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
575 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is probably the best hotel in Varberg, which, however, does not say very much. My wife and I stayed in the hotel in one of the somewhat strangely decorated double rooms. If it was only for the rooms (anyway the room we got) the overall rating would have been better. What lowered the rating was the front desk and the food (that was included in our one night stay). The front desk staff was not rude or very bad, but not very nice and accommodating. The food was at the very best okay. We had three meals there and none of the meals were even close to being good. It's a shame as Varberg is a very nice small west coast town, that if you have the time you should visit for at least a day or so.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GothenburgProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The reception area was nice, stylish and modern so we hoped the room would be too.
Checking in we learned that using the pool was not included in the price of the room. Perhaps we should have looked that up before the stay but considering the steep price of the room it should have been included......

The homepage say that the classic rooms have a modern décor but the double room was small and the furniture was dark and felt old and worn. On the plus side there was an iron and an ironing board in the room and a makeup mirror in the bathroom.

The bathroom was recently renovated and was nice. But there were soap containers on the walls in the bathroom and no other products which we found strange for a spa hotel. The beds were quite comfortable but the pillows were really lumpy.

We had views overlooking the backyard/courtyard and all you could really see was windows since the hotel was built around this yard.

The minibar contained two bottles of fizzy water and two soft drinks and that was it.

Breakfast was ok but not fantastic. Good selection of bread, cereal and so on and it was kept fresh. But there was nothing sweet to finish with like a croissant or a Danish.

We were expecting something better for the price we paid; next time we will try another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totte40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
203 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Everything else is however... they have some of the BEST coffee and service, the breakfast fabulous and the location is superb... However, the rooms in the old section don't have full length mirrors and the hair dryers are dinosaurs and wall hung ironing boards are just tacky. Friends were in the new section while I was in the old, and if you could take the best of both you would definitely have a 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old section, the heritage side and if you are up to comparing, ask to move! Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnclaire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have stayed a couple of times at this hotel and it's always welcoming. As an old "Stadshotell" it's situated smack in the middle of things at the main city square. Both check-in and check-out was carried out smoothly.

The rooms are of a good size and comfortable. On this last visit we stayed in a standard room instead of something a bit bigger, but still had plenty of space for the crib we needed for our kid. The only let down was that both of us felt the beds were a bit too soft - not good with a slight back problem.

Due to refurbishing the lobby and bar has been changed since the last time we were here but it was still a nice and relaxed environment.

Breakfast was served in a temporary room and lacked a little in good ambience to be honest while the breakfast itself was OK but not extra-ordinary.

The highlight (especielly on a rainy day) for us as a family with children was the play room. really well equipped and an instant hit with the 16 month son of ours.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed here at two occasions for business. The hotel is in the very central part of Varberg, 5 mn from train station. The first time, I was allotted a standard room in the "old" part of the hotel. Room was cramped, a bit outdated and nothing to write home about.

The second time, I got a room in the "new" part of the hotel (the building is old and not intuitive when moving around), a so called boutique room. Boy, what a difference. Although the view from my window (8th floor) was nothing - an uninteresting patio - the room was probably the most well-equipped I have experienced. Nespresso machine with plenty of capsules, of course. A shoe care-box, very nice. An additional door to close from the inside in order to shut out the noise. A very spacious bathroom, almost too spacious as it shrinks the size of the bedroom, with innovative lighting, waterfall shower from the ceiling etc. The bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast was good though not extraordinary. Dinner at hotel was pricey but decent. Nice lobby to hang out for a glass or bottle. Unfortunately, I did not have time to try the spa.

Room Tip: Ask for a boutique room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poha8990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

If you book the new "boutique" rooms you will enjoy your stay? A bit pricy but worth it? Very nice equipped rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varberg
1.2 mi away
Varbergs Kusthotell
Varbergs Kusthotell
#5 of 6 in Varberg
363 reviews
17.6 mi away
Falkenberg Strandbad
Falkenberg Strandbad
#1 of 3 in Falkenberg
2,472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotell Havanna
Hotell Havanna
#3 of 6 in Varberg
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotell Gastis
Hotell Gastis
#4 of 6 in Varberg
144 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apelvikens Camping
Apelvikens Camping
#6 of 6 in Varberg
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa

Property: Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa
Address: 24-26 Kungsgatan, Varberg, Varberg Municipality 432 41, Sweden (Formerly BEST WESTERN Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Varberg Municipality > Varberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing