We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem in city forest”
Review of Torpet Mon

Torpet Mon
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torpet Mon
Ranked #10 of 25 Gothenburg B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in city forest”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed at Torpet Mon for one night the end of April. It was the last night of a week long road trip / holiday around Sweden.

Hotel was easy to find. Sat nav got me to the street and from there it was sign posted with lamp post signs and a wooden sign from the car park. It was only a minute away from the car park which at this time of year was free but I think it is chargeable in the summer months.

The hotel itself is a a large house set in a city park / forest. It was a nice peaceful location. I was greeted by the owner / manager who I think is called Patrik. Nice, friendly guy. He pointed out which room I was in, Room 2. This room was a double with En suite. Everything about the room was great. Bed was really comfortable and the general feel to the room made you feel nice and relaxed. Free WiFi worked perfectly which was perfect for using Skype to contact home. Very good selection of snacks and drinks in the bedside cabinets which were very reasonably priced.

Bathroom was nice. Good hot shower and a toilet which was different to any other I have seen before. It had 2 sections to it. Number one's in the front section and everything else in the back. Like a urinal and toilet in one. The hotel has its only water supply so this design cuts down on large flushes when they just aren't necessary.

Even though it was pouring with rain I went for a walk around the park. Nice place with lots of facilities, sports areas and grill areas. I can imagine it would be a good place to be in the summer.

I made use of the free nespresso machine which is in the entrance lobby. Good selection of pods / flavours to choose from.

Breakfast was an almost unbelievable assortment of cereals, jams and spreads. Also on offer was a huge selection of teas with tester pots so u can sniff before you brew. The usual Swedish selection of bread, cheese and meats were also on offer. The breakfast room was really cosy. I liked the open fire app
running on the mounted iPad, nice touch.

Patrik was around during breakfast time. Nice and chatty and sorted out my payment without being asked to.

Overall a great place to stay whether it's for the one night before heading to Landvetter airport like I did or for a city break in Gothenburg.

Thanks

Ian Luscombe - Birmingham, UK

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianluscombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
13
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Having visited Gothenburg a few times previously, I wanted something different then the corporate hotels that are the main stay here.

Torpet Mon came up well on reviews, so booked via a 3rd party site.

Knowing I would be late arriving I had already made contact with Patrick the manager and discussed room options.

I did arrive late, later then anticipated due to a delayed flight, and although I found the road it took a goo 20 mins of driving around before finding the signs indicating where the B&B is, up a track from a car park.

Going by a previous review I ignored the car park and drove right outside the hotel, which has plenty of room for 4 or 5 cars, and no one told me for while I was here :)

Walking in, your name is on a board indicating which room your in, with key in the door.

I was in room 2, which was pleasantly decorated with a nautical theme, and en-suite bathroom.

It was small, but cosy, no issue for me, as was the bathroom, but at 6'3", it was fine.

There are a arrange of snacks and drinks in the room, some free, some at a small price, which were nice. Toiletries are an up market Swedish brand and free, and there is 24 hr free coffee from a machine downstairs.

I was here for 5 nights, and in the morning had a late breakfast, which was great. A very big choice of cereal, fruit, bread etc.

Now it was light I could take a proper look around and see just how quaint this house is, on its own in the middle of the woods.

You can see the love and care the owners put into the place.

I enjoyed my time at Torpet Mon, it was something different to a corporate hotel, more desecrate, but the owners will not disturb you. Best for those with transport, although there is a bus and tram service within walking distance.

If you would like to stay somewhere unique, different, modern decor but in character and have a greta breakfast - you should try here.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique, talk to the owners before you arrive to pick what suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdzzzPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sodertalje, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I arrived at Torpet Mon in the dark and was unable to find the hotel to start with as it is tucked in a wood, however after calling I managed to locate the drive and got a lovely welcome.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to get away from it, even though I was working in Molndal for 2 days I really felt I was able to relax and have a lovely stay away from home.

Thank you for making me feel so welcome and I am sure I will be back soon.

Lucy Robertshaw

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Torpet Mon is set in a lovely part of Gothenburg, within an easy drive to the downtown area. Within a woodland setting, the property is well cared for and quaint. The breakfast offered a wonderful range of breads, jams, and cereals, etc in a clean, cosy breakfast room.
The downside is that whilst our room was ensuite, both the room and the ensuite were very small. Indeed as a 1.75m tall man I found it very difficult to get near the toilet pan which was nestled under a sloping roof. Also the wifi didn't work,which the owner said was being addressed that week end, and whilst the bed was large, it was too big for the room resulting too little space for luggage etc.
One tip - on driving to Torpet Mon the sign says park in the public car park and walk to the house which is over 200m away along a track that is not easy to carry luggage. Ignore the sign and go to the Torpet Mon house where there is private parking.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBloomsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed for two nights and agree with other reviewers very nice location, easy to manage if have a car or bicycle, fantastic breakfast, best I had on whole trip with great choice, very clean and decor while modern very much in keeping with age of house retaining character. Only downside was lack of a comfortable chair either in room or a lounge for guests but host did make an effort to make me as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
285 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

In the middle of the forest in a lovely old house with a nice garden (with a small terrass) you find Torpet Mon. With a car you are in 7 minutes down town Goteborg (but you need the car!). The rooms are very small and the toilet/bathroom is in the hallway but the whole place is very cosy. The speciality is the breakfast. In a lovely room with so much to choice. We really liked it....!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Tucked away in a lightly wooded area you would think you were "in middle of nowhere" but in fact you are very close to Gothenburg. We drove our car from there to the local sports center a few minutes away (free parking) and then boarded the tram - 30-45mins you could be in the city center.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
2.4 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
First Hotel Kviberg Park
First Hotel Kviberg Park
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Balder Bed & Breakfast
Villa Balder Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 25 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
3.2 mi away
Linneplatsens Hotell & Vandrarhem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torpet Mon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torpet Mon

Property: Torpet Mon
Address: 10 Brudaremossen, Gothenburg 416 55, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Torpet Mon 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torpet Mon is open throughout the year, every detail has been carefully refurbished to match the ambiance of the old building using modern,low-impact and sober solutions. You will enjoy a good night’s sleep in easeful sheets under the stars, and the next morning you can spoil yourself with a hearty brunch or simply just enjoy the serenity of the place - in the middle of the forest and the city at the same time. In the proximity you will find Skatas training facility and conference center with a gym, nature trails, golf course and the family friendly lakes Delsjon and Harlanda tjarn where you can go for a cooling swim. Gothenburg Convention Center, Ullevi and Scandinavium sports arenas and Liseberg amusement park are about 30 minutes walking distance from us. If you prefer to use the public transportation it will take you only 5 minutes on tram number 5 to reach the destination. You are more than welcome to the croft at the hill… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Torpet Mon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing