We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of Scandic Crown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Crown
Ranked #36 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The hotel is ok actually. My expectancy level was higher. Staff is friendly. Rooms are ok but little bit outdated. Sportsfacility is a broomcloset.Breakfast was ok. Everything is ok but nothing exceeds expectations. It is a hotel with ok price/quality but not a hotel where you go if you want to feel special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth T, Chef at Scandic Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Scandic Crown. I also would like to thank you for taking time to give feedback from your stay, it means a lot to us.

Most welcome back to us next time you visit the Westcoast of Sweden.

Best regards,
Elisabeth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Gothenburg is an expensive place, and this hotel was no exception. I expected so much more! This is not a great hotel for rest and business travel and I usually absolutely love Scandinavian hotels.

Check in was great, the attendant looked up my Scandic Friends info for me and said she applied the discounts. Nice! I get my room key, and am directed to the elevator nearest my room. The room key device does not work, I trek to the other elevators, the device there doesn't work. I go to the desk, and they explain how to use the key (I know how to use the key). They send me back to the elevator. The key still doesn't work. They accuse me of storing my key next to my phone...it never left my hand since check in...which now seems sooo long ago. They use their key to get me to my room.

I get to the room, unpack, and look for an ice bucket. Knobs are missing from the "minibar" cabinet. I jam my finger only to find there is no minibar, or ice bucket. I got to the front desk, they direct me to the bar. The bar attendant is missing. No one there for 20 min (and she saw me coming). Ice buckets are not available, since guests steal them. I get two cups with ice, when what I really need is a bucket with a liner to make an icepack. I go back to the front desk, and a new attendant is there. I ask for a bag...and in her best snobby voice I get a lecture (the one reserved for us wasteful Americans) explaining that they don't use plastic items in Scandinavia.

She says this over the two plastic cups I was given, while overlooking a cup of plastic pens. I remark in amazement, that they do a really good job of making non-plastic bags look like plastic. Particularly the ones in the waste cans in the rooms. All of a sudden there are plastic bags in Scandinavia and I am given one. I head back to my room, and can't get either set of elevators to work again.

The bed was not comfortable because the sheets kept coming up off the mattress. The room did get cool though.

There was a bright point. I went to the bar for dinner. It was very good...shrimp sandwich and mushroom soup. Lots of children running back and forth, so I was not able to get work done (internet in room did not work).

Breakfast was ok...I can't believe a place in Sweden does not serve salmon at breakfast. Cheap! And the number of fruit flies buzzing kept me away from many of the other items. I ended up grabbing breakfast in the train station instead.

At check out, I found my discount had not been added to my reservation.

I can see where this may be a great place for those with kids, but amenities for business travellers are lacking.

Room Tip: Stay in a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alm5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth T, Chef at Scandic Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time by giving us your feedback from your visit here at Scandic Crown.

I am truly sorry that we did not meet the level of standards when it comes to all points that you are mentioning in your feedback. This is not ok by all means.

Despite all the troubles you did exeperince I would like to welcome you back to Scandic Hotels. Once again, I am so sorry for all inconveince this must have caused you.

Best regards,
Elisabeth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Spacious room to compare with other hotels I stayed in Gothenburg. Very clean and good breakfast! Very friendly staff! I arrived a bit ahead of time (around 11:30am) and I thought to leave my luggage at the front desk and instead, the hotel staff let me check in already. Great central location right next to the train station and Nordstan. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth T, Chef at Scandic Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Scandic Crown last time you visited the westcoast of Sweden.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit at the hotel and its location.

Most welcome back to us.

Best regards,
Elisabeth
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The hotel was very nice and had a good location very near to the station and trams. The breakfast was very good, with a lot of choises
The shower was not working in my room so I had to use the sink , and we did not get our rooms on the same floor we had booked 3 single rooms together.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth T, Chef at Scandic Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback, it is valuable to us.

I am so sorry to hear that you did have problems with the shower, this is not the level of standard of how our rooms should be presented.

I am pleased that you did find the hotel in a good location, right next to the trainstation.

We do hope we will have the pleasure to see you back at the hotel next time you visit Gothenburg.

Have a nice day.
Best regards,
Elisabeth Thomson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Me and my family with friends spend the weekend at this hotell, close to Liseberg and outher good places to visit in Ghotenburg. The hotel is clean, good service and good rate. Maybe the room is not the best but for the price that we get from Liseberg, it was a hotel-liseberg package, for that price it was OKEY. Free entre to Liseberg

Room Tip: All room is almost the same so it dosent metter, anyway, you dont come to Ghotenurg to sit in the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 947daniell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth T, Chef at Scandic Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Hi,

Thank you for choosing Scandic Crown when you visited Gothenburg this summer.

I am glad to read that you both enjoyed Liseberg, the city and the hotel.

Most welcome back to us next time you are in Sweden.

Have a nice day.

Best regards,
Elisabeth Thomson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A couple of weekends ago, my family and I stayed at Scandic Crown. We arrived early and could not get our rooms right away, but the receptionist were nice and helped us to be sure to get rooms next to each other, as we were traveling with kids.
We got back later, and had our rooms, both nice and clean. We did notice, that there was a party going on in the room at the other side of the hallway with some heavy bass and loud music, and we contacted the receptionist to have it stopped. We also talked to a woman living in the room next to the noisy room, and she complained that the problem had been there the previous night.
I made sure to contact the reception to make sure, that the music would be stopped, to make sure, that we could have quiet night, when getting back after dinner.
When we did get back, the music problem persisted. Again, I contacted the receptionist, and he assured me, that security was on the case. The music stopped some 10-15 minutes later (at around 10:30), but resumed at 1:30 AM! Again I had to contact the reception, and eventually the music stopped some 30 minutes later.
I think the hotel did not do enough to take care of this problem, especially knowing that this was not the first night with these problems.
Will I use this hotel again: Most likely not.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Søren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth T, Manager at Scandic Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013
Google Translation

Hej,

Tack för att du har tagit dig tid att ge oss feedback från er vistelse här på Scandic Crown i somras, den betyder mycket för oss.

Jag ber verkligen om ursäkt för det inträffade med störande ljud från ett annat rum. Ni skall som gäst självklart känna att man bor på rummet i lugn och ro och inte bli störda. Jag tar till mig detta och jobbar på att detta inte skall inträffa igen.

Hör gärna av dig nästa gång du besöker Göteborg så kanske vi kan få förtroendet, trots allt, att välkomna er åter till oss på Scandic Crown.

Vänliga hälsningar,
Elisabeth Thomson
Hotellchef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Ok hotel with god location and breakfast. The rooms are dated and were pseudo-clean. Internet connection did not work and was not fixed in the 24 hours we stayed there. I used the gym which also was nicely situated on the top floor. The bottom line - ok for business if you do not need internet / do not go there for a romantic retreat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerceptionOfReality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth T, Manager at Scandic Crown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013
Google Translation

Hej,

Tack för att ni valde att bo hos oss på Scandic Crown när ni besökte Göteborg i somras.

Jag beklagar att vårat internet inte fungerade under er vistelse, det skall det självklart göra. Dessutom så får vi under hösten ett nät med bättre kapacitet än tidigare, hoppas verkligen att detta kommer underlätta er vistelse nästa gång ni besöker oss.

Jag tar till mig åsikten om rummen, vi strävar alltid att hålla vårt hotell rent och fint.

Välkommen åter till oss.

Vänliga hälsningar,
Elisabeth Thomson
Hotellchef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
Scandic Europa Gothenburg
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,355 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#34 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,029 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Scandic Hotel Opalen
#40 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Odin
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
0.3 mi away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#18 of 67 in Gothenburg
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Crown

Address: 3 Polhemsplatsen, Gothenburg 411 11, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#25 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: £98 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Crown! Scandic Crown welcomes guests to the very heart of Gothenburg, right opposite the central station and just a stone's throw from the charming pedestrian streets and Sweden's largest shopping centre. The hotel's central yet quiet location makes it ideal for conference and business travellers, families and anyone else looking for a chance to relax whilst having all the attractions within arm's reach. The main attractions in Gothenburg, such as Liseberg amusement park, Operan opera house, Scandinavium events arena, Ullevi stadium, fashionable Avenyn and Universeum science centre are all within walking distance, and right next to our hotel is Star Bowling activity centre, Alfons Abergs Hus (Alfie Atkins' house), and the Garden Society of Gothenburg's beautiful parks. Our hotel basement has a large underground car park. Facility When you stay with us at Scandic Crown, take the opportunity to visit our relaxation suite with its wonderful views of Gothenburg and to immerse yourself in our jacuzzi. Enjoy a relaxing and delicious meal in our Kronan Bar & Matsalar hotel restaurant. At our hotel you can hold your conference in one of our 28 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 300 participants. As our guest, you also have free WiFi and 24-hour access to printers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Crown Gothenburg
Scandic Crown Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing