We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, odd little hotel”
Review of Hotell Gastis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotell Gastis
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Stayed in the wedding suite for two nights when we got married. Not your typical suite, but I absolutely loved it. A very old room, situated in the basement of one of the houses. Looks like a combination of a dungeon and a living room, with plenty of room and a very comfy bed :). The best thing however was the bathroom. A big, blue tiled bathtub with room for two people - could have stayed there all weekend.
The staff is very friendly, breakfast and dinner buffé is great (and always included in the price)
And the Lenin bath/spa on the bottom floor/basement is definitely worth a visit. I wish we had had the time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayweed79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2008

What a surprise, we arrived at this hotel tired and hungry, it was an unusual looking building, and I was not sure about it when entering the lobby, we had to climb a windy stairs but we were greeted by a very friendly gentleman who immediately offered us tea. We enquired about evening meals as there was a great aroma from the dining room and he said that we could go and have dinner straight away. We had an excellent buffet style dinner, there was a great variety to suit all tastes, hot or cold, obviously very well prepared. It was delicious. It was the most unusual hotel I ever stayed in, something different to look at, at every level and corner, collections of books everywhere and plenty of places to roam. Our room was very comfortable the kids had a camp bed each, plenty of space, really clean with a lovely ensuite. Great family run hotel - you can't beat the personal touch!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank corkruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Monika X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jörgen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lillian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Mikael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank baronnies26170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varberg
0.1 mi away
Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa
1.3 mi away
Varbergs Kusthotell
Varbergs Kusthotell
#5 of 6 in Varberg
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotell Havanna
Hotell Havanna
#3 of 6 in Varberg
179 reviews
17.7 mi away
Falkenberg Strandbad
Falkenberg Strandbad
#1 of 3 in Falkenberg
3,200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apelvikens Camping
Apelvikens Camping
#6 of 6 in Varberg
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Gastis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Gastis

Address: 1 Borgmaestaregatan, Varberg, Varberg Municipality 432 41, Sweden (Formerly Ditt Hotell-Hotell Gastis)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Varberg Municipality > Varberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varberg
Price Range: £102 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotell Gastis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotell Gastis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing