We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small charming hotel with good location and great service”
Review of Hotel Vanilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vanilla
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A nice hotel located in a quiet street the center of Gothenburg. The breakfast was good and you get a 25% discount at the café if you eat there for lunch. The girls in the reception and café are always smiling and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor, and we were woken up at 4-5am due to the seagulls screaming so we had...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom-Einar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vanilla
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

The location of this hotel was good - walking distance to the train and bus station (although I got hopelessly lost on the way there the first time) It's very close to the main area, but in a side street.

Getting in is a bit of a drama, as you have to buzz reception, then drag your bag up a narrow circular staircase to get to reception.

My single room was fairly small with a very narrow bed. The bed turned out to be quite uncomfortable - I ended up moving the pillow to the foot of the bed to get a decent sleep. The shower stall was small, which was a bit disappointing given how large the bathroom was - all empty space. Everything was clean and some handy toiletries provided.

The room faced onto the courtyard, which brought a bit of noise if the window was open, and I did need to open the window as the room was hot and there was no other way to cool it down to sleep.

Wifi worked fine, but slightly annoying to have to get a new code every 12 hours. Front desk staff were friendly and willing to help, although not always with the best information.

The stand out is the cafe downstairs. Breakfast was nice with bacon and eggs as well as the standard Scandinavian fare, as well as fruits, smoothies etc. I'd also recommend the cafe for lunch or light dinner, as the pie was delicious and hotel guests get a discount, which makes it a cheap option.

Overall quite a nice little hotel with a good cafe, but the uncomfortable bed brings it down to the Average rating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Very nice little hotel. Very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. On a quiet street but right in the middle of everything, have not had breakfast yet but cafe looks very nice. I expect it to be very sufficient.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This was a wonderful little hotel in a perfect location to explore Gothenburg. Located down a quiet little street, it's about 10 minutes walk from the bus terminal, and just off the main streets for easy access to trams if desired. The room was clean and airy, and the bed was incredibly comfy (if sleeping in a big squishy cloud is your thing!). The toiletries included in the room as lovely (elemis conditioner and body lotion). Breakfast had a good selection, and the hours were also very accommodating. Staff at reception were very helpful and full of hints and tips for exploring the city. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBurgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed at hotel vanilla for a weekend. We arrived at 11pm and although there were no receptionist, the hotel had provided us with the door code prior to our arrival. When we arrived our door cards were waiting for us at reception with the wifi code and a selection of sandwiches. The room was spotless (and that's coming from a very fussy woman when it comes about cleaning!) the room was not very big but very warm (perfect in -10!). The breakfast was great with a nice selection of good products and The staff were very kind and helpful (let's us have the room until 4pm at no extra charge as we had a late flight!). The room would have been perfect if it had tea facilities;)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princesscoco26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Perfect hotel with genuine atmosphere. The location is spot on. Great area to stroll around and explore the city. Central but in a pretty quiet street. The room was really quiet, with windows to the back yard. It's spartan and small, but not too small. I don't have anything to complain about, but there's a small lack of wow-factor so that's why i "only" give it 4 points. Still this is a really cozy hotel and you won't regret your stay here. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Gothenburg. If you need an elevator you better look for something else though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shimro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of vacation.

Cute place. Check in was good, free wifi was good. We prepaid for the two nights as we had an early flight our last day. It was sometimes hard to find someone at the desk, but as this is more of a B&B and not a hotel, not too problematic.

Room was small but serviceable. Bathroom was the same. Liked having the windows open for the breeze. Our room overlooked the courtyard and there was some noise when the courtyard was full, but overnight was very quiet. There is no elevator and the curving staircase is challenging with luggage. Not sure if they had bell service or not.

Breakfast was good, but very busy. Had to miss it the second day due to the early flight.

This was a great location for walking around the city. We were dropped off and picked up by Volvo so didn't have to worry about a taxi to the airport, not sure how easy that would be without being prearranged.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clkc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#8 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vanilla

Address: 38 Kyrkogatan, Gothenburg 411 15, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: £84 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vanilla 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vanilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing