We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, but crowded breakfast service”
Review of Gothia Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gothia Towers
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great view, but crowded breakfast service”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here one night travelling through Gothenburg. The location is really great and the view overlooking the Liseberg amusement park is wonderful.

The rooms were great, but breakfast service was very crowded and disorganized. But all in all, we'll be back:)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterjbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,140
    1,533
    681
    232
    113
See reviews for
1,677
1,307
114
1,073
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The location of this hotel cannot be faulted with easy access to the city & very close to the Lisberg. I usually stay here when I am in Gothenburg on business as facilities are good, rooms, whilst a bit small are more than adequate. Bathroom in room was a bit "tired" and pillows could be better, but at least you can make a cup of tea or coffee in your room. Excellent extensive buffet breakfast. Lifts can be slow. Not often you find a hotel which caters well for families & business travel in the same location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

You cannot beat the location of Gothia Towers. There is a bus/tram station right outside the exit. But also it is within a 20min walking distance of the centre of town. If you're looking for a bit of fun the Liseberg amusement park is on the other side of the street and the Universum Rainforest/Zoo is also in the vicinity. The rooms are nice, nothing extraordinare, but what you expect from a hotel this class and price range. If you a lucky enough to get a room on one of the higher floors, you'll have an outstanding view of the city. In any case give yourself the experience of going to the restaurant and bar at the top floor. Service was outstanding and all requests was met with a smile, and rooms was always kept clean.

Room Tip: As high as possible with view of city and harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank werli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

They first impressions are everything. Well on arriving at Hotel our reservation was confirmed but our other family member was not listed as arriving until 2 days later in spite of the fact we had confirmation from our agent. They said hotel was full.We were tired and after 30 minutes getting minutes of getting very upset and my daughter saying she needed to sleep after a long journey and did they want her to sleep on the floor they eventually allocated a room. They said a manager would be on duty the next morning.

My wife checked our room which had a dreadfull outlook over roofs and considering we were staying for 10 days this was not on. They again aventually allocated us a room with a decent view.

As to the rooms they are acceptable and clean and typical of Swedish decor and thus functional.

Is this 5 star. Not really.

We then asked about getting an evening meal and were told their restaurants were fully booked but we could try turning up. We tried the Italian and they asked if we had booked and kept us waiting ansd then said they had a table. When we sat down many tables were empty and never got occupied. As to the food this was not exactly typical Italian and somewhat off the wall stuff more like Heston Blumental. Taking into account we were tired and had a bad reception experience we had hoped for something better now. However the service was snail pace and food portions sosmewhat minute and pricey. Would I recommend their Italian restaurant, No.

The next morning at reception again no manager available and it seems the front reception staff have to deal with everything and frankly this was just not good customer relations and we were let down from the onset.

breakfast was acceptable and good quality and some of the staff both friendly and helpful.

Overall this Hotel seems more geared to conferences and so probably they do not to worry to much about individual travellers and the service they require.

We tried eating out and the service and quality were far superior and prices much lower.

Room Tip: Make sure you get rooms overlooking the Liseberg grounds and on highest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Hotel Gothia Towers is a spectacular hotel in a great location, right across from Liseberg (amusement park). The town is a little sleepy at night, but may be more lively on weekends. High rooms have a great view, especially those facing the unique Liseberg grounds, which are especially pretty at night with tens of thousands of lights. The rooms are very well appointed with some of the best furnishings and bathrooms that I experienced anywhere in Scandinavia (including two pillows on each bed). Wired Internet in rooms isn't terribly fast, but works well nonetheless. The breakfast is quite good, especially the one in Heaven restaurant on the 23rd floor, which is only available to those with higher executive rooms. The staff is incredibly accommodating, though the front desk staff (there's no concierge) doesn't seem to know the city well in terms of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This hotel used to be Scandinavia's biggest. After renovations soon to commence and a third tower being built it will reclaim it's position again. I am not usually a big fan of huge hotels but this one is definitely one of the better ones. Nice, but small rooms. Terrible pillows are a minus. Our room didn't have towels when we arrived but the cleaner organized that straight away on request. She also organizes extra (just as bad) pillows. Staff at reception were very efficient, friendly and helpful. So was the concierge who organized a doctors appointment for us by making 4 phone calls since my partner got sick during our trip to Göteborg. The breakfast buffet is VERY good, they got everything. Except nice coffee ;). We had booked a summer deal so payed only 1400SEK ($215 US) for two people 2 nights including breakfast. Very good value! Great location too overlooking the amusement park Liseberg.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielSkold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan,Co.Armagh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2011

This was my first time in Sweden and I enjoyed ny stay.The hotel is newish,clean and efficient.I only had breakfast in the hotel and it's a brilliant breafast buffet,every day I went there i promised myself a light meal.never happened,breakfast 10/10.
The staff are the next best thing.Every member of staff I dealt with were very friendly,polite and couldn't do enough to help,always cheerful.
The bedrooms are tidy,the bed was comfortable but whats with the square pillows?,maybe a Scandanavian thing,larger pillows would have been nice.Iron and ironing board in bedroom was handy.
One minor drawback were the lifts if it was busy.I was on the 10th floor and had to wait a while on a lift at breakfast time.
Well done to this hotel,breakfast and the staff are outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turlough123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.0 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
799 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#11 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,693 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gothia Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothia Towers

Property: Gothia Towers
Address: Massans gata 24 | Box 5184, Gothenburg SE-40226, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#3 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gothia Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gothia Towers have 1141 rooms & suites and 5 restaurants and bars and is located in central Gothenburg, right in the thick of things on Korsvagen, just a couple of blocks from the restaurants and nightclubs on fashionable Avenyn. We are close to the city centre with excellent transport links, right next to Scandinavia's biggest amusement park Liseberg, Scandinavium and everything the entertainment district has to offer. Guest have free access to gym and there is a supplement to visit Upper House Spa. A warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Gothia Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gothia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing