We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL OLD HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Eggers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eggers
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kelso, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL OLD HOTEL”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

This pplace was awesome.The breakfast was great. something for everyone. The hotel is located right in the hub , trollies, busses, trains, even central stain is right at their door step. The rooms were charming, each one decorated different and the beds and cots were very comfortable. i would recomended this place highly and hope to go back there again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    93
    37
    15
    2
See reviews for
26
64
22
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

"the staff is very helpful" " internet is free"
this is the best thing i can find in this hotel; floor is squeeky, very old furniture, dust all over the place;

how can this be part of the " Best Western"???

Room Tip: can stay in just for one or two nights max
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susimaBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
217 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Overall I was satisfied with my two weekend stays in Gothenburg. However I would recommend Hotel Eggers rather for its unbeatable central location than its basic amenities.

I chose this hotel for its competitive price and quite convenient location - right in front of Gothenburg railway station. Weekend rate for a single room is 995SEK/night including breakfast. Booking on Best Western own website quick and user-friendly.

Check-in hassle-free, staff very polite and friendly. Single room a bit small but with beautiful green tones and a pleasant historic touch. Amenities were rather basic and included a closet with a few coat hangers, small desk with a chair, comfortable bed (but with a soft mattress - as usual in Scandinavia). Shower and WC spotlessly clean.
No coffee-making facilities in the room, however you can help yourself with coffee and tea in the lobby. Fresh fruit e.g. orange, apple is also available - a nice touch.

On the downside no air-conditioning, quite antic TV. Amenities in the bathroom are limited to some soap and small basic shampoo bottles.

On my first stay I unfortunately chose a room facing the central station. Although I am a pretty easy sleeper the noise was nearly unbearable: constant tram vibrations, music and loud shouting - especially on Saturday nights.
For my second stay I therefore asked for a room facing INWARDS - almost no noise and I slept perfectly well!

Breakfast buffet clean, well-presented and tasty. Breakfast room spacious but a bit too dark. Usual offering of herrings, cold cuts, cheese, yoghurts, cereals - good quantity and quality. Warm food included quite tasty bacon and scrambled eggs.

Despite having basic amenities only I would recommend this hotel for its central location and good value for money. But definitely choose a room facing the yard if you look for a good night sleep!

Room Tip: Rooms facing inwards are definitely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank q-sto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

You would think a hotel with this extrodinary history would be top-of-class. You would further think that when you see the bill.
I travel a lot in Scandinavia (seen over 300 hotels) and this hotel is so far between all-time 5 worst hotels. First of all parking is not very easy, and certainly not if you arrive beteween 15.00 and 19.00 There is no parking lot, so once you get there, you need to re-park driving around another time between one million cars and trems. The parking house is 10 minutes away and costs naturally extra.
You are not allowed to park in front of the hotel for more than 10 minutes, otherwise you will be fined by the Parking Guards from the city. And they are there like flies. Two cars were fined while I was there, and they don't care if you sit in your car!!
The room(s): Yes indeed somewhat nice interior (walls). But the beds are way too soft. Televisions are from 1988 and 20 inch max. Aircondition is not a part of this hotel. So hope you like open windows and associated noice from the city workers. The charm from the room nowhere near weightens up the lack of quality.
Breakfast: Average, nothing special.
Reception: At this day not very helpful and to some extend very arrogant. This can happen anywhere, but when your product is this bad, you need to step up.

Overall, I do not see any reason whatsoever for staying at this hotel, not even at half the price. One big disappointment and frustration. Best feeling was when I left it.... :-(

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spindoktor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

This is an older hotel in a good central location. Considering it's one of the more expensive hotels in town, one would expect more from the room. Mine was fairly small and noisy on a warm weekend night with the window open. The bathroom was modernized and nearly as large as the bedroom. The breakfast buffet was very good The front desk staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

This massive square late 19th century edifice deserves a more congenial location:it is very convenient for the rail, tram and bus network,but it is inevitably noisy.My room had the original double glazing-6 inch gap between outer/outward opening and inner/inward opening casements.This was in good condition and excluded most noise ,but not the vibration of the trams.The other lack of insulation from the exterior ,in hot sunny weather,was the lack of curtains/blinds in the bathroom,which allowed light to enter the bedroom via a magnificent stained glass window between the two.
These were main practical problems in my room,apart from my joy at seeing the rare sight of a bathtub in a Swedish hotel being tempered by a severe leak on pulling the plug.The staff sent up 4 towels to mop it up,but said it was "normal"!
Otherwise,I was pleased with the hotel.My room was vast with plenty of antique furniture and a fine chandelier with proper lightbulbs.The bed was comfortable.No noise was transmitted within the building-it seemed to be of truly massive construction,and the room door was double inner/outer.The lift was fast,with manual doors-no inner door,so be careful not to protrude your cases!
Food at dinner and breakfast was excellent in the grand dining room,with a choice of outside seating,modern chairs at the front ,and more formal tables at the back.The reception /lounge provided tea/coffee(including decaff.) all day,as there were no room teamaking facilities.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

The staff were helpful, breakfast was plentiful and the location handy for the train station but otherwise this was not one of the best hotel experiences I have recently had.

My room was exceptionally hot, the fan did not work and when I rang reception for another they said there were none left. I tired to open the window but it just kept on slamming shut and there was no way to keep it open, hence I did not sleep very well as I had to puit up with the heat all night. The room was tired and old fashioned but appeared clean.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolly_Bambina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#35 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
0.1 mi away
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
#33 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
First Hotel G
First Hotel G
#20 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
Elite Plaza Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eggers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eggers

Property: Hotel Eggers
Address: 2-4 Drottningtorget, Gothenburg 411 03, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#25 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eggers 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eggers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gothenburg
Best Western Eggers
Gothenburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing