We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Bed and Breakfast !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Okens Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Varberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Loved the owners, they were very personable and waited for us (as we were running late) before closing for the night.

They gave us directions for the free car parking garage as well. They also told us how to enjoy a long walk around town and it was just as wonderful as they described it.

The only complaint I had was the stairs were hard to go up and down with a suitcase. However the owner helped us with that!

The room was small but lovely, very well decorated and extremely clean. Pillows are too flat for my taste.

There was a wonderful courtyard to sit in and read your book and have a cup of coffee. We got the coffee from down the street and enjoyed the courtyard to our selves.

The breakfast was modest but very good.

We certainly would go back, and would recommend this to our friends. Did I mention the price was very fair.

Room Tip: Get a room with a courtyard view. Very quiet and so relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2010

Stayed a few weeks ago in Sept and loved it. Gert and Diba were great. I was traveling on business, so you may not have some of the usual business amenities, but was nice to feel like home. If you visit in the warmer months, be sure to walk down to the beach area. Also, plenty of nice places to go eat in town. Nice location. Carrying my large luggage up the narrow spiral staircase would be my only complaint, but well worth a few minutes of struggle for a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjplus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We stayed 3 nights at Okéns with our 2 small children. The room was nice, perhaps a bit more worn and torn than what the pictures on the website indicate. There were (minor?) things that were annoying, i.e. there was no shower cabinet so the water was all over the floor when you finished showering. There was a wardrobe but that was for hanging clothes only which meant that we had to live out of our bags for our stay. Nor was there anywhere but the floor to place our bags.
This b&b is not child-friendly. There is no elevator and the breakfast room is quite "cozy" which means the couples who want to read their newspapers might not appreciate the toddler's babbling.
We were greeted by a young employee who repeated several times within 3 minutes that she was leaving and on her way out. I was a bit put off by this. We had no intention of taking more than those 3 minutes of her time and saying once that she was leaving would have sufficed. In that regard, I would not say there was a bed and breakfast feel to the place. We never figured out who the owners were which is, in my opinion, part of the experience of a b&b.
On that note, I would recommend Okéns to couples/romantic getaways for a night or 2. The location is great--an easy walk to everywhere. There were ear plugs in the bathroom to drown out the noise from the busy street. The town of Varberg is charming, the fortress interesting, and the restaurant Bodegas a must!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahVA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

We stayed at the okens B&B for one night,but would have loved to stayed more. The room(#11) was realy nice, with a brand new bathroom. Not big but with everything you need. The location of Okens is exelent if you need to go with the ferry to Grenaa Denmark, its just a minute away.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kms_denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2005

Stayed in Varberg for a wedding. The B&B was lovely - fresh and bright rooms, decorated in simple white and creams.

The owners couldn't have been more helpful (our friends had a newly born baby and were lent the only hotel kettle to warm the baby's bottle!).

Easy walking distance of station, town centre, port and fort.

Wouldn't hesitate in recommending it.

7  Thank Roseybud73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: Inget för den som vill ha absolut tystnad, men det finns öronproppar på rummet om man vill ha.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna-Leena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ta rum mot gården för att slippa trafik
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pernillar168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Varbergs Stadshotell & Asia Spa
1.3 mi away
Varbergs Kusthotell
Varbergs Kusthotell
#5 of 6 in Varberg
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Fregatten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotell Gastis
Hotell Gastis
#4 of 6 in Varberg
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotell Havanna
Hotell Havanna
#3 of 6 in Varberg
169 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apelvikens Camping
Apelvikens Camping
#6 of 6 in Varberg
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okens Bed & Breakfast

Address: 25 Vaestra Vallgatan, Varberg, Varberg Municipality 432 41, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Halland County > Varberg Municipality > Varberg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Varberg
Price Range: £110 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Okens Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family run hotel in the heart of Varberg. While you are staying here, you will enjoy a warm and comfortable atmosphere, which will make you feel right at homeThe hotel is within walking distance of everything in Varberg...The Fort, the Square, cafes and restaurants and the ocean.Our rooms are romantically furnished with canopy beds and their own personal touches.The hotel has free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Okens Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing