We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my best hotel experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Ranked #40 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“One of my best hotel experiences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I have spent many nights in hundreds of hotels all around the world. Me and my husband recently came back from a long trip to NYC, LA and Maui. So we were not keen on travelling again and booked Opalen because of the location. I became a member and received 500 SEK rebate for two nights. I also have learned not to book the smallest and the cheapest rooms. Those rooms are soooo small. So we booked the 20m2 room and payed only 1000 SEK a night (weekend). It is a good price in central Gothenburg. And it included the breakfast! The biggest breakfast ever. Our room was on the 13th floor with a amazing view over Gothenburg. And the staff is great. We definitely come back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high as possible for the views. The hotel has 13 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello,

I would like to start by thanking you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us at Scandic Opalen. I am extremely happy that you had a nice stay with us and that you got to stay in a room you liked as well. It's important that you are not afraid of heights when staying as high up as you did.
I don't know what else to say except thank you, thank you and thank you again for your nice words. I relly do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
I hope to see you soon and please don't be a stranger.

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    359
    250
    102
    48
See reviews for
267
243
30
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Arrived at 5:30, less than 1 minute wait to check-in. Stayed in a room in the newer, built-on the floors at the top. Stunning views!
The room was really good, close to a new feeling (except for a few spots on one of armchairs). Well cleaned (but not perfect).

It was a little tricky to watch television, because the same remote worked for both TVs. When you press a button, often both TVs respond...)

Pleasant relax with a sauna and a small gym.

Breakfast was really good with plenty to choose from. (A bit of diluted juice though.)

I will definitely consider staying at this hotel the next time I visit Gothenburg.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AISfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hello,

I would like to start by thanking you for taking your time to write about your stay with us. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed wour stay with us and that you even would like to come back to us. It's always nice to get a feeling that we are doing it right and that our guests are happy with us. Interersting point regarding your remote it is suppose to be two different so that this is not gonna happend but I suppose nobody or nothing is perfect.
I sure hope to see you again.
Have a good day!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Nice Modern Hotel near the city center. I was in an upgraded superior corner room on the top floor with a magnificent view of the city. The Front Desk staff was very friendly and accommodating with any of my requests. Hot and cold international breakfast was served in the morning with plenty of options to choose. Very close to the Tram station which is a close ride to the city center if you don't want to walk. Several restaurants and a couple of grocery stores nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Guest relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello,
I would like to start by thanking you for taking your time to write about your stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and that you were treated well by the staff at the front desk. We all do really enjoy helping our guests especially if they have a tricky job or question for us. I hope that you will come back and visit our hotel and our beautiful city again.

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

The place is very nice, 10 min walk to the city center. It is a very big corner building. Rooms are a bit small and bathroom is a bit old fashioned. The hotel has a gym, pool with massaging water jets and sauna, very nice to get relaxed. The staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast is amazing and very international! The restaurant is nice and a bit chic I'd say. It is very well furnished and it has many sofas where you can have a drink with friends looking out to the street. The hotel has a playing space for children, very nice for families.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val00712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hello,

I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Myself and the rest of our staff would like to thank you for your kind words about us. We try to do our best and achieve axcellence. I do hope that you will come back and stay with us the next time you visit our beautiful city. At least come by and say hello, don't be a stranger.
Have a wonderful week!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Rooms are extremely small and quite basic - ended up paying extra for an upgrade due to being unhappy with what we were first given.

Food wasn't served late in the "bar" area even though it was a weekend, so that was disappointing. We had been out to a concert and were hungry afterwards. They also didn't open the "flow through area" to allow for the influx of patrons to the bar this particular night.

Location is OK, probably could chose better, but was perfect for going to the Scandinavium.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hello,

Firstly, thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. Criticism bot positive and concstructiv is crucial for us. I am sorry to hear that wo could not live up to the expectations you had on your stay this time. However I am happy to hear that you could find some golden moments and things you enjoyed here. I do hope that you will come to Gothenburg again and if you do please come by and say hello.
I wish you a wonderful 2014.

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a typical Scandic hotel - not too good or too bad. Just like the Swedish expression "lagom". My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in November 2013 in a spacious Superior Extra room (were upgraded - thank you very much) on the 12th floor with stunning views of parts of the city. The hotel location is OK - not the very best but in a fairly quiet location. 600 meters to nearest airport shuttle, 100 meters to tram stop. The breakfast is typical "Scandinavian", with everything from fresh fruit to scrambled eggs and herring (no fresh croissants, though).

Room Tip: Choose Superior rooms if you want more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelagent12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not more then ok, we do strive for excellence but sometimes it's a hit and miss even for us. I do hope that you had some golden moments during your stay and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

When we came, the room was not ready. OK that can happen, we were a bit early, so that was really not a problem. The receptionist said we could come back in an hour, and it would be ready. We left our luggage, went out for some sightseeing, came back after three hours, the room was not ready yet. We waited for another ten minutes before it was done. We were three in the room, there were only one towel and one bathrobe. There was no phone number to the reception in the room, so I had to google the hotel and call in from my cell phone and ask for more towels and bathrobes. They fixed it immediately.

The spa area was a jacuzzi only. There was no possibility to lock the lockers (you had to have money with you, which I did not). Anyway, the stuff was still there when I was back.

The beds in the hotel were one of the better I had slept in. Very good.

The room was clean, but there were stains on the furniture. Not that it was badly cleaned, just stains that were not possible to remove. It still gives the room a more shaggy look. This should be easy to fix.

Room Tip: The panorama rooms at the top are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Predrag P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us here at Scandic Opalen. I am very sorry to hear that you had to wait for so long before receiving your room and of course there should be enough towels and robes for all people that are staying in the room. I am very sorry that we couldn't live up to the expectations you had but I am very happy to hear that you slept well.
I hope that you will come back to Gothenburg and we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Have a wonderful week!
Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#28 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#36 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#45 of 67 in Gothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lorensberg
Hotel Lorensberg
#39 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#15 of 67 in Gothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Property: Scandic Hotel Opalen
Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#25 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing