We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for sight seeing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Situated out of the town centre next to a harbour, the Novotel is perfect for anyone needing a comfortable base when in Gothenburg.

It's a 20 min tram ride into the centre of town and the trams run very frequently. We got travel included with the Gothenburg Card but we were actually never asked to present a valid ticket....

The hotel is comfortable with a plentiful breakfast, included sauna/steam/jacuzzi and friendly staff. We accidentally missed breakfast one morning and, despite our idiocy, the staff incredibly put together a continental breakfast for us to enjoy at our leisure!

I would always recommend staying in a hotel which isn't dead in the centre of the city because it gives you the chance to explore otherwise unseen areas. The hotel is also within walking distance of the Roda Sten art space which is well worth a visit.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank siyoung91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night at the beginning of our trip to Sweden. The hotel room was okay as it can be expected from this middle class hotel chain. Unfortunately our room didn't have the nice view to the harbour but to a not really well-kept backyard/garden. Nevertheless it was probably more quiet that a room to the harbour. It takes quite a while to get to the city centre by boat (stops nearby). We really enjoyed the complimentary use of bikes (even one for our child) that were offered by the hotel and explored the beautiful Slottskogen park.
The breakfast in the restaurant had a large choice and variety of items.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilove2travelDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Novotel in Gothenburg is the only hotel in that area we have found with decent price level for a family with teen agers.
The Hotel has a friendly atmosphere and is located in a nice harbour environment.
The staff are proffessional and very friendly. There is a lot of activities for both smaller and bigger kids. We have stayed at this hotel Four times and never been dissapointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Pros:
- Very friendly staff
- Spacious rooms
- Nice location by the river, close to trams and buses
- Good breakfast

Cons:
- No aircondition. This spoiled our sleep on two of the three days we spent here. The friendly staff gave us a key so we could open the windows all the way. Without it, we would have left!
- Nothing on the walls in the room makes the atmosphere a bit sterile....
- A bit far from the center of the city

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

A modern hotel, nice waterside location but too far to walk into town - so you have to wait for ferry or tram.
Car park overfull.
Kids everywhere running around - very geared up for families.
Room fine but basic.
Restaurant far too busy for staff to keep up with.

Room Tip: Make sure you get waterview
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MrTUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Have stayed a couple of times. The location isn't quite perfect for the centre of town-it's not really walkable so a taxi is needed OR borrow one of the free hotel bikes and ride the flat couple of miles in. Views if the river and bridge are really nice. Breakfast is pretty good. Staff are helpful and friendly. Price us in-swedenly low.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Mektagonen
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Spar Hotel Majorna
Spar Hotel Majorna
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
571 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
4,783 reviews
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg

Address: Klippan 1, Gothenburg 414 51, Sweden (Formerly Novotel Goteborg)
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Gothenburg
#8 Family Hotel in Gothenburg
#12 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#20 Romantic Hotel in Gothenburg
#22 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £92 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Goteborg Hotel Gothenburg
Novotel Hotel Gothenburg
Novotel Hotel Goteborg
Novotel Gothenburg
Gothenburg Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing