We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big....VERY big!”
Review of Gothia Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gothia Towers
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This hotel used to be Scandinavia's biggest. After renovations soon to commence and a third tower being built it will reclaim it's position again. I am not usually a big fan of huge hotels but this one is definitely one of the better ones. Nice, but small rooms. Terrible pillows are a minus. Our room didn't have towels when we arrived but the cleaner organized that straight away on request. She also organizes extra (just as bad) pillows. Staff at reception were very efficient, friendly and helpful. So was the concierge who organized a doctors appointment for us by making 4 phone calls since my partner got sick during our trip to Göteborg. The breakfast buffet is VERY good, they got everything. Except nice coffee ;). We had booked a summer deal so payed only 1400SEK ($215 US) for two people 2 nights including breakfast. Very good value! Great location too overlooking the amusement park Liseberg.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielSkold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1,480 - 1,486 of 5,369 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2011

This was my first time in Sweden and I enjoyed ny stay.The hotel is newish,clean and efficient.I only had breakfast in the hotel and it's a brilliant breafast buffet,every day I went there i promised myself a light meal.never happened,breakfast 10/10.
The staff are the next best thing.Every member of staff I dealt with were very friendly,polite and couldn't do enough to help,always cheerful.
The bedrooms are tidy,the bed was comfortable but whats with the square pillows?,maybe a Scandanavian thing,larger pillows would have been nice.Iron and ironing board in bedroom was handy.
One minor drawback were the lifts if it was busy.I was on the 10th floor and had to wait a while on a lift at breakfast time.
Well done to this hotel,breakfast and the staff are outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turlough123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Getting to the hotel at 3:30 PM I learned after 30 minutes in line to check in that the room was not ready, and that the person responsible for booking a garage spot had failed in doing so. We met up with a friend and his kids staying at the same place, and we tried again 30 minutes later as told, and discovered the rooms was still not ready at 4:30, even with a check-in time at 3 PM. Apparently they has a lot of guests, and was not able to handle this. Having so far spent an hour waiting in line with two small kids, we decided to leave the luggage with the hotel and walk over to Liseberg across the road.

We got back around 7 PM, checked in, and left the luggage in the room, and went off to the sky bar for something to eat. Learning this place was first come, first served based with no one responsible for seating, we went to their italian restaurant.

It took three hours to get through our meal, and by then we had cancelled dessert, and like quite a few other guests was rather unhappy with it all.
It took some time before we got our seating, according to the manager she had been looking for us three times, something we found incredible as we had been sitting in view of the reception all the time, and never noticed her even walking down in the bar area.
We was also told that the kitchen was delayed because there had been so many guests coming in just before us. Again with our view of the reception we knew how many people had actually entered in the 45 minutes we were waiting. Spending another 45 minutes getting bread on the table was really not impressive.

Getting back to the hotel, we found remnants of the previous guests in a few places. Pubes on the night table and various stains was one thing, but seeing the big brown traces in the toilet of the previous guest was just not acceptable. It was very clear the room had not been cleaned at all. I brought this to the attention of the reception, and while they apologized, nothing was done about this, so I terminated my stay, and found another hotel which proved a lot more satisfactory. I am not going back to Gothia Towers after this experience.

Best regards


  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zabeltann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Getting to Hotel:
400 Kr fixed price taxi took under 25 minutes.

Next to amusement park. Easy walking distance to nearby restaurants and main Avenue.

Fast. Friendly. Smooth. Requested quiet room on high floor and got room on 18th floor of West Tower.

Several. Sometimes very crowded and slow but usually pretty fast.

Smallish room with one queen size bed. Because of tight space TV suspended above desk made for awkward viewing angle.

Three reading lights.
Firm mattress.
Very clean.

Along one all.
Blackout current effective at blocking sunlight.

View From Room:
Sports complex. Downtown and suburbs in distance.

Room Lighting:

Noise Level In Room:
Very quiet as promised.

Drawer and Cabinet Space:
Good sized closet.

Shower with one of the best fitting shower doors I have seen in a hotel.
Good lighting.
Very basic amenties.
Water pressure strong.
Hot water was reliably hot.

Room Cleanliness:
Quite clean.
No smoke smell - truly smoke free.

Air Conditioning:
Couldn't get it to work but it wasn't really needed due to cool outside temperatures.

Free wireless and wired. Wireless was more reliable but wired had better speed.

One at desk and one by bed.

One small couch but due to limited space in room and odd TV angle not very practical.

Notepad and pencil.
Limited surface with TV overhead.
Good working height.
Good lighting at desk.
Power sockets at desk height.
Basic work chair - not adjustable and not very comfortable.

Smaller CRT type suspended overhead.
Sleep function non-operative.
Several channels with English shows dubbed in Swedish.

Alarm Clock:
Wake up service by calling reception. On time almost all days. One day power went out and that caused some disruption following morning.

Yes, with trouser press.




Morning Newspaper At Door:

Limited space in mini-bar.


Microwave Oven:

Tea and Coffee:

Drinking Water:
None provided - bought my own.

Room Service:
Did not use.

Turn Down Service:

Restaurant - Breakfast:
Self service buffet with all the basics.
Very busy at times but large so it was easy to find place to sit.

Restaurant - At top of west tower.
Restaurant at top floor had very fast service at lunch but very slow service at dinner.
Food quality very good but prices seemed a bit high.

None. One stairstepper and one cycling machine near Sauna but no real excercise facility. Went running outside but had to cross several streets before getting out to nearby suburbs/park.

None. Offered access to nearby gym/pool for 45 Kr but didn't try it.

Did not use.

Polite and very helpful and efficient.

Check Out:
Fast and efficient.

Return to Airport:
Taxi arranged for 0530 got to airport in 25 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for large room if possible. Small rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ymff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Perfect location
Nice room
Kindly staff
Fantastic breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siss2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We had a good stay at the Gothia Towers. The rooms in the newer wing are a standard size and furnished in a very scandinavian way. Some pictures would have helped provide some character. The bathrooms were clean and modern with a shower only. The free wi-fi worked quite well which was good. The breakfast was served in a number of very large and impersonal dining rooms - you felt you were at a conference (the hotel is also a conference venue and is subsequently, huge!). I think more could be done to think about this for people staying on leisure. The food at breakfast was ok but could have been better. The bar, Heaven 23 has great views, although as with all of Gothenburg it is expensive. Liseberg amusement park is opposite. Recommend you buy a Gothenburg City Card as you can save quite a bit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Friendy staff, nice rooms and a good location. It's really a good hotel and I would love to stay there again. Don't miss the restaurant Heaven23 located on 23rd floor. Great view and great food!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdTrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 64 in Gothenburg
924 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#15 of 64 in Gothenburg
3,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#5 of 64 in Gothenburg
1,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#43 of 64 in Gothenburg
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gothia Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothia Towers

Address: Massans gata 24 | Box 5184, Gothenburg SE-40226, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#3 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#7 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £101 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gothia Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gothia Towers have 1141 rooms & suites and 5 restaurants and bars and is located in central Gothenburg, right in the thick of things on Korsvagen, just a couple of blocks from the restaurants and nightclubs on fashionable Avenyn. We are close to the city centre with excellent transport links, right next to Scandinavia's biggest amusement park Liseberg, Scandinavium and everything the entertainment district has to offer. Guest have free access to gym and there is a supplement to visit Upper House Spa. A warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Gothia Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gothia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing