We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up and down”
Review of Scandic Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Crown
Ranked #32 of 65 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Just like the roller coaster of the nearby amusement park. Liseberg, this hotel has its ups and downs. I would consider this as a lower medium tourist class. Business people should consider another hotel. Being there in the middle of July, when many people are on holiday, it was overcrowded with “30-40 age something” with small children as they stay free in parents room.

Advantages:

It was pretty good sleeping quality with room on 7th floor facing the Ullevi old football stadium and a small backyard. 3 glass windows. Ordinary bed quality. Approximately size 20 m2 of room. Oak parquet floor. Nice bathroom with white tiles. Service minded personnel. No problems whatsoever with cleaning of rooms. 26 inch flat TV screen with very limited selection of international channels. Free-WiFi. Good breakfast with the ordinary stuff as well as a few warm and cold extras.
There is a small spa –area at the top of the hotel that we did not try, but could be nice when having aching feet after a day out on the town. Excellent location with just a few hundred meters to central station and city area with shopping, restaurants and all other services as banks, pharmacy and so on. Gothenburg is not a big city in terms of the core city area.

Disadvantages.

Dull white painted walls. Simple bed side tables and office desk. Mouldings and ledges need to be renovated (as in almost all hotels that I visited in the past couple of years). Very strange adjustable shower door that was too short, with the consequence of water almost all over the shower room. Shower only, no tub.
We had a family room with an inferior sofa bed. This was not properly mentioned at their web-site when booking. Just that “3 beds had been booked”. Watch out for this when booking to make sure what has been booked or if 3 normal beds are bookable at all.

The main disadvantage of this hotel is the terrible bar/breakfast/restaurant area. The breakfast room is more or less a “high school canteen look-alike”. Terrible brown/greenish chairs and tables, and an even more terrible wall to wall carpet with probably a couple of tons of orange juice and jam soaked in over the years.

If you want to have a rather silent or cozy morning breakfast in July, forget it. Order room service, stay elsewhere or wait until they have renovated or rebuilt the bar/restaurant/breakfast area. If you do not care of this, for many travelers, minor problem, it’s a serious option for a tourist at about 150 Euros a night, which we paid for one adult and two teenagers. High priced? Not necessarily, as Sweden is a high cost country.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neufdupape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in April 2012 for business. This hotel is easy to get to, about a 2 minute walk from the Central train station, where you can catch a tram to any part of the city. My room looked like it had been decorated by IKEA, so it was modern/minimalist but nice (not fancy). My room size was average for Europe - small but I wasn't bumping into things when moving around. Might have been a little tight with another person plus luggage. Bed was like sleeping on a nice futon, but I like moderately firm beds so I slept great. Those used to soft fluffy beds might not like it. Had a flatscreen TV with 8-9 channels, some Swedish some in English. I found the internet to be excellent, didn't have any problems and the speed was great.

I found that I liked the hardwood floors, which is not common in hotels. I was concerned that the rooms would be noisy and the floors cold, but this was not the case. I heard the person above me walking around a few times, but this was not annoying. The rooms are soundproofed really well and I heard no noise from other rooms. Only problem was the next door room had little kids and one afternoon they kept going in and out of the room. Because the door was so soundproofed it was really heavy and kept slamming loudly as they did this. I popped my head out and their mom put an end to it. I was right outside the lift, but they have this area glassed in and they close soundproof doors at night to minimize the noise from hallway chatter. My room was on the back courtyard, so no noise from the street.

Breakfast was not fancy but there was a lot of variety. My only complaint was no Gravlox. What? Didn't they know this is Sweden?!!! I found the dinner in the central area restaurant to be very good. Had the salmon one night and steak frites the next. Very well done, but shockingly expensive. However, prices are probably pretty typical for rest of Gothenburg. Plan on about $35-50 per person for dinner (and I only had one beer and no appetizer). Found a cheap sushi place down the street that I ate at to try and save a few pennies.

Hotel staff were very helpful and you could tell that they were trying to be polite and welcoming. They were very responsive to my requests. You could tell they were trying hard. They even had a sign up that asked guests to please post a review on TA.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back courtyard. Lower floors may have better wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamtpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

It was a great place to stay. It's huge, mind you, with corridors that go on for miles (you could get lost), but the rooms were very cozy.

We had a lovely stay here (after checking tripadvisor ratings). It was very close to most places like the train station, other areas of interest (cafes, malls, etc).

The hotel has a great breakfast spread, which was complimentary and thoroughly enjoyed by us. The staff was also helpful in providing us cutlery and a microwave to heat packaged food (as my wife was vegetarian) brought from India.

We'd taken a nice train pass that gave us 48 hours of access to all trains/transportation and went to very idyllic cafes and places of interest.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hemanshu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I stayed in Scandic Crown for 3 nights whilst on business. The hotel is nice, no more than 3+ stars, close to Central Station and the city. The room was clean and large. Good food, friendly staff. A nice view over the city. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romanianBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights whilst on business in Gothenburg, very nice hotel, great location by the station and city center. Good sized rooms with a decent bathroom. Had breakfast everyday which was very nice, and the dinners were lovely to although on the expensive side. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We have been very satisfied about the beakfast: top quality and rich.
The interior design is accurate and nice.
Good location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueskyRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The Scandic Crown is located just behind the Central Train station. It's fairly modern and very "Scandic" which is to say if Ikea built a hotel it would look a lot like this, The rooms vary greatly and I recommend asking for a room with a tub- not to necesarily take a bath but the others have the shower head in the bathroom with just a small divider so invariably you end up with water all over the bathroom floor.
The beds are more like futons with a duvet over them and there are no fluffy pillows- there is one square functional pillow per bed. The bed is firm but not terribly comfortable. The amenities are few and very eco focused- they have a dispenser in the shower that provides soap and shampoo all in one which means that it's not great for either purpose. You are given 2 thin small towels ( ok as I write this I wonder why I keep coming back) and encouraged to reuse them, The trash cans are pre divided for recycling and I am never sure if I am putting stuff in the right hole so I end up putting everything in "other". You have to put your room key in the slot to the right of the door for the lights to work ( pretty standard in Europe but always flummoxes some folks). There are no individual temperature controls which means opening the window if you're hot and listening to traffic and possibly letting light in almost all night ( if you're there May- August )
The bar is nice a light and the staff there is friendly. In fact one bartender always remembers me even if I haven't been in almost a year. The restaurant food is pretty good and a full Swedish breakfast is included with your room rate.
Overall, it's fine but nothing more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a tub or a "family" room that has more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nisajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#29 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#37 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#36 of 65 in Gothenburg
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 65 in Gothenburg
3,491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#15 of 65 in Gothenburg
274 reviews
2.9 mi away
Scandic Backadal
Scandic Backadal
#31 of 65 in Gothenburg
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Crown

Address: 3 Polhemsplatsen, Gothenburg 411 11, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £87 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Crown! Scandic Crown welcomes guests to the very heart of Gothenburg, right opposite the central station and just a stone's throw from the charming pedestrian streets and Sweden's largest shopping centre. The hotel's central yet quiet location makes it ideal for conference and business travellers, families and anyone else looking for a chance to relax whilst having all the attractions within arm's reach. The main attractions in Gothenburg, such as Liseberg amusement park, Operan opera house, Scandinavium events arena, Ullevi stadium, fashionable Avenyn and Universeum science centre are all within walking distance, and right next to our hotel is Star Bowling activity centre, Alfons Abergs Hus (Alfie Atkins' house), and the Garden Society of Gothenburg's beautiful parks. Our hotel basement has a large underground car park. Facility When you stay with us at Scandic Crown, take the opportunity to visit our relaxation suite with its wonderful views of Gothenburg and to immerse yourself in our jacuzzi. Enjoy a relaxing and delicious meal in our Kronan Bar & Matsalar hotel restaurant. At our hotel you can hold your conference in one of our 28 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 300 participants. As our guest, you also have free WiFi and 24-hour access to printers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Crown Gothenburg
Scandic Crown Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing