We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel: Some goods and some bads”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Opalen
Ranked #40 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average hotel: Some goods and some bads”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Good:
- Excellent location for a family holiday with visits to main attractions such as Liseberg and Universeum (10min walk to both), also a short walk to the more central parts of Gothenburg.
- Smooth check-in and check-out and we got a room right away even though we were very early.
- Surprisingly spacious clean room with comfortable bed
- Great breakfast buffet with most things you could wish for.
- Easy access to free and speedy WiFi

The Bad:
- A gap around the door made the room very noisy...made worse by the fact that we were right next to the elevators and ice machine. Also, the shower drain in the bathroom made a lot of noise seemingly when people above used bathroom or their shower.
- Horrible dinner at the hotel. Been a long time since we've had such dry, overcooked, and tasteless meal. Paid full-price even though one steak was inedible.
- Boring view from the room
- Advertised children's playroom was a corner under the stairs with some worn toys

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stickan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello,

I would like to start by tahnking you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. It seems like you have had some mixed feelings about your stay. I am very happy about the positive things you had to say about your stay with us. Regarding the more negative points I am going to forward them to the relevant department. If you are ever passing through Gothenburg again please don't hesitate to come by and have chat with us.
Have a nice day!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    377
    262
    106
    51
See reviews for
284
251
31
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

As always great room, good breakfast, helpful staff... So a good place to stay overall

But why is the Wifi connection always so bad and 3G is non existent

But love the sms checkout system that Scandic hotels offer, quick

Please fix it

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wnchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us and that you find the online checkout service to be a success. Regarding the wifi I am happy to tell you that the wifi has been upgrades and is now faster and has more hot sports.
I hope to see you again soon.
Have a nice day!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I have visited this hotel twice, in business, the second time on a conference. It’s actually quite an ordinary hotel, centrally located on Gothenburg. The rooms are OK, the breakfast is OK, the lunch is OK, the location is OK (quite good if travelling with children, not far from Liseberg and Universeum) and the service is OK. The parking is a bit expensive, especially if you have to park in the garage. What really impressed me was the pause buffet for the conference guests, with plenty of cakes, fruit, desserts and even some tapas. I have never seen anything like it at other conference hotels, so it was a great surprise. I did like the size of the double rooms (in the back), but the single rooms are a bit small.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemi_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello,

I would like to start by thanking you for taking your timw to write a review about your stay with us. It pleases me to hear that you enjoyed your day at our conference center and that you got a lot of goodies to eat. I am however sorry to hear that we did not exceed the expactations you had regarding to hotel side of the business. We will certainly take action and try to do better next time.
I do hope that we will be able to welcome you again.
Have a wonderful day!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
248 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

There is not that much to say about those Scandic hotels. Generally they do the job. But you never seem to remember anything about after you have left. Opalen is no exception. Service is good. Breakfast too. Location is good if you are going to visit the exhibition area for example.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I'm sorry that you feel that we exceed the expectations that you had regarding your stay with us. The concept of Scandic is that you should always feel at home and beable to find your way wherever and whenever you stay at a Scandic Hotel. I can understand how this can make it seem that nothing really sticks out in a positive way. I do hope that we will have the chance of welcoming you again and maybe also have a chance to change your mind.
I hope you have a wonderful day!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in a Superior room. This room has a great view of the City. The location is good. The tram goes just outside the hotel, but we chose to walk. Just 10-15 minutes to the centre with shops etc.

Room Tip: If you upgrade to a superior room you get a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjørnar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hello,

Tank you very much for taking your time to write a review about us here on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got a beautiful room on an upper floor. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Have a wonderful day and please don't be a stranger!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night and had a room on the 12th floor. The room was clean an quiet. The staff was polite and very helpful. They have a parking garage which is easy accessable. All in all a good hotel. Next time I return to Gothenburg U would stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jolafsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your stay with us. It makes me and my collegues very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you would like to come back.
Please don't be a stranger, hope to see you soon!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I could easily say that this is the place to be at in gothenburg.
Never fails to hit target for me. I have many guests who visit gothenburg on business trips and this scandic is the only place I book for them. Great staff, Friendly faces all the time, A nice a decent bar, good service, clean, and everything you need to rest your head with comfort.
They have a little gym which is great for people who only stay a day or two.
I will continue to book scandic opalen for sure !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash-cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malin W, Guest Relations at Scandic Hotel Opalen, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hello,

I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write a review about us here on TripAdvisor. I do not know what to say except for thank you so very much for your kind words and excellent word of mouth reputation you are giving is. You have truly made our day so much brighter and nicer even though the rain is pouring down outside. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon, please donät be a stranger.
Have a wonderful day!

Malin W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Scandic Rubinen
Scandic Rubinen
#30 of 67 in Gothenburg
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotell Liseberg Heden
Hotell Liseberg Heden
#43 of 67 in Gothenburg
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Crown
Scandic Crown
#35 of 67 in Gothenburg
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
Elite Park Avenue Hotel
#20 of 67 in Gothenburg
860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotell Onyxen
Hotell Onyxen
#50 of 67 in Gothenburg
94 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
Comfort Hotel Goteborg
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Opalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Opalen

Property: Scandic Hotel Opalen
Address: Engelbrektsgatan 73, Gothenburg 402 23, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Gothenburg
#26 Luxury Hotel in Gothenburg
#28 Business Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Opalen 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Opalen hotel is located in central Gothenburgh within easy reach of shopping, restaurants and culture. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the city's many attractions like the Poseidon statue, all the exihibtions held at Svenska Mässan, Universeum and the Museum of World Culture. Gothenburg's famous amusement park - Liseberg - is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Hotel Opalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing