We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of Hotel Riverton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riverton
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

All staff are very friendly and accomodating. The room was really clean and cozy. Though we had difficulty in finding the hotel due to construction going on in the street nearby still it is very near tram station and town centre. The breakfast was also excellent. This is the very first time that I really enjoyed my stay without any hassle. Gothenburg City is so relaxing and I will definitely going back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyBek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear KellyBek,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hotel Riverton. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed Gothenburg and your stay with us!

The surrounding area of the hotel is currently undergoing a large and exciting transformation by the City of Gothenburg, the aim is to bring the City Centre closer to the water, this will include better transport links, exciting new shops and restaurants and leisure facilities by the water. Unfortunately this affects the immediate surroundings of the hotel. The project has several stages up until 2017 however the tramline which impacts directly outside our hotel will be finished summer 2015 which will improve the transport links to and from the hotel.

On behalf of the Riverton team, we hope to welcome you back to Hotel Riverton soon to see the exciting transformations taking place.

Best wishes,
Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    296
    129
    31
    20
See reviews for
136
223
24
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Nice rooms gives a classy feeling, clean, nice bathrooms, excelent breakfast bufeé. Is withing Walking distance to city center, shopping mall, museums, and koncerthall. Fine view from the top floor restaurant. Friendly staf. A good Place to stay over at.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GB_64_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Google Translation
Hej GB_64_Trip,

Vad kul att du hade en bra upplevelse hos oss på Hotel Riverton och tack för att du tog dig tid att skriva ett omdöme av din vistelse.

Har du vägarna förbi Göteborg i framtiden, hoppas vi att kunna få välkomna dig tillbaka till oss!

Varma hälsningar,
Philippa Hellberg
Kundansvarig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongsvinger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is a family owned hotel which har very nice rooms close to the river, we had a junior suite but it was more of a large and very nice room. Very good value and our first pick if you want to go to the more authentic part of Gothenburg, Linnéstaden and there about. Free parking is very good. In short it looks a bit of at first glance but i find the location one of the best in town.
Fantastic view in the skybar! Get a room facing the river and high up if you want a good view. Large and clean rooms the times i´ve been there. Good breakfast, and really cheap to get in room service, i think they charged us 55kr ekstra for breakfast in bed, remember to book the day before!

Room Tip: High and towards river is nice for a view of the river and harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Patric R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hotel Riverton. I´m pleased to read that you were happy with your bedroom and the facilities we have to offer.

The area of Skeppsbron is currently undergoing a large and exciting transformation by the City of Gothenburg, the aim is to bring the City Centre closer to the water. However, in the projects different stages, it may impact the area outside of the hotel and also parking possibilities. If you would need any information in the future on where to best park your car in the area, you can always contact us directly for the latest updates.

On behalf of the Riverton team, we hope to welcome you back to Gothenburg very soon

Warm regards,
Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a Premium junior suite at the top floor. The view was breathtaking and the room was very clean. Contemporary design for both room and bathroom with nice details gave a great impression and a classy feeling. The breakfast bufeé was excellent and the staff too. We had dinner at the top floor restaurant our last night there and was very very good. All in all I would recommend this hotel and I will certainly stay there when in Göteborg.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Codatz,

We are delighted to hear you had a good stay with us at Hotel Riverton and for taking the time to share your experience with others. It means a lot to the team when a guest has enjoyed the hotel and service provided and takes the time to let us know.

We hope to welcome you back to Gothenburg very soon!

Warm wishes,

Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bavaria, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Clean rooms, very good breakfast buffet, very friendly staff (check in / out very fast). Hotel is located almost in city center (within waling distance).
I enjoyed the stay in this hotel, nothing to complain!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewTrip123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear NewTrip123,

We are delighted to hear you had a good stay with us at Hotel Riverton and for taking the time to share your experience with others. I´m happy to read that you enjoyed the room and service given to you from the Riverton Team and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Warm wishes,

Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I have spent one week staying at the Hotel Riveton. My stay was enjoyable and comfortable.
The reception staff were very helpful, allowing me to have a much needed early check in after a early flight and all communal areas were kept clean and tidy.

The breakfast had a wide selection, catering for all tastes, room service was quick and good quality. The location suited me perfectly as its right between the old town (Haga) and the main city.

The rooms were standard size with a contemporary bath room and cleaned very to a high standard each day.

I would recommend this hotel and am looking forward to using them again on my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dicky235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Dicky235,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hotel Riverton. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our close proximity to Haga and the city centre and that you were pleased with the service given.

On behalf of the Riverton team, we hope to welcome you back to Gothenburg very soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel is fabulous. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Everyday when we returned the room was immaculate again, and all made up as you'd expect from a four star hotel. We travelled as a family of six (children aged 9, 8, 6 and 3 years) and the family room was adequate in size and we were not charged any surcharges for extra occupancy.
This hotel has the most superb restaurant and bar on the 12th floor with breath taking views over the city. Prices may seem high, but this due to it being Scandinavia and not down to it being an expensive hotel. The breakfast was fantastic with a very large choice of drinks and food (hot and cold). There was everything from fresh kiwi to pickled herring and from blood red orange juice to roasted pork shoulder. You could more than fill up for the entire day which is what you need when staying in Sweden as it is expensive to eat out, especially with a large family.
The staff are professional, friendly and efficient and they happily arranged our transfers etc without anything being too much trouble. The location is superb, with fantastic views and only a five minute walk to Haga (The Old Town) and everywhere is accessible by foot. There are a selection of bars and restaurants etc locally too.
All in all, if you are planning a trip to Gothenburg, I wouldn't even bother to entertain any other hotel, everything you need is right here and you can secure fabulous prices too by booking via online websites. Enjoy :-)

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor but due to location, if you could book a room on a higher floor, you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear AnnieB77,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of your stay at Hotel Riverton. It means a lot to the team when a guest has enjoyed the hotel and service provided and takes the time to let us know.

We will pass your positive feedback on to the relevant departments. We hope to welcome you back very soon, for the best prices have a look under our offers page on our website.

Warm Regards,

Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.2 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.6 mi away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
975 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#33 of 67 in Gothenburg
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverton

Property: Hotel Riverton
Address: Stora Badhusgatan 26, Gothenburg 411 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
#19 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riverton 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverton is a four-star hotel located by the waterfront in central Gothenburg. Only a few minutes away from the hotel are some of the main attractions of the city; the historic district Haga, popular shopping street Kungsgatan and the old fort Skansen Krona, making our location the perfect base to explore the city. We offer 180 modern rooms and suites that provide everything to ensure your stay in Gothenburg is more than comfortable. For longer stays we also offer 6 fully equipped apartments. A visit to our restaurant on the 12th floor cannot be missed. Enjoy award winning cocktails in the bar or dine to spectacular views of the city and harbour. *From 1st January 2017, we are a cash-free hotel & restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverton Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing