We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Riverton”
Review of Hotel Riverton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riverton
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a great stay at Hotel Riverton. Excellent room, nice staff and a wonderfull view from our room on 10th floor. Recommend Premium junior suite. Nice breakfast area with a lot of space and good food. We will return to this hotel another time - for sure.

Room Tip: Premium junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hegerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear hegerk,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I am pleased to read you were happy with your Premium Junior Suite and the service given by our staff.

We hope to see you back in Gothenburg very soon!

All the best,
Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a good hotel very clean and the views from the restaurant were stunning, The location was pretty good just a short walk to the town centre but for me it was its location close to the Stena Ferry terminal that was most important only 5 mins walk. The staff were very helpful indeed and offered really good practical advice on getting around Gothenburg.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the river much better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear bigadrian,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our close proximity to the Stena terminal and city centre.

I have passed on your lovely comments to our team at the Reception and we hope to see you back in Gothenburg very soon!

Warm Regards,
Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent with friends a very pleasant weekend at hotel Riverton. The room was spotless clean, spacious and in overall well maintained and in good condition. We never heard any sound from neighboring rooms. The beds were very comfortable with quality bed linen. Very positive feature was the wide screed flat TV with plenty of working satellite channels. The standard of cleaning in the room was simply astounding.

Hotel breakfast was ample and of good quality. As extras to the normal hotel breakfast, special coffees were available, good selection of fruit. From the more exotic side were local herring and C vitamin tablets. We wined and dined upstairs in the restaurant and sky bar and enjoyed the great food and views to the river. If one has to find something negative, the lobby of the hotel hardly is very cosy with its minimal decoration and furniture.

Staff were all very friendly and attentive and we got all the help and attention that we needed.

The hotel location is very good with easy access everywhere. Public transportation may not be the strongest point here, but from the bus stop some 150 m away it was possible to reach the centre. Also the stop of the river ferry Älvsnabben was very close to the hotel: a sightseeing cruise available for the price of local bus ticket!

Room Tip: At least superior rooms are to be recommended. Some of the rooms do not have a view at all from wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isidorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Isidorus,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hotel Riverton. I am delighted to read you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our services on offer.
As you mentioned, we have a bus stop nearby with buses just three stops away from the Central Station.

The city centre is divided into different areas, the historic district Haga bustling with boutiques and cafés plus the popular areas and tourist attractions including Linné, Kungsgatan, Skansen Krona, and Gothenburg Canals are all within 10 minutes’ walk of the hotel.

In addition there is a tram hub called Järntorget, 5 minutes’ walk away from the hotel with trams connecting to all major parts of Gothenburg.

We are also currently transforming the lobby area to make it a bit more welcoming and a space where you can sit down and relax while enjoying a beverage or reading a newspaper. These changes will be ready to be enjoyed by guests just after the summer.

I will pass on your lovely feedback to the different departments within the hotel and on behalf of the Riverton team; we hope to welcome you back to Gothenburg very soon!

All the best,
Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very well located hotel with nice view to the port and very nice and cozy skybar. The are is right now under construction so the place is a little bit noisy and messy but despite of that it is ok. The breakfast is really good and the city's mall is 1Km away from it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joaocslvfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you Joaocslvfo for sharing your stay at Hotel Riverton with others!

The surrounding area of the hotel is currently undergoing a large and exciting transformation by the City of Gothenburg, the aim is to bring the City Centre closer to the water, this will include better transport links, exciting new shops and restaurants and leisure facilities by the water. Unfortunately this affects the immediate surroundings of the hotel. The project has several stages up until 2017 however the tramline which impacts directly outside our hotel will be finished summer 2015 which will improve the transport links to the rest of the city.

On behalf of the Riverton team, we hope to welcome you back to Hotel Riverton soon to see the exciting transformations taking place.

Kind Regards,
Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Have never complained about a hotel before. The room was tiny, clean but very basic, not your expected 4 stars. Surprised to see the comments below that say the hotel offered free parking.....we were 'offered' a parking permit of 245:- a night - which is higher that parking on the street. Not impressed at all. Breakfast was ok, wow factor - the tubes with pate placed on own plates (a little funny). Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Kundansvarig at Hotel Riverton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Dana S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver a high standard of service for all of our guests.

We used to offer free parking outside of the hotel, however, unfortunately the construction taking place by Gothenburg council has temporarily made this out of use. Therefore, we offer a secure, CCTV monitored garage which is only accessible to hotel guests.

We do not advertise free parking on any website or in any marketing material and unfortunately it is very rare to find free parking in Gothenburg.

I am sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your room and I would appreciate if you could contact me with your details so we can look into the room you stayed in to see what we can do to improve for future guests. You can contact me via email on: philippa.hellberg@riverton.se

Best wishes,
Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The room premium juniorsvit was fantastic. Breakfast in the room was very nice. The food and the view from view restaurant was very good. We have a conference room for one day and it was very good. The lunch in the restaurant was very good.

Room Tip: The premium juniorsvit with view over the port is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katarina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Katarina B,
Thank you for your generous review and for sharing it with others,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed our Premium Suite and that the conference room was well suited to the nature of your meeting.

On behalf of the Riverton team, we hope to get the chance to welcome you back to Gothenburg again!

Best wishes,
Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Staying just one night at the Riverton, I did not have time to explore all hotel facilities. As mentioned by other reviewers, the road outside the hotel is undergoing construction work, making it a challenge to find the hotel. We ended up parking in the vicinity and walking with our luggage until we located the hotel. Upon request, the very service-minded reception staff pointed out that there was in fact a public park and pay area more or less directly in front of the hotel. The main shopping district is a short stroll away - sporting many large shops and cafés.
The room was large, modern and clean - very well equipped for business stays, and the morning breakfast was very nice.
Finally, the hotel restaurant is highly recommended for a superb view of Gothenburg port - not to be missed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorthe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Riverton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Dorthe,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our service.

The transformation project currently carried out by The City of Gothenburg, has had an impact on the public parking spaces directly outside of the hotel. So to help guests who travel by car, we offer secure parking onsite and opposite the hotel for a fee. This can be reserved by contacting us directly prior to arrival.
Thank you for sharing your review with others and on behalf of the Riverton team, we hope to welcome you back to Gothenburg very soon!

Best wishes,
Philippa Hellberg
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#16 of 67 in Gothenburg
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
0.8 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#39 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverton

Address: Stora Badhusgatan 26, Gothenburg 411 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#18 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £81 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riverton 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverton is a four-star hotel located by the waterfront in central Gothenburg. Only a few minutes away from the hotel are some of the main attractions of the city; the historic district Haga, popular shopping street Kungsgatan and the old fort Skansen Krona, making our location the perfect base to explore the city. We offer 180 modern rooms and suites that provide everything to ensure your stay in Gothenburg is more than comfortable. For longer stays we also offer 6 fully equipped apartments. A visit to our restaurant on the 12th floor cannot be missed. Enjoy award winning cocktails in the bar or dine to spectacular views of the city and harbour. *From 1st January 2017, we are a cash-free hotel & restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverton Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing