We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good selection of beer, good atmosphere, ok pub food.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olrepubliken

Olrepubliken
Reserve with
Olrepubliken is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,227 Restaurants in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Probably the biggest assortment of beer in Gothenburg.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
“Good selection of beer, good atmosphere, ok pub food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Nice atmosphere and a good selection of beers. The food is probably what you would expect from a pub.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ingmar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    105
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Been here many times, always good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

It is famous for it's selection of beers, but the kitchen is as good. Very tasty food, of which I especially can recommend the beef tartar (råbiff).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielolsson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kungalv, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best house made lunch in GBG !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Since 2 years i eat my lunch here and it is more or less always better than in other similar restaurants. Staff friendly, sallad ok, the place a bit "rustic" but all right.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dunken63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beers of the World and Good Food Too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Good British fare and fresh fish soup, with an extensive selection of beers (on tap and bottled) from every corner of the Earth. The staff were extremely friendly and accomodating. We went on a Thursday at 7:30 PM and it was quite packed, so perhaps it would be good to arrive earlier in the evening. Of note: if you go with a party of more than 8, they offer an abbrebiated version of the menu. But our server was kind enough to allow a couple of exceptions, since our party split up into two separate tables.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank greenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing really”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

We went there with great expectations but got disappointed from the first minute. We were waited to a table near the staircase under a low ceiling with a view to... the cash register. Anyway, we did not loose much as the decoration is not much anyway but since there were empty tables I would expect to be seated somewhere better. There is a vast selection of beers I give them that but the price seemed too much even for Swedish standards. There were many waiters and one barwoman, which is a ratio that our company of three guys would prefer to be different. Overall, the experience was a disappointing one and I would not suggest this place for a visit while in Gothenburg unless you do not want to DRINK beer and have a fortune to spend on tasting the countless beers of the world.

Helpful?
Thank mavrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olrepubliken also viewed

Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
Gothenburg, Vastra Gotaland County
 

Been to Olrepubliken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing