We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Good Value”
Review of Scandic Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Crown
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location and Good Value”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Only 5 minutes from the Nils Ericson Bus terminal (where the airport bus drops you) and Central Station. For my friends and I who had tickets to see IFK Gothenburg play, it was ideal as it was virtually next door to the stadium! With regard to the facilities, there was a good selection for the breakfast, which was regularly topped up. However, whilst we stayed there was an issue with the spa so were unable to take in the rooftop view of Gothenburg from the spa. Also, we encountered some issues with the bar, in that it wasn't open after 10pm, but we could buy beer from the reception.(?)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    396
    224
    91
    34
See reviews for
320
169
23
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Good place to stay if you travel by train. only 5 min by walk from C train station.
romms are nice and hotel offer very busy atmoshpare. You will never feel alone. Dinner and breakfast are nice. price is Ok but not economic.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoooTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This is a big hotel next to the central railway station. Also sopping centra is located near the hotel. Seems that the hotel has been renovated recently but not the rooms. Atleast the one I stayed on. The decoration of the rooms are basic simple scandinavian style but they are quite worn out.
Wifi works ok in the rooms. Breakfast has good variety to choose from but the breakfast room itself is not so nice as it's quite crowdy and gives you a bit chaotic feeling.
The hotel has a sauna and jacuzzi on on the top floor where you can nice view over the city while relaxing.The temperature in the sauna is however way too loo. The hotel also has gym.
Also large parking carage isl ocated under the hote

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProEtContra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Arrival

We arrived around 2 o' clock on a Saturday and expected to check in on arrival. However, the room wasn't ready and we had to wait. We had booked a double bed and there weren't any available. This was rather inconvenient as we were planning to head out again soon. At 2:30 pm we went back to ask if the room was ready, and it was.

Room

The double bed was nothing more than two twin beds put together. How cheap isn't that? Cheap seems to be a general theme. The inroom TV seems to be from the last century. Also, the room wasn't very clean. There were many stains from 'god knows what' on the walls, floor etc. The room didn't have a minibar. The bathroom didn't feel fresh at all and very old at the same time. There is a pump soap and pump shampoo which doesn't seem very hygienic - only cheap. And the usual amenities you will normally find in a four star hotel, you can just forget about unless you PAY for it. That's right, they actually CHARGE you for a tooth brush and paste. Having paid 130 EUR/night you might expect more. There's inroom WiFi which both works good and is free, which is good.

Location

Very near the central station and only minutes away from Nordstan (Shopping Center). Not very far away from the heart of Gothenburg (Kungsportsavenyn) where you'll find bars and restaurants. The city center is quite small so it's walking distance to most sights.

Other

There's a small jacuzzi and a gym on the 8th floor, Nothing fancy. There's a bar in the lobby but it's rather soulless and like every in Sweden, expensive. The breakfast buffe is a disaster. During peak hour (around 9 o' clock) it's very busy with long queues and little space for you to sit. You'll have to get everything yourself, like coffee, and the staff doesn't have time to clean the tables. The buffet is rather sloppy - I mean who came up with the brilliant idea of having one large butter packet for everyone? They claim that it's a more environmental friendly approach, but I think they're just being cheap. And it really does not like classy at all.

The verdict

Don't let the price fool you - this is a budget hotel. Yes, it may cost you around €130 per night but prices are high in Sweden (not only hotels, but pretty much everything). I've stayed at three star hotels in poorer countries and recieved better service than at Scandic Crown. Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. But there's a chance you'll be...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sq7700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Went sightseeing in Gothenburg and spent two nights at the Scandic Crown. Very conveniantly located just by the railway station and central downtown. Walking distance to Heden, the city parking lot for economy parking.
The hotel is modern and clean, staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are "european style", read compact, but very nice. The breakfast buffé is huge.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JothySE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

A large busy hotel on the edge of the centre of Gothenburg. Breakfast -- good variety and plenty of space but chaotic, seemed a lot of people fighting for space! Room clean, comfortable, a bit of traffic noise but not too bad. Location quite good, just out of the centre, near the station, easy walk to the central attractions, quite close to the motorway.
So I'm not sounding enthusiastic, but it was ok and we would go back: nothing special, but ok. We got a good price for a room with sofabed which suited us for three adults.
Restaurant seemed a little expensive with not so much choice, so we ate out - plenty of restaurants in Gothenburg!

Room Tip: Looking to the west was a little noisier for trams passing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Analemmatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We went here as a familiy with our three year old son, my husband and i. The hotel is a good placed to explore the city as the location of the hotel is right next to the centralstation.

However the first night we got a good sized room facing the street. This meant that i didnt get much sleep the whole night. The room was very noizy with cars and the train going outside the window. If you want a quiet room ask for a room facing the back street or the inner yard.

The frontdesk staff was very stressed out, and i mean stressed out. Espacially at evenenings when a staffmember worked solo. You had to stand in line for a while to just buy a bottle of water. Keep in mind as im writing this that we where there at the peak of the summer vaccation and it was crowded with tourists.

The second night we asked for a new room and we got one facing the inner yard. This night we all slept really good without the outside noice.

The breakfast buffe was very crowded and we got a bit stressed. In one room they got a big tv with child-movies on when people where eating. This was not so appriciated by other guests as well as us. Otherwise the breaksfast was really good with a varaiaty of different things to eat. From bread to panncakes, sausages, cereals and eggs. What they didnt have was bacon and a heard some guest complain about this.

All in all a very good standard hotel, but nothing out of the ordinary. It was clean, nice and safe. If it is a 4 star standard hotel is hard for me to say.. i would guess a really good 3 star hotel. A good center location for exploring the city and going by train. Would definetly recommend the hotel to others, maybe its a bit calmer after the summer season.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for a room that is NOT facing the main street. Rooms facing the inner y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ita77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#32 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#41 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.2 mi away
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
ProfilHotels Hotel Opera
#35 of 67 in Gothenburg
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Crown

Property: Scandic Crown
Address: 3 Polhemsplatsen, Gothenburg 411 11, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Crown! Scandic Crown welcomes guests to the very heart of Gothenburg, right opposite the central station and just a stone's throw from the charming pedestrian streets and Sweden's largest shopping centre. The hotel's central yet quiet location makes it ideal for conference and business travellers, families and anyone else looking for a chance to relax whilst having all the attractions within arm's reach. The main attractions in Gothenburg, such as Liseberg amusement park, Operan opera house, Scandinavium events arena, Ullevi stadium, fashionable Avenyn and Universeum science centre are all within walking distance, and right next to our hotel is Star Bowling activity centre, Alfons Abergs Hus (Alfie Atkins' house), and the Garden Society of Gothenburg's beautiful parks. Our hotel basement has a large underground car park. Facility When you stay with us at Scandic Crown, take the opportunity to visit our relaxation suite with its wonderful views of Gothenburg and to immerse yourself in our jacuzzi. Enjoy a relaxing and delicious meal in our Kronan Bar & Matsalar hotel restaurant. At our hotel you can hold your conference in one of our 28 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 300 participants. As our guest, you also have free WiFi and 24-hour access to printers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Crown Gothenburg
Scandic Crown Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing