We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Setting on the Water, but Quite Basic Amenities and Service”
Review of Dockyard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dockyard Hotel
Ranked #47 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nice Setting on the Water, but Quite Basic Amenities and Service”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Pro's: Nice waterfront location. Cozy and intimate split level room: entrance with very small bathroom, sitting area w/fridge and coffee maker, separate sleeping area. Excellent restaurant for lunch and dinner; the complimentary breakfast is OK. Nice staff overall. Free parking (a premium in Gothenburg!) and free Wi-Fi (but only for one device). Quiet area.

Con's: Hard to find, you need a GPS. Accommodations seem geared to the Swedish conference crowd (I'm a Swedish native so I should know). Not much to do on walking distance and public transport seems a long trek (we had a rental car, highly recommended). Tiniest bathroom I've seen in a long time! No climate control beyond heating and opening the windows (no mosquito nets). Complimentary breakfast only served until 9:00 a.m. on weekdays - pretty stingy for people on holiday! Note that the rooms are not cleaned during short stays (we stayed 3 nights) - towels changed every other day though.

Room Tip: There are several different buildings - we were in 23A and it was really quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraderBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    98
    42
    21
    11
See reviews for
37
76
11
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

very nice and clean hotel, helpful staff, the breakfast is good and plentiful, available in our room there was a kitchenette, very useful to cook something. Unfortunately is 1km far by walk from the tram stop Nya Varvsallén. In the restaurant the menus written on chalkboards are only in Swedish, not in English, but this is also in all the structures in Gothenburg. If we'll return to Goteborg we'll definitely stay again at Nya Varvet Studios, nice stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrookedPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed 6 nights in family 2-etage room (4 adults).We came to watch European Open U-19 handball tournament in Gothenburg. We had a rented car so there was no problem to drive to the hotel. We recomanded visiting the tivoli Liseberg and Universeum!
Rooms was OK - clean, large, comfortable. The only problem was a broken bed - and it took 2 days to repair it...but staff was helpful and very pleasant. The breakfest was very tasty (served until 10:00 and not up 9:00 ).
Staying at the hotel was very comfortable surrounded by history...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12345jab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was very quiet, and our family room was very comfortable. The fridge and cook top allowed us to save some money on the expensive restaurants in Gothenburg. Breakfast was very tasty and the staff was helpful as we planned our trips into the city and around the islands. One problem, however...in a four day stay our room was never cleaned.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antityco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

we stayed 2 nights in an ocean view studio apartment with 2 rooms. which worked perfect for our family of 2 adults and 2 small children. well equipped kitchen. rooms were OK clean. hotel quiet and located in a small harbour 5 km from Gothenburg / Göteborg. Best reached by car. There is app. 3 restaurants in the area and an ICA supermarket. good breakfast. Small playground near the hotel, suited for smaller children. I would stay here again when. I can also recommend visiting the tivoli Liseberg, but if you visit on weeekends, expect long waiting time to the attractions. 45 min for the biggest ones .... Universeum next to Liseberg was excellent and really worth the money, we spend 4 hours there but could have spend 2 more, if we had the time.

Room Tip: I think the best rooms are the ones named ocean xxx and are located in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnerSpinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This is not a Hotel. It is a Hostel. The only difference is that you will have private a room and pay for a hotel price. They clean the rooms after 7 days of you staying at the hotel. Towels are changed each 2 days. There is no room service, telephone devices, iron, hair dryer at the rooms. Everything is community. I stayed in a building 4 blocks from the reception. Even local taxi drivers do not know very well the buidlings, so when you call a cab, they will wait for you at the front desk building. Many local drivers informed me that this is the wrost hotel in the city The breakfast is OK, but very far from the city. Very disappointed. Never again.

Room Tip: No. I do not have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nivea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
Good Morning+ Goteborg City
#23 of 67 in Gothenburg
594 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#17 of 67 in Gothenburg
530 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotell Barken Viking
Hotell Barken Viking
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
4.5 mi away
Hotel Orgryte
Hotel Orgryte
#48 of 67 in Gothenburg
67 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#14 of 67 in Gothenburg
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dockyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockyard Hotel

Property: Dockyard Hotel
Address: Skeppets Arans Vag 23, Building 37 | Västra Frölunda, Gothenburg 426 71, Sweden (Formerly Nya Varvet Studios)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dockyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dockyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing