We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay central in Gothenburg” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riverton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riverton
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stay central in Gothenburg”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Riverton is an average to good hotel with a central location between the south and north center. Close to all the main things of interest in Gothenburg, not least the old part of Gothenburg
"Haga". The hotel has from floor 9 and up some very hip suites. They are light and spacious with a splendid view of the harbor (you'll enjoy the sunset in summertime). BUT The Loo and bath is VERY special - you have no privacy! Showering is OK because the glass door will be covered by the steam. But going to the Loo can be a problem depending on the purpose of the visit!
Rooms on the lower floors are older, but Ok.
Parking can be a problem. In front of the hotel you have a number of public parkings. It's expensive, and during office hours difficult to get. The hotel has a private garage with limited space, and you have to climb 3 rows of stairs to get there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    262
    117
    28
    18
See reviews for
115
198
24
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very good breakfast with the possibility of making special meals for kids.
Very helpful staff regarding everything we needed for our 1 year old daughter.
Nice rooms with sufficient cleaning and good TV with many channels to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans_Buus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NazaninRiverton, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Hans_Buus,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Riverton during you visit in Gothenburg and also for sharing your review with others.

We will be glad to have a chance to welcome you in the nearest future again to Hotel Riverton!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Riverton Hotel has comfortable beds and we had a good night sleep. The hotel and our room looked very good, a touch of luxury. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast buffet tastet really good!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonehp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NazaninRiverton, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear tonehp,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Riverton for your visit to Gothenburg.
Glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

perfect location for a business trip to gothenburg. the staff was very friendly and competent. the hotel is within reach to all kind of important places and spots. easy to find, easy to walk around even during nights.
the hotel is clean, rooms are comfortable and well equipped. the bathroom was nice and the bed just made for relaxing. i was happy being able to open the window - and it was not at all noisy during nights.
breakfast was just perfect and in a nice atmosphere to start a day. the interiors are in bright colors and illumination makes one forget, that it is winter and dark outside.

Room Tip: single room was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Regina V P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NazaninRiverton, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Regina V P,

Many thanks for your lovely review. We appreciate very much the time you took to share it with the tripadvisor.com community.
We are happy to hear that you appreciate the location and physical aspects of our hotel.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed 2 nights at Riverton Hotel toghether with my 2 teenage daughters and my niese, 4 ladies in Gothenburg. Spacious rooms, very good beds, large breakfast buffet, a few minutes walk from central parts of Gothenburg and easy to find the hotel driving in from Oslo. The hotel has been refurbished and is still in the process of having a "face lift" but everything we needed was there. Service is very good. Receptionists are very helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 superior Family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Karin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NazaninRiverton, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Anna Karin O,

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us at Hotel Riverton, we appreciate you taking the time.
The hotel entrance was under refurbishment during your stay, but now we are proud to have our new attractive entrance.

We hope to be able to look after you and your family again in the not too distant future.

KIndest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skövde
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel is located within just a few steps to shops and restaurants, We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed our room, there´s plenty of space, really fresh and cosy. Small bathroom but Id rather have a roomy bedroom than a roomy bath...
Breakfast is generous and really tasty, if you go for breakfast in the end of the last serving hour though you might find it a bit crowded so try to get there a bit earlier.
Overall good value hotel when you want to stay in the center.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agapimoukriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NazaninRiverton, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear NadiaMilano_Italia,

Thank you so much for your generous review. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Riverton and look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The way to the hotel was easy to find from the central station... Maybe you´ll think it's a terrifying hotel once you see it from outside, but instead it is wonderful. The rooms are very well isolated so you won't hear a single noise. You won't feel cold at any time! You´ll find a courtesy kettle with coffee and tea and water. They offer you good amenities in the bathroom. It's a very clean hotel...The breakfast buffet is wonderful with super tasty bread and every type of food you want...The Skybar is a good place to have a drink, with wonderful food and varieties of drinks, not to mention the music and the views! Definitively to go bak!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiaMilano_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#18 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.6 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellora
Hotel Bellora
#11 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Center Hotel
Center Hotel
#64 of 68 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverton

Property: Hotel Riverton
Address: Stora Badhusgatan 26, Gothenburg 411 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#18 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riverton 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverton is a four-star hotel located by the waterfront in central Gothenburg. Only a few minutes away from the hotel are some of the main attractions of the city; the historic district Haga, popular shopping street Kungsgatan and the old fort Skansen Krona, making our location the perfect base to explore the city. We offer 180 modern rooms and suites that provide everything to ensure your stay in Gothenburg is more than comfortable. For longer stays we also offer 6 fully equipped apartments. A visit to our restaurant on the 12th floor cannot be missed. Enjoy award winning cocktails in the bar or dine to spectacular views of the city and harbour. *From 1st January 2017, we are a cash-free hotel & restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverton Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing