We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value! Friendly Staff and Great Center Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scandic Crown
Ranked #36 of 68 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value! Friendly Staff and Great Center Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Spacious room to compare with other hotels I stayed in Gothenburg. Very clean and good breakfast! Very friendly staff! I arrived a bit ahead of time (around 11:30am) and I thought to leave my luggage at the front desk and instead, the hotel staff let me check in already. Great central location right next to the train station and Nordstan. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth T, Chef at Scandic Crown, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Scandic Crown last time you visited the westcoast of Sweden.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit at the hotel and its location.

Most welcome back to us.

Best regards,
Elisabeth
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    365
    212
    85
    33
See reviews for
298
158
21
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horning, Denmark
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

The hotel was very nice and had a good location very near to the station and trams. The breakfast was very good, with a lot of choises
The shower was not working in my room so I had to use the sink , and we did not get our rooms on the same floor we had booked 3 single rooms together.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth T, Chef at Scandic Crown, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback, it is valuable to us.

I am so sorry to hear that you did have problems with the shower, this is not the level of standard of how our rooms should be presented.

I am pleased that you did find the hotel in a good location, right next to the trainstation.

We do hope we will have the pleasure to see you back at the hotel next time you visit Gothenburg.

Have a nice day.
Best regards,
Elisabeth Thomson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Me and my family with friends spend the weekend at this hotell, close to Liseberg and outher good places to visit in Ghotenburg. The hotel is clean, good service and good rate. Maybe the room is not the best but for the price that we get from Liseberg, it was a hotel-liseberg package, for that price it was OKEY. Free entre to Liseberg

Room Tip: All room is almost the same so it dosent metter, anyway, you dont come to Ghotenurg to sit in the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 947daniell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth T, Chef at Scandic Crown, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Hi,

Thank you for choosing Scandic Crown when you visited Gothenburg this summer.

I am glad to read that you both enjoyed Liseberg, the city and the hotel.

Most welcome back to us next time you are in Sweden.

Have a nice day.

Best regards,
Elisabeth Thomson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ry, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

A couple of weekends ago, my family and I stayed at Scandic Crown. We arrived early and could not get our rooms right away, but the receptionist were nice and helped us to be sure to get rooms next to each other, as we were traveling with kids.
We got back later, and had our rooms, both nice and clean. We did notice, that there was a party going on in the room at the other side of the hallway with some heavy bass and loud music, and we contacted the receptionist to have it stopped. We also talked to a woman living in the room next to the noisy room, and she complained that the problem had been there the previous night.
I made sure to contact the reception to make sure, that the music would be stopped, to make sure, that we could have quiet night, when getting back after dinner.
When we did get back, the music problem persisted. Again, I contacted the receptionist, and he assured me, that security was on the case. The music stopped some 10-15 minutes later (at around 10:30), but resumed at 1:30 AM! Again I had to contact the reception, and eventually the music stopped some 30 minutes later.
I think the hotel did not do enough to take care of this problem, especially knowing that this was not the first night with these problems.
Will I use this hotel again: Most likely not.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbglasius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth T, Manager at Scandic Crown, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Google Translation
Hej,

Tack för att du har tagit dig tid att ge oss feedback från er vistelse här på Scandic Crown i somras, den betyder mycket för oss.

Jag ber verkligen om ursäkt för det inträffade med störande ljud från ett annat rum. Ni skall som gäst självklart känna att man bor på rummet i lugn och ro och inte bli störda. Jag tar till mig detta och jobbar på att detta inte skall inträffa igen.

Hör gärna av dig nästa gång du besöker Göteborg så kanske vi kan få förtroendet, trots allt, att välkomna er åter till oss på Scandic Crown.

Vänliga hälsningar,
Elisabeth Thomson
Hotellchef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Ok hotel with god location and breakfast. The rooms are dated and were pseudo-clean. Internet connection did not work and was not fixed in the 24 hours we stayed there. I used the gym which also was nicely situated on the top floor. The bottom line - ok for business if you do not need internet / do not go there for a romantic retreat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerceptionOfReality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth T, Manager at Scandic Crown, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Google Translation
Hej,

Tack för att ni valde att bo hos oss på Scandic Crown när ni besökte Göteborg i somras.

Jag beklagar att vårat internet inte fungerade under er vistelse, det skall det självklart göra. Dessutom så får vi under hösten ett nät med bättre kapacitet än tidigare, hoppas verkligen att detta kommer underlätta er vistelse nästa gång ni besöker oss.

Jag tar till mig åsikten om rummen, vi strävar alltid att hålla vårt hotell rent och fint.

Välkommen åter till oss.

Vänliga hälsningar,
Elisabeth Thomson
Hotellchef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

The rooms lack of modernity, tv is old not many options in channels. Room was clean and bed comfortable.
But if you like to relax, nice spa,I would stay there again just because of it.
People at the hotel friendly.not the best in town, but good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edisoncm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth T, Manager at Scandic Crown, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Google Translation
Hej,

Tack för att du har valt att ge oss feedback från din vistelse hos oss på Crown här på TripAvisor.

Härligt att höra att du tyckte om vår Relaxavdelning, det är uppskattad av många gäster som bor hos oss.

Gällande vårt TV system så kommer vi att installera ett helt nytt under hösten här på Crown, det är då ett system som är mer intregerat med dagens teknik. Det kommer att underlätta både TV tittandet och uppkoppling till smart phones och läsplattor.

Varmt välkomna tillbaka till oss nästa gång du är i Göteborg. Trevlig sommar.

Med vänlig hälsning,

Elisabeth Thomson
Hotellchef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Location is right next to the central station and within 5 minutes walk of the town centre.
The rooms are nice and cool and the food is good and the staff friendly.
Internet connection, however is a joke, keeps dropping and miss loading pages both on MAC and laptop. Every time using internet after sleep have to type in user and password again. Who ever picked the name 'scandic_easy' wifi needs to be held responsible!
ipad and iphone drop off the wifi every-time they are locked!
Will not be stopping at hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnaz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth T, Manager at Scandic Crown, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking your time to give us feed-back from your visit with us at Scandic Crown.

I am pleased to read that our location, room, food and staff were to your satisfaction.

I am so sorry for the inconvenience regarding our WiFi connections during your visit. I can only agree to that it is very frustrating when it does not work smoothly. I will look in to this issue.

If there is anything I can do to convince you to return to Crown, please do not hesitate to contact me and I will do my outmost to make that stay more comfortable.

Once again, I am sorry for all inconvenience.

Best regards,

Elisabeth Thomson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gothenburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#32 of 68 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
0.5 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#42 of 68 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#29 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.3 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#22 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#18 of 68 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Crown

Property: Scandic Crown
Address: 3 Polhemsplatsen, Gothenburg 411 11, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#24 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Crown! Scandic Crown welcomes guests to the very heart of Gothenburg, right opposite the central station and just a stone's throw from the charming pedestrian streets and Sweden's largest shopping centre. The hotel's central yet quiet location makes it ideal for conference and business travellers, families and anyone else looking for a chance to relax whilst having all the attractions within arm's reach. The main attractions in Gothenburg, such as Liseberg amusement park, Operan opera house, Scandinavium events arena, Ullevi stadium, fashionable Avenyn and Universeum science centre are all within walking distance, and right next to our hotel is Star Bowling activity centre, Alfons Abergs Hus (Alfie Atkins' house), and the Garden Society of Gothenburg's beautiful parks. Our hotel basement has a large underground car park. Facility When you stay with us at Scandic Crown, take the opportunity to visit our relaxation suite with its wonderful views of Gothenburg and to immerse yourself in our jacuzzi. Enjoy a relaxing and delicious meal in our Kronan Bar & Matsalar hotel restaurant. At our hotel you can hold your conference in one of our 28 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 300 participants. As our guest, you also have free WiFi and 24-hour access to printers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Scandic Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Crown Gothenburg
Scandic Crown Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing