We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel For Business Travellers In Center Of Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Ranked #41 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel For Business Travellers In Center Of Town”
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Very nice hotel in center of the town. Its near to the ice hockey stadium Scandanavium. The theme park of Gothenburg is also close to it. The main street, Avnenyn is three blocks away. As for hotel, the staff is very friendly with smiling face. Facilities are excellent. Rooms are clean. Rooms had coffee machines, iron board and table, wifi. Rates are decent. Breakfast was included in room rent. Breakfast was good but there was not much variety. Every day the same stuff. So u get bored after 3 or 4 th day. But its was not bad. Bus stop and tram stop are nearby. Overall Excellent hotel to stay. I will recommend to anyone travelling to Gotheburg as tourist or business.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarangJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    378
    263
    106
    51
See reviews for
286
253
31
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed for the weekend in Jan. Hotel is in a really good location for exploring the city. We had a family room and a double room. The double was tiny but we asked to change it and were given another family room without any problems. (For the small additional cost I would recommend booking the bigger room). Hotel was very nice, and clean and comfortable. The breakfast was great - probably the best hotel breakfast buffet we have had in any Swedish hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

big hotel compared to others in the city.beautiful shiny hotel from outside.lobby is neatly done.walking distance to svenska mason-convention centre and other attractions.rooms are okay but the breakfast wasnt great as expected.also it gets busy if you are not early.nearby small mart for daily needs is helpful.internet is free.good connectivity by bus and trams. but you can walk easily the whole city except the archipelago

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit on tour
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Over the 3 weeks that i stayed in this hotel, there was very little about it that i didn't see. The staff that welcomed us were extremely polite and friendly. The rooms i would have to say weren't 4 star, more like 3 and a half. Very basic rooms, but comfy and with plenty of closet space.
The bar and restaurant were clean and quiet, staff very friendly. I never had one bad meal in the restaurant, but the menu is limited. The only real problems that i had is that the bar and restaurant were both closed on sundays, this just encouraged you to head out into town.
The gym/spa and jacuzzi were excellent facilities, one of the best facilities that i have seen. Although if i was there with my partner, the saunas are segregated (depends if you want a break or not)!
I only had the one complaint during my stay and that was the drilling and building work that went on into the evening.
Overall, i wouldn't hesitate to stay here in the future. A friendly, clean and modern hotel only 5-10 minutes walk from the main strip.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitbyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Hotel is in a great location clean freindly staff but I would say a very good 3 star and not a 4 BUT that is only because the wardrobes are like those in a travel lodge with no door's but that's being petty.It is ideal for getting around by tram or bus,breakfast is probably the best buffet style we have ever had, plenty of places to eat we particulary liked Joe Farrelli's next to the Hard Rock Cafe.The Gotheberg pass is well worth buying get's you into the museums and art galleries,ferry cruise is worth a trip and it's free with the pass.We would like to go back to Gothenberg but in the spring,the receptionist in the hotel said the best time to see Gothenberg is around May,and We would stay at this hoetl again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomopg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2010

My wife and I stayed here on the weekend to hit the Christmas markets. Pay for the upper floors if you can, it is well worth the upgrade for the larger room, larger bathroom, and spectacular view. The front desk staff were above and beyond helpful, they were friendly and attentive and were a pleasure to deal with. Breakfast is abundant and of high quality, though I would advocate getting there on the early side as it does get busy later as do most places! Location is easy walking distance from everything we wanted to see, and there were many popular restaurants in close proximity. Overall, couldn't ask for a nicer, more pleasant hotel experience...and the front desk staff are jewels!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NashvilleMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
218 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

This hotel has been expanded in 2009 with five extra floors on top of the existing hotel. We stayed on the 11th floor with a spectacular view over Gothenburg city from a modern room with windows stretching from the floor across the whole room. You can just sit down and enjoy the scenery and relax seeing the whole city without leaving your room. This is one of the best hotel rooms i have stayed in. I do not know about the lower floors in the hotel with smaller windows but those rooms in the top of the hotel are just amazing. The rest of the hotel is pretty much standard with a modern but sparcely decorated lobby. The restaurant and bar are good and the breakfast is excellent. Since the location of the hotel is good, (withing walking distance of the city centre), this hotel is my favourite choice now in Gothenburg, (together with Gothia Towers), when I get a room high in the building.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scandinavian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#44 of 67 in Gothenburg
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#19 of 67 in Gothenburg
866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotell Onyxen
Hotell Onyxen
#50 of 67 in Gothenburg
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lorensberg
Hotel Lorensberg
#42 of 67 in Gothenburg
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Property: Scandic Hotel Opalen
Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing