We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and quiet”
Review of Hotel Riverton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riverton
Ranked #26 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
helsingborg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and quiet”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We booked one of the Premium Queen rooms, and they feel very modern and luxurious. Got a room with a view of the harbour, wich we had wished for.
Location is really very close to the shopping area and city center, but hte hotel has its back to the city, facing the harbour.
We'll definetly come back again - a perfect weekend get-away from kids and everyday life. Next time we'll try and stay longer, so we can try out the SPA section.

Room Tip: Recommend the upper floors (at a higher price range) for both the view and they're more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna4567176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NazaninRiverton, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear anna4567176,

Thank you so very much for the wonderful review following your recent stay with us. Pity you stayed for a short period but we truly hope you will come to us soon again so you can enjoy the rest of our facility including the SPA.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    274
    122
    28
    18
See reviews for
117
207
24
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel had a very modern feel to it and the rooms were very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rates were very reasonable compared to comparable hotels in Gothenburg. The only downside to this hotel was that it's location was not great but you can walk to the train station and a lot of restaurants in about 20 minutes. The bar and restaurant were on the top floor with a good view of the river and city.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NazaninRiverton, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi Jason K,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Riverton during your visit in Gothenburg. Our staff has always been the greatest asset and its good to see that you have enjoyed our hospitality. Our hotel is situated close to Järntorget and Linnégatan where you can find many restaurants and bars within 10 minutes walk.
Wish you a great fall!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Good and not so good.
The riverton hotel has a lot of qualities but some flaws aswel.
Reception and staff were always friendly, rooms are modern and well equiped. Wifi worked great and we really liked the free bottled water. Breakfast was ok, good choice but avarage quality.
Thanks to shutters the room can be completely dark. The shower and bath had a luxurious feel. The hotel is close to the city and there is a busstop close. However: our room looked out to the ventilation system which made a lot of noise. I cant understand that a four star hotel has rooms with this much noise. The soundproofing from other guests is very good. Something that is also very good is the bar and restaurant. Not cheap but with a great view and excellent food. Some nice beers on menu.
A last remark is about the room layout. We chose a junior suite with sofa bed for our daugher in a different room.
This room was not separated by a door or curtain so when she went to sleep we had to be very quiet. It had assumed that there would be a door. In short: the hotel has a lot of qualities but avoid the rooms that look out on the ventilation system!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Beebee1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NazaninRiverton, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Beebee1977,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Riverton. If you would prefer a room in a certain side or floor area of the hotel, please do let us know at the time of booking and we will do our utmost to accommodate your preference. We hope that you'll come back and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel is thoroughly recommended in all respects.The hotel itself is very bright and clean. Breakfast was more than ok: you could chose between cold meat, warm dishes, different types of bread and juices etc. Location is very nice...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harishchanchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NazaninRiverton, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Harishchanchal,

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for sharing your experiences with others.

Welcome back soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The area around the hotel doesn't look so great, but don't let it discourage you! The view from the upper floors is stunning. We came here for a short weekend stay, got a room on the 10th floor with a river view and it was very nice! It was bit hot though. The bathroom was very modern and nice with plenty of space in the shower. Skybar had basically the same view as our hotel room, but fortunately had some good drinks to offer. They have a big choice of fruit and vegetables for breakfast, good pastries and different kinds of fresh bread and more! All in all it was a very nice stay with friendly staff and good service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NazaninRiverton, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Jeannochka,

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us at Hotel Riverton, we appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive words about us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to us soon again!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had high hopes for this and paid expensive money for a double room since the reviews have been so great. It's situated in an area with industries just around the corner, and it takes about ten minutes of walking in each direction to get to city life with restaurants and shops.

The room was clean but very small. The beds were of excellent standard however and we would have slept very well if it wasn't so hot in the room. Opening the window wasn't enough, unfortunately.

Staff was very friendly and breakfast was five stars. Fresh, wide selection and friendly staff. However, if we were to go back to Gothenburg for a stay in the city, we wouldn't pay this kind of money to stay that far away without a car.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweMatt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NazaninRiverton, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear SweMatt71,
Thanks for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and was satisfied with our staff. The area outside the hotel is under refurbishment and will be ready by 2015 with new shops, restaurants, apartments etc.

Hope to see you soon again as our guest!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We thought that the staff, was the best with the experience. Super nice people at front desk, hard working alone waiter at the sky bar resturant, and nice staff at the breakfast! Wonderful hotel breakfast!:) overall a super stay!:))

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NazaninRiverton, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear Julia,
Thanks for your kind words about our staff. I will convey your compliments to my colleagues. We are also delighted to hear that our breakfast was to your safisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Best regards
Nazanin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#10 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverton

Property: Hotel Riverton
Address: Stora Badhusgatan 26, Gothenburg 411 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#18 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riverton 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverton is a four-star hotel located by the waterfront in central Gothenburg. Only a few minutes away from the hotel are some of the main attractions of the city; the historic district Haga, popular shopping street Kungsgatan and the old fort Skansen Krona, making our location the perfect base to explore the city. We offer 180 modern rooms and suites that provide everything to ensure your stay in Gothenburg is more than comfortable. For longer stays we also offer 6 fully equipped apartments. A visit to our restaurant on the 12th floor cannot be missed. Enjoy award winning cocktails in the bar or dine to spectacular views of the city and harbour. *From 1st January 2017, we are a cash-free hotel & restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverton Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing