We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”
Review of Gothia Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gothia Towers
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good enough”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here for a couple of business trips. Everything fine, from booking to check-out. Rooms are ok, been once in one of the cheapest with no view and the other time on a high floor with a great view. Never tried the restaurant or bar as preferred to get outside and choose between one of the many nice restaurants around the corner. The room was always well equipped, pillow and mattresses also very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,800
    1,323
    593
    199
    96
See reviews for
1,273
1,136
104
1,017
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed here on business with a number of colleagues. The whole experience was fine, nothing exceptional but clean and adequate. Cost was a little high considering what it was, views were high but unspectacular (not that this is the fault of the hotel). The food was also nice but nothing to get blown away with. Conferencing facilities were good, having all the relevant electronics, space to present etc. In summary, I would come here again on business but probably wouldn't for a personal stay. Staff were always polite and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We were three families with 3 kids stayed the Christmas days in this hotel and I must say that were pretty satisfied. Clean and tidy large rooms. Quiet. Nice breakfast. Spa was nice. Highlight was the open air pool on the 20th floor with the glass bottom. Indeed it was an open air pool coz it was built stretching out of the main building structure. Awesome. Sauna was nothing special.
Heaven 23 restaurant was a bit too much. Over priced for the taste it offered. My friends 4 year son ordered an ice cream the kids menu and got a plate of beautiful ice cream 'decoration'. Well presentation was excellent for an adult. Boy's first expression was 'What is this? '.
Friendly staff. Very helpful.
Overall it was a fine stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I might be a tad harsh here because if you do away with the fact this is a major Conference Hotel, the rooms, layout and decor is first class but unfortunately the hotel is a major Conference Hotel and this is its undoing!
The sheer size of the hotel and people means its hard to find an intimate corner.
It also means the lifts where you wait forever and end up having to miss them because they are crowded is frustrating (and this was after 2 nights).
The breakfast was a nightmare - too many guests and impatient at that trying to get food and drink.
I spent longer getting my breakfast than eating it!

So that is the bad points out the way.
The view from the room over Lisberg is stunning. Obviously the higher the better.
The rooms are of a decent size and furnished well with Wi-Fi included and the comfort was high.
Location is good and convenient for airport with bus terminal opposite and main tram junction.

So would i recommend it?
Not if they are hosting a Conference - go elsewhere!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed over New Years with my fiancé for a romantic getaway. While the stay was ok, the hotel is not at all what it's cracked up to be (by themselves).

The base rate is super expensive. The breakfast is included, but beyond that everything you want is an additional extra. Room higher up in the hotel? That's extra. Room not facing the building equipment. That's also extra. Access to the gym - also extra especially on the weekend. It's like using a budget airline but without the low cost.

The pricing model aside - the rooms are adequate. I think our maid had a bad day and forgot to clean the kettle, leave enough towels and remove the trash from previous guests. Another annoyance is the constant hotel ads on the tv. The room is also very noisy. All the neighbors around us can be heard and there was some kind if sporting event going on during our stay, so there were hundreds of kids running around, hitting the doors, screaming in the hallways and so on. It felt like we were staying under a gym floor. Constant loud noises and the bed was actually vibrating every time a door slammed somewhere on the floor. This is the kind of thing I would expect from a low end motel, not a hotel in this price class.

Another annoyance is the elevators. There are not enough, we waited for 15 minutes to get to the lobby during check out time. We ended up walking from the 14th floor.

The breakfast was really good and well organized though. The staff was friendly too. But I wouldn't recommend staying here if you have other options.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hassehans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed for four nights in a Sky room and was happy, the hotel has a good location and the views from the top of the tower are great. I would recommend upgrading to a Sky room which ensures you are high up in the tower, get breakfast on the top floor restaurant (this is a huge hotel so I think the main breakfast restaurant would be very busy) and a large selection of free movies. Overall this is a more business hotel, and the rooms are showing some wear but it makes a good base for a stay in Gothenburg.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room, facing Liseberg amusement park for best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in suite located in the top of the building. Here it means some 22th floor. View from this height is fenomenal, especially watching the theme park, Liseberg, at night fall.
The rooms, maybe the whole hotel, show some wear and tear after the years, but not too noticeable. A comfortable and well located hotel, with parking service and cool views.

Room Tip: Higher floors, and you wont regret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoffer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Upper House
Upper House
#1 of 67 in Gothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,926 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Winn
Quality Hotel Winn
#24 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gothia Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gothia Towers

Property: Gothia Towers
Address: Massans gata 24 | Box 5184, Gothenburg SE-40226, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#4 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#10 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#11 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gothia Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gothia Towers have 1141 rooms & suites and 5 restaurants and bars and is located in central Gothenburg, right in the thick of things on Korsvagen, just a couple of blocks from the restaurants and nightclubs on fashionable Avenyn. We are close to the city centre with excellent transport links, right next to Scandinavia's biggest amusement park Liseberg, Scandinavium and everything the entertainment district has to offer. Guest have free access to gym and there is a supplement to visit Upper House Spa. A warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gothia Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gothia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing