We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swedish charm - real not manufactured”
Review of Hotel Vanilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vanilla
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed here for three nights when visiting friends in Gothenburg. I have stayed in Gothenburg before and wanted somewhere less ‘clinical’ more ‘homely’, I found it.

It is central (15 minutes’ walk to anywhere in the city). Located I the older part of the city everything is on your door step (10 minutes’ walk from Central Train Station).

The rooms are simple and compact yet of high ‘Nordic Spec’ and Nordic style. The bathroom was large with top end amenities and spa products (take a moment to figures out that there is under floor heating and heated towel rail (that you need to switch on). As well as the shower which was great once I took the trouble to figure it out.

The staff over the three days we not consistent – however the service was – top notch and welcoming.

Breakfast in the café on the ground floor was again simple yet delightful and full range – included in the room it made the stay excellent value.

The Wi-Fi is free and was without a hitch.

The one thing that made my stay memorable was the bed and bedding. I spend my life in hotels and apartments – I am used to different beds and cope well with soft to hard. This bed was the most comfortable bed I have EVER slept in. the quality of the linen – pillows and duvet meant that you were wrapped in a cocoon of comfy-ness. One morning having got up – I just had to go back to bed for an hour – priceless!

For the bed alone I will be coming back here.

Room Tip: Looking at the rooms - none seem to have a view worth much. There is no lift and my room was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

First, the hotel can be a little hard to find, especially when arriving by car, since Gothenburg has a lot of one way streets and generally is a confusing city to drive around. The hotel has a few parking spots on property, these can be reserved in advance. We had not, as we though it was first come, first served, but were lucky enough to get the one space that not not been reserved. The location is super central, and really one of the hotel´s best quality!

When entering the hotel you have to ring the door bell as the doors are closed at all times. After checking inn your room key will give you access to the front door.

Front desk staff was nice enough, but nothing more.

Rooms are of good size, very very clean (I lost my camera lid under the bed, and it was not as much as a hair to see), light scandinavian decor. The bathroom could use an upgrade, though.

The only thing we were not that satisfied with was the breakfast, served in the onsite cafe. The quality of the food was just not good enough. The juice for instance, was from concentrate mixed with luke warm tap water and supplied with some ice cubes. For years I have not experienced hotels not serving proper OJ and apple juice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaprifol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A lovely small hotel in the center of town. We were able to walk and explore the city and come back to clean and comfortable rooms. Immaculate bathrooms. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The breakfasts in the cafe were generous with a wide array food that was freshly prepared and delicious. Only drawback was nighttime noise from the street in our room that was at the front of the hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at the back likely to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoganBurlingtonVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I don't remember when was the last time I gave a 5* in a review.

Anyway, the biggest point is.
- charming
- comfortable
- clean
- quiet, yet right at the heart of town
- friendly staff
- delicious food at cafe and long opening hours + 25% discount for hotel guests
- amenities provided is high spa quality (I remember seeing it only at British Airways business class)
- Less than 5 mins walk to trams and airport bus
- in the neighbourhood where most of the best restaurants in Goteborg are
- Unbelievable price 1500 SEK for two nights--booked rather early.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great hotel, right in the center of town and easy access to trams or exploring on foot.
The breakfasts are taken in the cafe below the hotel and it serves a great continental breakfast
Rooms are very comfortable and all the bathrooms have Elemis products to use

Room Tip: Have tore a few rooms and all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Decoration is simple with enough details to make it feel special. The rooms are a bit small but comfortable. And very clean. The caffee on the first floor serves a good breakfast buffet that is included in the price. Food was of very good quality. And it gives you a 25% discount any time of day. There are lots of shops, coffee shops and restaurants close by. This hotel is a great option if you visit the city. And on top of it all, the price was very reasonable.
It didn't get all the stars cause our room had a vibrating noise.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank chaelewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The Hotel is nice and in the citycenter.
The rooms are neat and tidy, the staff was very helpful: Emina was great, even though she was been working there for a few days she was extremely helpful.
Unfortunately the reception is not working 24 hrs, so advise you arrival and departure time (a private parking is available, but not 24/7). I left very early in the morning and I was offered to get a takeaway breakfast the night before.
There is no elevator, you have to take you baggage up on a (large) spiral staircase.
Despite that, it is a nice hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvia_all1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#26 of 67 in Gothenburg
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#63 of 67 in Gothenburg
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vanilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vanilla

Address: 38 Kyrkogatan, Gothenburg 411 15, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: £86 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vanilla 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Vanilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing